Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec EVO-X3
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
GMKtec EVO-X3
Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, 2TB SSD, US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple -
Speedometer 3 browser score 69.3 points
Lon.TV's base 16GB/256GB unit scored 69.3 in BrowserBench Speedometer 3, the highest browser result the reviewer had recorded on a mini PC.
BrowserBench.org Speedometer 3 · Brave browser; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 4:56 -
Geekbench 7 single-core 4001 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 4,001 in Geekbench 7 single-core, ahead of the base M5 Pro tested in the same video. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Geekbench 7 CPU single-core · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:11 -
Geekbench 7 multi-core 21297 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 21,297 in Geekbench 7 multi-core. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Geekbench 7 CPU multi-core · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:39 -
Cinebench 2026 single-core 811 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 811 in Cinebench 2026 single-thread. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Cinebench 2026 CPU single-thread · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:21 -
Geekbench 7 CPU on an upgraded unit 4,052 single; 22,427 multi
Brian Tong's M6 averaged 4,052 single-core and 22,427 multi-core in Geekbench 7 across 10 runs. His unit had 32GB of memory and a 2TB SSD, so these figures are not the catalog's 16GB/256GB configuration.
Geekbench 7 CPU, average of 10 runs · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD
Brian Tong · 3:55 -
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
-
Speedometer 3 browser score Not available
-
Geekbench 7 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 7 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 7 CPU on an upgraded unit Not available
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core 114 points
ETA PRIME's 128GB review unit scored 114 in Cinebench 2024 single-core while the system was in Performance mode.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Performance mode; Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; 4TB SSD review configuration
ETA PRIME · 7:23 -
Geekbench 6 single-core 3081 points
The same review unit scored 3,081 in Geekbench 6 single-core.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Performance mode; Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; 4TB SSD review configuration
ETA PRIME · 7:52
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple -
Cinebench 2026 multi-core 5209 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 5,209 in Cinebench 2026 multi-thread, close to the M5 Pro's 5,330 in the same test. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Cinebench 2026 CPU multi-thread · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:52 -
Blender Classroom CPU render 259 s
Adam Talks Tech's M6 rendered Blender's Classroom scene on the CPU alone in 4 minutes 19 seconds, using the third run. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Blender Classroom scene, CPU only; lower is better · Third of three runs; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 12:08 -
Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export 688 s
Adam Talks Tech's M6 exported a 30-minute 4K Final Cut Pro project in 11 minutes 28 seconds, faster than the base M5 Pro in the same test. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Final Cut Pro export of the reviewer's 30-minute 4K project; lower is better · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 3:13 -
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test stability 99.55 %
Lon.TV's base 16GB/256GB unit finished the 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test at 99.55% frame-rate stability, with best and lowest loop scores of 16,015 and 15,943.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test, 20 loops · 3840x2160; Metal; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:58 -
LM Studio Bonsai 27B generation speed 17.15 tokens/s
Lon.TV's base 16GB unit generated 17.15 tokens per second with the Bonsai 27B model in LM Studio. The reviewer notes that 16GB limits which local models fit.
LM Studio, prism-ml/bonsai-27b (MLX), five-paragraph writing prompt · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 12:22 -
Blender Classroom GPU render 25.8 s
Adam Talks Tech's M6 rendered Blender's Classroom scene on the GPU in 25.8 seconds, using the third run. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Blender Classroom scene, GPU; lower is better · Third of three runs; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 11:56 -
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
AIDA64 memory bandwidth Not available
-
AIDA64 memory latency Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 multi-core Not available
-
Blender Classroom CPU render Not available
-
Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export Not available
-
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test stability Not available
-
LM Studio Bonsai 27B generation speed Not available
-
Blender Classroom GPU render Not available
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 1893 points
ETA PRIME's review unit scored 1,893 in Cinebench 2024 multi-core in Performance mode.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Performance mode; Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; 4TB SSD review configuration
ETA PRIME · 7:23 -
Geekbench 6 multi-core 22314 points
The same review unit scored 22,314 in Geekbench 6 multi-core.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Performance mode; Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; 4TB SSD review configuration
ETA PRIME · 7:52 -
AIDA64 memory bandwidth 118 GB/s
Level1Techs measured 118 GB/s of memory bandwidth on the exact 128GB/2TB configuration.
AIDA64 memory benchmark · 128GB LPDDR5X-8000; 2TB Crucial P310 SSD review unit
Level1Techs · 7:26 -
AIDA64 memory latency 143.8 ns
The same Level1Techs test measured 143.8 ns of memory latency.
AIDA64 memory benchmark · 128GB LPDDR5X-8000; 2TB Crucial P310 SSD review unit
Level1Techs · 7:26
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple -
3DMark Wild Life Extreme 15644 points
Lon.TV's base 16GB/256GB unit scored 15,644 in 3DMark Wild Life Extreme, an average of 93.7 FPS.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 7:18 -
No Man's Sky at 1080p Ultra 45 to 50 fps
Lon.TV saw roughly 45 to 50 FPS in No Man's Sky at 1080p with Ultra settings while exploring a detailed planet surface on the base 16GB unit. This is a gameplay observation, not a repeatable benchmark run.
No Man's Sky on-foot planet exploration · 1920x1080; Ultra preset; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 6:24 -
Geekbench 7 Metal GPU 84110 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 84,110 in the Geekbench Metal GPU test. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Geekbench 7 GPU, Metal · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 11:24 -
Cinebench 2026 GPU 26894 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 26,894 in Cinebench 2026 GPU. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Cinebench 2026 GPU · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 11:30 -
Geekbench 7 Metal on an upgraded unit 90,182
Brian Tong's M6 scored 90,182 in the Geekbench 7 Metal GPU test. His unit had 32GB of memory and a 2TB SSD, so this is not the catalog's 16GB/256GB configuration.
