Apple Mac mini M6 vs ASUS ROG GR70
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
ASUS ROG GR70
Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop / 32GB DDR5 / 2TB SSD / Windows 11 Home
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Turbo mode was too loud for the reviewer Not available
-
NerdNest found it generally quiet Not available
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Turbo mode was too loud for the reviewer
Robtech found the default profile acceptable but the highest-performance mode too loud for his preference. His sample had 64GB memory and a PCIe 5.0 SSD. This is an attributed listening impression.
Robtech · 7:56 -
NerdNest found it generally quiet
NerdNest found the GR70 generally quiet, while acknowledging audible fans under heavy load. He said he left it in Turbo mode. This differs from Robtech’s impression; test conditions and the conflicting memory descriptions prevent a direct noise comparison.
NerdNest · 8:54
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
Second SSD slot lacked a thermal pad Not available
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
Second SSD slot lacked a thermal pad
Robtech found cooling on the populated PCIe 5.0 slot, but no thermal pad on the second PCIe 4.0 slot in his 64GB review unit.
Robtech · 2:40
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Ubuntu connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Not available
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Ubuntu connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Robtech reported working wireless and Bluetooth in an Ubuntu check on his review configuration. The Ubuntu version, kernel and firmware were not specified.
Robtech · 3:17
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
ASUS ROG. GR70-N90066AN US specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop / 32GB DDR5 / 2TB SSD / Windows 11 Home
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. The FASTEST AMD Ryzen Gaming Mini PC (3L) - ASUS ROG NUC GR70. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop 8GB / 64GB DDR5-5600 / PCIe 5.0 NVMe SSD, capacity unconfirmed / Windows 11 Home; Ubuntu version unconfirmed. Silent, default and Turbo modes tested; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Loan review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
NerdNest. PS5 Size, PC Power: The ASUS ROG GR70 is INSANE. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop. Video states 64GB RAM; updated description instead identifies 32GB/2TB. Exact memory, SSD and Windows edition unresolved. Turbo mode used; firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Hardware provided by ASUS; reviewer states ASUS did not sponsor the video.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
- Uses a smaller 0.81 liter enclosure
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG GR70
- Supports 64 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ROG GR70 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 70 W |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPU; AMD Radeon 610M integrated graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ROG GR70 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, 2 x 16GB |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ROG GR70 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 1 x 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | ROG GR70 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | 3 liters |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |