ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+ vs MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
Ryzen AI Max+ 395 / 128GB LPDDR5X-8000 / 2TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2957 points
ETA PRIME's configured review system scored 2,957 in Geekbench 6 single-core with a 90 W PL1, 110 W PL2, and an RTX 5060 installed.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Core Ultra 9 285HX; 64GB RAM; 1TB SSD; RTX 5060; 90 W PL1 and 110 W PL2
ETA PRIME · 8:17 -
Geekbench 6 multi-core 17992 points
The same configured system scored 17,992 in Geekbench 6 multi-core.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 285HX; 64GB RAM; 1TB SSD; RTX 5060; 90 W PL1 and 110 W PL2
ETA PRIME · 8:21
2Can it handle sustained work?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Peak boost was brief in the demonstrated workload
ShortCircuit shows clocks falling after the initial boost during its F1 24 workload in Performance mode. The reported behavior applies to that test and configuration; it is not a MiniPCBench sustained-performance score.
ShortCircuit · 8:57 -
Sustained CPU cooling rating Not available
-
CPU stress power behavior Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Peak boost was brief in the demonstrated workload Not available
-
Sustained CPU cooling rating 100 W sustained
MINISFORUM states that the six-heatpipe, dual-fan cooler can sustain a 100 W CPU load and handle a 140 W turbo limit.
Manufacturer thermal-design rating · Core Ultra 9 285HX cooling system
MINISFORUM -
CPU stress power behavior Settled near 100 W
ServeTheHome observed the CPU power limit peak near 140 W and then settle around 100 W during its stress test, consistent with the manufacturer's cooling target. This is a power-behavior observation, not a normalized performance result.
CPU stress test · Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5-4800, 1TB SSD, 25GbE adapter
ServeTheHome · 14:18
3Can it game?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider with RTX 5060 Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider with RTX 5060 121 fps
With a low-profile RTX 5060 installed, ETA PRIME measured a 121 FPS average in the built-in benchmark at native 1440p very high without DLSS.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider built-in benchmark · 1440p very high; native resolution; DLSS off; low-profile RTX 5060
ETA PRIME · 10:34
4Is it loud or hot?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Dial reduced fan noise during use
ServeTheHome demonstrates switching to the quiet power mode while the machine is running and reports an immediate reduction in fan noise. Its power discussion includes an attached monitor and is not a PC-only measurement.
ServeTheHome · 13:15 -
Fan audible at a game title screen
ShortCircuit reports noticeable airflow noise at a game title screen, although the sound was less whiny than the reviewer expected. This is an observation of its review unit, not a standardized acoustic measurement.
ShortCircuit · 7:45 -
A second reviewer found most power modes quiet
Duvenox describes Eco and Gaming modes as barely audible and the fan as slightly audible at peak load in Turbo mode on his 128GB/2TB unit. This differs from ShortCircuit's impression. Their room conditions, firmware and workloads were not controlled for comparison.
Duvenox · 23:23 -
Idle noise Not available
-
CPU stress noise Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Dial reduced fan noise during use Not available
-
Fan audible at a game title screen Not available
-
A second reviewer found most power modes quiet Not available
-
Idle noise 35 dBA
ServeTheHome reported about 35 dBA at idle in a studio with a 34 dBA noise floor.
Windows desktop idle · 34 dBA studio noise floor
ServeTheHome · 15:11 -
CPU stress noise 36 to 39 dBA
ServeTheHome reported 38 to 41 dBA during the initial fan ramp and 36 to 39 dBA after it settled.
CPU stress test after the fan ramp settled · Initial ramp reported separately as 38 to 41 dBA
ServeTheHome · 15:43
5How much electricity does it use?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Idle wall power Not available
-
CPU stress wall power Not available
-
25GbE adapter power Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Idle wall power 18.3 to 20.6 W
ServeTheHome reported 18.3 to 20.6 W at idle with the Intel E810 25GbE adapter enabled.
Windows desktop idle · Intel E810 25GbE adapter enabled
ServeTheHome · 15:00 -
CPU stress wall power 145 W
ServeTheHome reported a brief rise to about 190 W during a CPU stress test, followed by about 145 W at the system level after the initial burst.
CPU stress test after the initial burst
ServeTheHome · 15:37 -
25GbE adapter power 8 to 12 W
ServeTheHome estimated that disabling the Intel E810 25GbE adapter could reduce idle consumption by roughly 8 to 12 W.
Estimated idle-power reduction · Intel E810 25GbE adapter disabled
ServeTheHome · 14:30
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB4 is present Not available
-
Internal expansion Not available
-
Reviewer expansion assessment Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB4 is present Yes
-
Internal expansion 4x M.2 and 3x PCIe
The 285HX model provides four M.2 2280 slots plus PCIe 5.0 x16, PCIe 4.0 x16, and PCIe 4.0 x4 expansion slots; the 25GbE card occupies one internal slot as shipped.
Manufacturer expansion-layout check · MS-02U-285HX
MINISFORUM -
Reviewer expansion assessment Multiple PCIe cards plus 4x M.2
ServeTheHome verified that the system can accommodate multiple low-profile PCIe cards while retaining room for four M.2 SSDs and expandable memory, calling the overall expansion package a major strength.
Hands-on internal-layout assessment · Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5-4800, 1TB SSD, 25GbE adapter
ServeTheHome · 16:05
7Is it good value?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Barebone list price Not available
-
Reviewer value tradeoff Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Barebone list price $1,449
MINISFORUM lists the Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone at $1,449 before temporary discounts.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone, US adapter
MINISFORUM -
Reviewer value tradeoff Value depends on using its scalability
NASCompares called the MS-02 Ultra expensive and enthusiast-focused, but argued that its value comes from future scalability; buyers who do not need that headroom were directed toward the smaller MS-01 or MS-A2.
Review-date value and target-user assessment · Core Ultra 9 285HX, non-ECC memory and installed storage; capacities not stated
NASCompares · 26:17
8Will it be dependable?
ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
-
Early review unit had an SSD-slot stability problem
ServeTheHome reports crashes under heavy GPU load on its preproduction unit with the SSD in the default slot. Moving the SSD restored stability. ACEMAGIC told the reviewer that production boards had a fix; that fix was not independently verified in the review.
ServeTheHome · 6:24 -
Setup complexity Not available
-
Seller warranty Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Early review unit had an SSD-slot stability problem Not available
-
Setup complexity Manual tuning recommended
NASCompares said the system was not at its best without manual tuning and cautioned that it required more setup work than a typical ready-to-use mini PC.
Review conclusion after configuration and testing · Core Ultra 9 285HX review unit with non-ECC memory
NASCompares · 25:07 -
Seller warranty 2 years
The MINISFORUM US store lists a two-year seller warranty for the MS-02 Ultra.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
MINISFORUM
References
-
ACEMAGIC. M1A PRO+ Ryzen AI Max+ 395 specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395 / 128GB LPDDR5X-8000 / 2TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
ServeTheHome. TURN for FAST on this 128GB AMD AI mini PC. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB memory, 2TB ZHITAI SSD, MT7925 wireless and Windows 11 Pro. Early preproduction unit; firmware and Windows build unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Affiliate links disclosed. Review identifies a preproduction unit; acquisition terms are not clear.
-
ShortCircuit. Only buy this when on sale - AceMagic M1A Pro+. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB memory with 32GB assigned to graphics. Performance mode used for the clock test. SSD capacity, Windows edition and firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Sponsored segment for War Thunder, channel partner Secretlab and affiliate links disclosed. Linus is an investor in Framework, a comparison brand in the video. Unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.
-
Duvenox. ¿Merece la pena el nuevo Ryzen AI MAX+ 395? ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB memory and 2TB SSD. Windows 11 shown; edition, build and firmware unconfirmed. Noise comments cover several dial modes.
Disclosure: Manufacturer links, discount code and shopping links disclosed. Reviewer discusses the cost of obtaining the unit; exact commercial arrangement unconfirmed.
-
MINISFORUM. MINISFORUM product specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone
-
ServeTheHome. The BEST 25GbE Homelab Node Minisforum MS-02 Ultra. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5-4800, 1TB SSD, 25GbE adapter
Disclosure: ServeTheHome did not state how the review unit was acquired.
-
ETA PRIME. The Most Versatile Mini PC Ever! MS-02 Ultra First Look. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5, 1TB SSD, Windows, low-profile RTX 5060; 90 W PL1 and 110 W PL2
Disclosure: ETA PRIME did not state how the unit was acquired; the description contains affiliate links and the video includes a sponsored software-key segment.
-
NASCompares. Minisforum MS-02 Ultra Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX, non-ECC memory and installed storage; capacities not stated
Disclosure: NASCompares said MINISFORUM supplied the hardware without payment or advance review; the description contains affiliate links.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ACEMAGIC M1A PRO+
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
- Supports 128 GB more memory
- Provides 4 storage slots versus 3
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | M1A PRO+ | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 | Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 32 | 24 / 24 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 55 W |
| Integrated graphics | Radeon 8060S | Intel Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | M1A PRO+ | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5X-8000, fixed | DDR5-4800 ECC SODIMM |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 256 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 3 | 4 |
Connectivity
| Specification | M1A PRO+ | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2 x 2.5GbE | Dual 25GbE + 10GbE + 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4; installed module unconfirmed | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | No |
Size and price
| Specification | M1A PRO+ | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | 4.8 liters |
| List price | Not published | $1,449 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Mini workstation |