AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255 vs ASUS ROG NUC 16
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
Ryzen 7 H 255 / 24GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro
ASUS ROG NUC 16
Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
-
7-Zip compression Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core 136 points
ALKtech measured 136 points in Cinebench 2024 single-core on its ROG NUC 16 review unit.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
7-Zip compression 156.204 GIPS
ALKtech measured 156.204 GIPS in the 7-Zip compression benchmark.
7-Zip compression benchmark · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default system power settings
ALKtech · 12:33
2Can it handle sustained work?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 2010 points
ALKtech measured 2,010 points in Cinebench 2024 multi-core. This remains attributed evidence because it was not run on the MiniPCBench test bench.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35512 points
The same review unit scored 35,512 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:49
3Can it game?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p Not available
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K 43.28 fps
ALKtech measured 43.28 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 at 4K using the Ray Tracing Low preset with DLSS and frame generation disabled.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p 92.43 fps
At 1440p with the same Ray Tracing Low preset and no DLSS or frame generation, ALKtech measured 92.43 FPS average.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 2560x1440; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K 49 fps
ALKtech measured 49 FPS average at 4K with maximum settings, Ultra ray tracing, and upscaling disabled.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; maximum graphics; Ultra ray tracing; upscaling off
ALKtech · 14:23
4Is it loud or hot?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Gaming CPU package temperature Not available
-
Gaming GPU temperature Not available
-
Gaming noise Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package temperature 82.5 °C
During a roughly nine-minute F1 23 run, ALKtech recorded an 82.5°C average CPU package temperature and a 104°C maximum in a 30°C room.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 104°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU temperature 76.3 °C
The same run produced a 76.3°C average GPU temperature and a 79.3°C maximum.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 79.3°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming noise 51.9 dBA
ALKtech measured 51.9 dBA during a typical gaming workload, but the room already measured 48.7 dBA, so the result is strongly limited by the high noise floor.
Typical gaming workload · 48.7 dBA ambient noise floor; meter position not stated
ALKtech · 14:36
5How much electricity does it use?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Gaming CPU package power Not available
-
Gaming GPU power Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package power 46.9 W
ALKtech's HWiNFO64 sensor log reported 46.9 W average CPU package power during the F1 23 run. This is component power, not whole-system wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 CPU package sensor; 72 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU power 173 W
The same HWiNFO64 log reported 173.0 W average GPU power and a 173.7 W maximum. This is GPU sensor power, not wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 GPU power sensor; 173.7 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Bottom cover has an attached fan cable
NAZOLABO shows the removable bottom cover with its cooling fan still connected by a short cable while accessing the RAM and SSD. Take care with that cable when opening the chassis.
NAZOLABO · 7:17 -
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Tool-less service access Not available
-
Reviewer upgrade inspection Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Bottom cover has an attached fan cable Not available
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Tool-less service access 2x memory and 2x M.2 slots
The two memory slots and two M.2 storage slots are user-accessible. The primary storage position supports PCIe 5.0 x4 and the second supports PCIe 4.0 x4.
Manufacturer upgradeability check · RNUC16JNK9X289AU
ASUS -
Reviewer upgrade inspection 2x M.2, 2x CSODIMM, socketed Wi-Fi
ALKtech showed straightforward access to two M.2 slots, two replaceable DDR5 CSODIMMs supporting up to 128GB, and a socketed Wi-Fi module. The included SSD occupied the PCIe 5.0 x4 slot while the second slot was PCIe 4.0 x4.
Hands-on internal-layout inspection · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 7:09
7Is it good value?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
US list price Not available
-
Reviewer value caveat Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
US list price $3,799
ASUS lists RNUC16JNK9X289AU at $3,799 before temporary discounts in the United States.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
ASUS -
Reviewer value caveat Convenience over component value
ALKtech had no retail price at publication but expected a substantial premium and said a similarly priced DIY ITX system would likely offer stronger specifications; the ROG NUC's case rests on compact, ready-to-use convenience.
Pre-release value assessment · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 17:50
8Will it be dependable?
AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
-
Successful setup and support reported
CareyHolzman reports a successful Windows setup and responsive help obtaining the promised Windows Pro key after providing proof of purchase. This describes his own barebones build and support experience, rather than a guarantee for every order.
CareyHolzman · 1:51 -
Limited warranty Not available
-
Review-unit disclosure Not available
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Successful setup and support reported Not available
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that its NUC products purchased from authorized distributors carry a three-year limited warranty covering hardware included in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check · ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
ASUS -
Review-unit disclosure Loan unit
ALKtech disclosed that ASUS Singapore supplied its ROG NUC 16 review unit as a loan and that its article contains affiliate links.
Source-disclosure check
ALKtech · 16:41
References
-
AOOSTAR. G-FLIP H255 specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 H 255 / 24GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
CareyHolzman. Part 2 Follow-Up: Aoostar G Flip 255 Mini PC with built-in screen. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Purchased H255 barebones unit, own 16GB RAM and Gen4 SSD of unconfirmed capacity; Windows 11 Pro. Firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Affiliate promotions appear in the description; reviewer says he purchased the unit.
-
NAZOLABO. AOOSTAR GFLIP H255 hardware review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Purchased H255 barebones unit, 2 x 8GB DDR5-4800, WD SN550 1TB, Windows 11 Pro. Firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Retailer link included; paid relationship unconfirmed.
-
ASUS. ASUS ROG NUC 16 technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: RNUC16JNK9X289AU: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
ALKtech. Is this the most powerful mini gaming PC yet? ASUS ROG NUC 16 Unboxing & Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
Disclosure: ALKtech states that ASUS Singapore supplied the review unit on loan. The accompanying article contains Amazon affiliate links.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for AOOSTAR G-FLIP H255
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG NUC 16
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | G-FLIP H255 | ROG NUC 16 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 7 H 255 | Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus |
| Cores / threads | 8 / 16 | 24 / 24 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | Radeon 780M | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU with 16GB GDDR7 |
Memory and storage
| Specification | G-FLIP H255 | ROG NUC 16 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5 SO-DIMM; 2 slots; DDR5-5600 supported | DDR5-6400 CSODIMM |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | G-FLIP H255 | ROG NUC 16 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2 x 2.5GbE | 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth version unconfirmed due to conflicting product listings | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | Yes |
Size and price
| Specification | G-FLIP H255 | ROG NUC 16 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | 3.02 liters |
| List price | Not published | $3,799 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Compact high-end gaming |