Apple Mac mini M6 vs ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
Ryzen AI 7 450 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US SKU
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
Case lock also restricts bottom-panel access Not available
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
Case lock also restricts bottom-panel access
Level1Techs showed that the Kensington lock prevents access to the bottom panel on the reviewed 64GB unit.
Level1Techs · 2:15
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Reviewer confirmed custom EFI keys worked Not available
ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Reviewer confirmed custom EFI keys worked
Level1Techs demonstrated the firmware key-management options and reported that a Linux installation with custom EFI keys worked. The distribution, kernel and firmware version were not specified.
Level1Techs · 5:09
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
ASUS. ExpertCenter PN55 US SKU specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI 7 450 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US SKU
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Level1Techs. Is it Worth it? A Quick Overview of the ASUS ExpertCenter PN55. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI 7 450 / 64GB DDR5-5600, 2 x 32GB / 1TB Micron NVMe SSD. Performance mode for benchmarks. Windows edition, Linux distribution, kernel and firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Acquisition terms unconfirmed. YouTube displays an affiliate product tag; editor links ASUS in the description.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ExpertCenter PN55
- Supports 64 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ExpertCenter PN55 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen AI 7 450 |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 45 W |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 860M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ExpertCenter PN55 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, 2 x 16GB |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ExpertCenter PN55 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ExpertCenter PN55 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |