Apple Mac mini M6 vs GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

Silver Apple Mac mini M6 held in one hand and viewed from the front
Silver GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition shown from the front and rear
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Apple Mac mini M6

12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB DDR5, 2TB SSD

Check price Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
  • Speedometer 3 browser score 69.3 points
  • Geekbench 7 single-core 4001 points
  • Geekbench 7 multi-core 21297 points
  • Cinebench 2026 single-core 811 points
  • Geekbench 7 CPU on an upgraded unit 4,052 single; 22,427 multi
  • Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
  • Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
  • Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
  • PCMark 10 Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
  • Speedometer 3 browser score Not available
  • Geekbench 7 single-core Not available
  • Geekbench 7 multi-core Not available
  • Cinebench 2026 single-core Not available
  • Geekbench 7 CPU on an upgraded unit Not available
  • Cinebench 2024 multi-core 1151 points
  • Cinebench 2024 single-core 119 points
  • Geekbench 6 multi-core 11283 points
  • PCMark 10 8003 points

2Can it handle sustained work?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
  • Cinebench 2026 multi-core 5209 points
  • Blender Classroom CPU render 259 s
  • Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export 688 s
  • 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test stability 99.55 %
  • LM Studio Bonsai 27B generation speed 17.15 tokens/s
  • Blender Classroom GPU render 25.8 s
  • PugetBench for Photoshop Not available
  • PugetBench for Premiere Pro Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Dedicated media engines Not available
  • Cinebench 2026 multi-core Not available
  • Blender Classroom CPU render Not available
  • Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export Not available
  • 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test stability Not available
  • LM Studio Bonsai 27B generation speed Not available
  • Blender Classroom GPU render Not available
  • PugetBench for Photoshop 8088 points
  • PugetBench for Premiere Pro 19423 points

3Can it game?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
  • 3DMark Wild Life Extreme 15644 points
  • No Man's Sky at 1080p Ultra 45 to 50 fps
  • Geekbench 7 Metal GPU 84110 points
  • Cinebench 2026 GPU 26894 points
  • Geekbench 7 Metal on an upgraded unit 90,182
  • Counter-Strike 2 stock memory Not available
  • Counter-Strike 2 dual channel Not available
  • Time Spy stock memory Not available
  • Time Spy dual channel Not available
  • Night Raid memory comparison Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
  • 3DMark Wild Life Extreme Not available
  • No Man's Sky at 1080p Ultra Not available
  • Geekbench 7 Metal GPU Not available
  • Cinebench 2026 GPU Not available
  • Geekbench 7 Metal on an upgraded unit Not available
  • Counter-Strike 2 stock memory 125 fps
  • Counter-Strike 2 dual channel 193.5 fps
  • Time Spy stock memory 2279 points
  • Time Spy dual channel 3602 points
  • Night Raid memory comparison 20334 points

4Is it loud or hot?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
  • Fan noise under load Not audible to the reviewer
  • Idle noise Not available
  • Cinebench load noise Not available
  • Memory thermal issue Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Manufacturer idle noise Not available
  • Fan noise under load Not available
  • Idle noise 30 to 33 dBA
  • Cinebench load noise 42 dBA
  • Memory thermal issue

5How much electricity does it use?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
  • Wall power at idle 2.7 W
  • Wall power during stress test 36.4 to 37.8 W
  • Idle wall power Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Maximum continuous power Not available
  • Wall power at idle Not available
  • Wall power during stress test Not available
  • Idle wall power 9 W

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable No
  • Thunderbolt is present Yes
  • Display support Up to 3 displays
  • Base 256GB SSD speed About 3,100 MB/s read; writes fall below 1,000 MB/s
  • Tested configuration Not available
  • SSD sequential throughput Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Not available
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Display support Not available
  • Base 256GB SSD speed Not available
  • Tested configuration
  • SSD sequential throughput 5 GB/s

7Is it good value?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Launch price $899
  • Manufacturer list price Not available
  • Reviewer value assessment Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Launch price Not available
  • Manufacturer list price $1,599
  • Reviewer value assessment HX 370 predecessor preferred

8Will it be dependable?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Hardware warranty 1 year
  • Reviewer memory-thermal caveat Not available

GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Hardware warranty 3 years
  • Reviewer memory-thermal caveat Stock RAM throttled in gaming

References

  1. Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD

  2. Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published

    Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.

  3. Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States

  4. Lon.TV. Is the Base Model M6 Mac Mini All You Need?. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Base M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD, and 2.5GbE; macOS 27.0

    Disclosure: Lon Seidman says he bought the unit with his own money and that no one sponsored, reviewed, or approved the video before upload. The description includes a compensated Amazon affiliate link.

  5. Brian Tong. M6 Mac Mini Review - Packed With Power But Is The 'Budget' Mac Dead?. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD, and 2.5GbE; $2,399 as configured

    Disclosure: Brian Tong says Apple sent this unit for the review. The video does not say whether it must be returned. He earns commission on products tagged in the video.

  6. Adam Talks Tech. M6 vs M5 Pro Mac mini: Real World Tests and Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, and a 512GB SSD upgrade

    Disclosure: Adam does not say how he obtained the M6. B&H loaned the M5 Pro used for comparison. The description includes Amazon and B&H affiliate links.

  7. GEEKOM. GEEKOM product specifications. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB DDR5, 2TB SSD

  8. Hubwood. The AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 Is Here! GEEKOM A9 MAX Mini-PC Reviewed. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Stock: Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, one 32GB DDR5-5600 module, 2TB Kingston PCIe 4.0 SSD; 64GB dual-channel configuration tested separately

    Disclosure: Hubwood said GEEKOM sent the unit, with no payment, editorial control, or publishing obligation.

  9. Toasty Bros. Gaming on a POWERFUL Mini PC - Geekom A9 Max 2026. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Stock: Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, one 32GB DDR5-5600 module, 2TB SSD; 16GB dual-channel kit tested separately

    Disclosure: GEEKOM sponsored the video and the description contains compensated affiliate links; unit acquisition was not separately stated.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6

  • Uses a smaller 0.81 liter enclosure
  • Has a manufacturer list price about $700 lower

Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition

  • Supports 96 GB more memory
  • Provides 2 storage slots versus 0

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationMac mini M6A9 Max 2026 Edition
CPUApple M6AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470
Cores / threads12 / 1212 / 24
Processor default TDPNot disclosed28 W
Integrated graphics12-core Apple GPURadeon 890M

Memory and storage

SpecificationMac mini M6A9 Max 2026 Edition
Memory typeUnified memory onboardDDR5-5600 SODIMM
Maximum memory32 GB128 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots02

Connectivity

SpecificationMac mini M6A9 Max 2026 Edition
Ethernet2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbEDual 2.5GbE
WirelessWi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4
USB4YesYes
ThunderboltYesNo

Size and price

SpecificationMac mini M6A9 Max 2026 Edition
Enclosure volume0.81 liters0.82 liters
List price$899$1,599
Product classmacOS mini desktopAI mini PC