Apple Mac mini M6 vs Beelink SER9 MAX
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
Beelink SER9 MAX
Ryzen 7 H 255 / 64GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / Space Gray / US adapter
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
USB4 Not available
-
Upgradeable storage Not available
-
Bottom-cover access Not available
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Memory is upgradeable Not available
-
Storage is upgradeable Not available
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
USB4 Yes
-
Upgradeable storage Yes
-
Bottom-cover access
ETA PRIME demonstrates removal of the bottom cover after undoing four screws.
ETA PRIME · 2:05
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Proxmox installation caveat Not available
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Proxmox installation caveat
VirtualizationHowto encountered a blinking Proxmox VE 9 installer while using a TinyPilot remote KVM. He installed VE 8 and upgraded to VE 9, and cautioned that the problem could be specific to his setup.
VirtualizationHowto · 11:24
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
Beelink. SER9 MAX H255/H260/H350 specifications and configuration selector. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 H 255 / 64GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / Space Gray / US adapter
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; performance has not been independently measured.
-
ETA PRIME. SER9 MAX Mini PC First Look! Ryzen 7 H 255 Quiet, Cool, and Powerful. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: SER9 MAX H255 with 1TB SSD; installed RAM capacity not verified.
Disclosure: Affiliate links and software-key promotion are disclosed; unit acquisition was not established.
-
VirtualizationHowto. Beelink SER9 Max Review and Proxmox 10 Gig Mini PC Giveaway. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: SER9 MAX H255 running Proxmox; RAM capacity and firmware not established. TinyPilot remote KVM used for installation.
Disclosure: Beelink supplied the unit; the reviewer says the review was unpaid. Video includes a Nakivo sponsor segment.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
Higher listed specifications for Beelink SER9 MAX
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | SER9 MAX |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen 7 H 255 |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 780M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | SER9 MAX |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5-5600 |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | Not published |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Not published |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | SER9 MAX |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 1 × 10Gb Ethernet |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Intel AX200 Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | SER9 MAX |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |