Apple Mac mini M5 Pro vs GMKtec NucBox K17
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K17
Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X / 1TB SSD / black / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Base processor configuration 15 CPU cores
The retail base configuration uses a 15-core M5 Pro CPU with five super cores and ten performance cores. This is a manufacturer specification, not an independent productivity result.
Manufacturer processor specification · MHQN4LL/A base retail configuration
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Base processor configuration Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
M5 Pro includes hardware H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode support. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M5 Pro media engine
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Graphics hardware 16-core GPU
The base configuration has a 16-core Apple GPU with hardware-accelerated ray tracing and Neural Accelerators. No exact-chassis independent gaming result was available at launch.
Manufacturer graphics specification · Base 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU configuration
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Graphics hardware Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle and notes that acoustics may vary by configuration.
System idle · Operator position; standard Mac mini system; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Included SSD ran hot during sustained stress Not available
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Included SSD ran hot during sustained stress
Robtech found the included 1TB eKit Store SSD reached thermal-throttling territory when he stressed the CPU and SSD together for an extended period. This concern applies to his drive and test conditions; it is not a normalized temperature result.
Robtech · 9:56
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M5 Pro model supports up to three external displays through any combination of its Thunderbolt 5 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M5 Pro Mac mini
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Launch price $1,699
Apple lists the base M5 Pro Mac mini with a 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB of memory, and a 512GB SSD at $1,699 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · MHQN4LL/A: 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, 512GB SSD
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
A supplied BIOS update fixed inconsistent performance Not available
-
Batocera 43 connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Not available
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
A supplied BIOS update fixed inconsistent performance
Robtech reported large performance changes between power cycles on his review unit. He said a BIOS supplied by GMKtec, dated August 13, fixed the issue. This records his result; the installed firmware on current retail units is unconfirmed.
Robtech · 3:05 -
Batocera 43 connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Team Pandory booted Batocera 43 from USB and reported working Wi-Fi and an 8BitDo Pro 3 Bluetooth controller on his 16GB/512GB unit. This is a basic compatibility check for that configuration.
Team Pandory · 10:27
References
-
Apple. Apple Mac mini technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, and 512GB SSD
-
Apple. Buy Mac mini with M5 Pro. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: MHQN4LL/A: M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, and 512GB SSD
Disclosure: Manufacturer retail configuration and price.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
GMKtec. NucBox K17 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X / 1TB SSD / black / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. One of Their Best Mini PCs Yet, BUT...GMKtec K17 Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X-8533 / 1TB eKit Store PCIe 4.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Reviewer tested a supplied August 13 BIOS update; Balanced and Performance modes.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
Team Pandory. This $559 Mini PC Has Surprisingly Powerful Graphics! [GMKTEC K17 Review]. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X-8533 / 512GB PCIe 4.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro; Batocera 43. Firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
- Supports 48 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K17
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M5 Pro | Intel Core Ultra 5 226V |
| Cores / threads | 15 / 15 | 8 / 8 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 16-core Apple GPU | Intel Arc 130V |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | LPDDR5X, up to 8533 MT/s, onboard |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 16 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 1 x 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $1,699 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS pro workflows | Not assigned |