Apple Mac mini M5 Pro vs MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB memory, 512GB SSD
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop 8GB / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Base processor configuration 15 CPU cores
The retail base configuration uses a 15-core M5 Pro CPU with five super cores and ten performance cores. This is a manufacturer specification, not an independent productivity result.
Manufacturer processor specification · MHQN4LL/A base retail configuration
Apple
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Base processor configuration Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
M5 Pro includes hardware H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode support. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M5 Pro media engine
Apple
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Graphics hardware 16-core GPU
The base configuration has a 16-core Apple GPU with hardware-accelerated ray tracing and Neural Accelerators. No exact-chassis independent gaming result was available at launch.
Manufacturer graphics specification · Base 15-core CPU and 16-core GPU configuration
Apple
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Graphics hardware Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle and notes that acoustics may vary by configuration.
System idle · Operator position; standard Mac mini system; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M5 Pro model supports up to three external displays through any combination of its Thunderbolt 5 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M5 Pro Mac mini
Apple -
One memory module in the reviewed unit Not available
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
One memory module in the reviewed unit
TechTablets found one 32GB SO-DIMM and an empty second memory slot. Other reviewers received different layouts, so confirm the installed module count before buying.
TechTablets · 3:18
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Launch price $1,699
Apple lists the base M5 Pro Mac mini with a 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB of memory, and a 512GB SSD at $1,699 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · MHQN4LL/A: 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, 512GB SSD
Apple
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Bazzite devices worked in one review Not available
-
Linux controls were limited Not available
-
Wi-Fi issue in an unspecified Mint build Not available
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Bazzite devices worked in one review
Craft Computing reported working networking, audio, card reader and sleep without extra setup on his Bazzite installation. The exact distribution build was not disclosed; this does not establish compatibility with every Linux version.
Craft Computing · 16:18 -
Linux controls were limited
Craft Computing reported no manufacturer Linux application for changing power profiles or RGB lighting. He changed the power mode in firmware.
Craft Computing · 13:12 -
Wi-Fi issue in an unspecified Mint build
TechTablets reported a Wi-Fi 7 driver problem with his Linux Mint installation. He did not identify the release and said it might have been older. This differs from the Bazzite experience reported by Craft Computing.
TechTablets · 11:18
References
-
Apple. Apple Mac mini technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, and 512GB SSD
-
Apple. Buy Mac mini with M5 Pro. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: MHQN4LL/A: M5 Pro with 15-core CPU, 16-core GPU, 24GB unified memory, and 512GB SSD
Disclosure: Manufacturer retail configuration and price.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
MINISFORUM. AtomMan G7 Pro specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop 8GB / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
TechTablets. Atomman G7 Pro Review - 14900HX & RTX 5070 SFF PC!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop / one 32GB Crucial DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM / 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro; firmware version unconfirmed. Early review unit.
Disclosure: Unit acquisition and sponsorship were not specified in the inspected description.
-
Craft Computing. It's Not Me Microsoft, it's you... Switching my whole family to Linux. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop / 32GB DDR5-5200 across two SO-DIMMs / 1TB NVMe / Bazzite; distribution build, kernel and firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied a review unit; affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M5 Pro
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
- Supports 32 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M5 Pro | Intel Core i9-14900HX |
| Cores / threads | 15 / 15 | 24 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 16-core Apple GPU | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPU, 8GB GDDR7 |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 1 × 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Intel BE200 Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M5 Pro | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $1,699 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS pro workflows | Not assigned |