Apple Mac mini M5 Pro vs GMKtec NucBox K11
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K11
Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black chassis / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Base processor configuration 15 CPU cores
The retail base configuration uses a 15-core M5 Pro CPU with five super cores and ten performance cores. This is a manufacturer specification, not an independent productivity result.
Manufacturer processor specification · MHQN4LL/A base retail configuration
Apple -
Geekbench 7 single-core 3513 points
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro scored 3,513 in Geekbench 7 single-core, behind the M6 tested in the same video.
Geekbench 7 CPU single-core · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 10:11 -
Geekbench 7 multi-core 26454 points
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro scored 26,454 in Geekbench 7 multi-core, about 24% ahead of the M6 in the same video.
Geekbench 7 CPU multi-core · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 10:39 -
Cinebench 2026 single-core 693 points
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro scored 693 in Cinebench 2026 single-thread.
Cinebench 2026 CPU single-thread · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 10:21
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Base processor configuration Not available
-
Geekbench 7 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 7 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 single-core Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
M5 Pro includes hardware H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode support. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M5 Pro media engine
Apple -
Cinebench 2026 multi-core 5330 points
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro scored 5,330 in Cinebench 2026 multi-thread, nearly tied with the M6.
Cinebench 2026 CPU multi-thread · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 10:52 -
Blender Classroom CPU render 199 s
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro rendered Blender's Classroom scene on the CPU alone in 3 minutes 19 seconds, using the third run.
Blender Classroom scene, CPU only; lower is better · Third of three runs; M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 12:08 -
Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export 781 s
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro exported a 30-minute 4K Final Cut Pro project in 13 minutes 1 second, slower than the M6 in the same test.
Final Cut Pro export of the reviewer's 30-minute 4K project; lower is better · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 3:13 -
Blender Classroom GPU render 18.5 s
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro rendered Blender's Classroom scene on the GPU in 18.5 seconds, using the third run.
Blender Classroom scene, GPU; lower is better · Third of three runs; M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 11:56
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 multi-core Not available
-
Blender Classroom CPU render Not available
-
Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export Not available
-
Blender Classroom GPU render Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Graphics hardware 16-core GPU
The base configuration has a 16-core Apple GPU with hardware-accelerated ray tracing and Neural Accelerators. No exact-chassis independent gaming result was available at launch.
Manufacturer graphics specification · Base 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU configuration
Apple -
Geekbench 7 Metal GPU 128469 points
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro scored 128,469 in the Geekbench Metal GPU test, 53% ahead of the M6 in the same video.
Geekbench 7 GPU, Metal · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 11:24 -
Cinebench 2026 GPU 40456 points
Adam Talks Tech's base M5 Pro scored 40,456 in Cinebench 2026 GPU, about 50% ahead of the M6.
Cinebench 2026 GPU · M5 Pro 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
Adam Talks Tech · 11:30
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Graphics hardware Not available
-
Geekbench 7 Metal GPU Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 GPU Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle and notes that acoustics may vary by configuration.
System idle · Operator position; standard Mac mini system; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M5 Pro model supports up to three external displays through any combination of its Thunderbolt 5 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M5 Pro Mac mini
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Launch price $1,699
Apple lists the base M5 Pro Mac mini with a 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB of memory, and a 512GB SSD at $1,699 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · MHQN4LL/A: 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, 512GB SSD
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Wireless worked in Robtech’s test Not available
-
Wi-Fi struggled in Team Pandory’s test Not available
-
Batocera 41 connected to wireless devices Not available
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Wireless worked in Robtech’s test
Robtech reported working Bluetooth and a full Valorant session over 5GHz Wi-Fi without network warnings. His router was about 12 metres away. He cautioned that one successful sample does not establish consistent wireless performance across units.
Robtech · 8:09 -
Wi-Fi struggled in Team Pandory’s test
Team Pandory could not complete an online speed test using the original Intel AX200 wireless card in his setup. Replacing it with a MediaTek RZ616 allowed the test to run. This differs from Robtech’s experience; their networks and units were not tested under identical conditions.
Team Pandory · 15:22 -
Batocera 41 connected to wireless devices
Team Pandory reported that Batocera 41 booted, connected to the local Wi-Fi network and paired with a Bluetooth controller. This checks basic connectivity on that review unit, not sustained wireless throughput or every Linux distribution.
Team Pandory · 10:03
References
-
Apple. Apple Mac mini technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, and 512GB SSD
-
Apple. Buy Mac mini with M5 Pro. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: MHQN4LL/A: M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, and 512GB SSD
Disclosure: Manufacturer retail configuration and price.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
Adam Talks Tech. M6 vs M5 Pro Mac mini: Real World Tests and Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Base M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, and 512GB SSD
Disclosure: B&H loaned this unit to the reviewer. The description includes Amazon and B&H affiliate links.
-
GMKtec. NucBox K11 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black chassis / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. GMKtec's Best Mini Yet! K11 Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB Crucial NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
Team Pandory. Uncovering the GMKtec K11: Ryzen 9 8945HS Performance, Flaws & Fixes!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB (2 × 16GB) Crucial DDR5-5600 / 1TB Crucial P3 Plus / Windows 11 Pro 23H2; Batocera 41 also tested. Firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K11
- Supports 32 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M5 Pro | AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS |
| Cores / threads | 15 / 15 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 16-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 780M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 2 × 2.5GbE, Intel I226V |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Intel AX200 Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $1,699 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS pro workflows | Not assigned |