Geekbench 7 GPU, Metal · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD
Brian Tong · 4:56 -
3DMark Time Spy Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 Not available
-
Black Myth: Wukong Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
-
3DMark Wild Life Extreme Not available
-
No Man's Sky at 1080p Ultra Not available
-
Geekbench 7 Metal GPU Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 GPU Not available
-
Geekbench 7 Metal on an upgraded unit Not available
-
3DMark Time Spy 11388 points
ETA PRIME measured a 3DMark Time Spy score of 11,388 from the integrated Radeon 8060S.
3DMark Time Spy · Performance mode; Radeon 8060S; 128GB/4TB review unit
ETA PRIME · 9:13 -
Cyberpunk 2077 74 fps
The review showed about 74 FPS in Cyberpunk 2077 at 1440p high with FSR 2.1 set to Quality.
Cyberpunk 2077 gameplay · 1440p high; FSR 2.1 Quality; Performance mode; 128GB/4TB review unit
ETA PRIME · 10:54 -
Black Myth: Wukong 83 fps
ETA PRIME reported about 83 FPS in Black Myth: Wukong at 1440p high with FSR set to 90 percent.
Black Myth: Wukong gameplay · 1440p high; FSR 90%; Performance mode; 128GB/4TB review unit
ETA PRIME · 11:35
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Fan noise under load Not audible to the reviewer
During a 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test, Lon.TV could feel airflow from the fan but could not hear it, and found the case cool to the touch afterward. No sound-level meter reading or temperature was reported.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:39 -
Average APU gaming temperature Not available
-
Maximum observed APU temperature Not available
-
High-load fan character Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Fan noise under load Not available
-
Average APU gaming temperature 66 C
ETA PRIME reported an average APU temperature of 66 C during gaming in Performance mode.
AAA gaming · Performance mode; automatic fan control; 128GB/4TB review unit
ETA PRIME · 12:41 -
Maximum observed APU temperature 83 C
The same reviewer reported an 83 C maximum across the tests shown in the review.
Review benchmark and gaming suite · Performance mode; automatic fan control; 128GB/4TB review unit
ETA PRIME · 12:41 -
High-load fan character Audible above about 100 W
Level1Techs described the exact 128GB/2TB unit as effectively inaudible in lighter use. Above roughly 100 W, its fans became audible but had a smooth whooshing character without high-pitched whine.
Subjective fan-noise assessment · Exact 128GB/2TB review configuration; measurement distance and room floor not reported
Level1Techs · 20:18
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple -
Wall power at idle 2.7 W
Lon.TV measured 2.7 W at the wall with the base 16GB/256GB unit idling at the macOS desktop with a display connected.
Idle at the macOS desktop · Plug-in power meter; external display active; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:12 -
Wall power during stress test 36.4 to 37.8 W
Lon.TV measured 36.4 to 37.8 W at the wall while the base 16GB/256GB unit ran the 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test, which the reviewer described as loading the CPU and GPU.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test · Plug-in power meter; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:30 -
Idle wall power Not available
-
4K video wall power Not available
-
AAA gaming wall power Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
-
Wall power at idle Not available
-
Wall power during stress test Not available
-
Idle wall power 11 W
ETA PRIME measured 11 W at the wall while the EVO-X3 was idle.
Windows idle · Performance mode; 128GB/4TB review unit; wall measurement
ETA PRIME · 12:41 -
4K video wall power 18 W
The same review measured 18 W at the wall during 4K video playback.
4K video playback · Performance mode; 128GB/4TB review unit; wall measurement
ETA PRIME · 12:41 -
AAA gaming wall power 147 W
ETA PRIME reported an average of 147 W at the wall while playing AAA games.
AAA gaming · Performance mode; 128GB/4TB review unit; wall measurement
ETA PRIME · 12:41
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
Base 256GB SSD speed About 3,100 MB/s read; writes fall below 1,000 MB/s
In Blackmagic Disk Speed Test, Lon.TV's 256GB drive read at about 3,100 MB/s. Writes started near 1,000 MB/s and fell to roughly 340 to 800 MB/s once the cache filled. The reviewer called sustained writes the base model's main weakness.
Blackmagic Disk Speed Test · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 14:07 -
Expansion paths Not available
-
Wireless adapter Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
Display support Not available
-
Base 256GB SSD speed Not available
-
Expansion paths 2x M.2 plus OCuLink
GMKtec provides two PCIe 4.0 x4 M.2 2280 storage slots and a PCIe 4.0 x4 OCuLink port. The company warns that OCuLink is not hot-pluggable.
Manufacturer expansion check · EVO-X3 chassis
GMKtec -
Wireless adapter Wi-Fi 7, 160 MHz maximum
Level1Techs identified the MediaTek RZ717 Wi-Fi 7 adapter and noted that it is limited to 160 MHz channels rather than 320 MHz.
Hardware identification · Exact 128GB/2TB review configuration
Level1Techs · 6:20
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple -
Manufacturer price Not available
-
Reviewer market-position assessment Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Launch price Not available
-
Manufacturer price $3,799.99
GMKtec listed the exact US 128GB/2TB configuration for $3,799.99 when checked, against a $4,100 compare-at price.
Manufacturer retail-price check · EVO-X3-2-75S: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB RAM, 2TB SSD, US plug
GMKtec -
Reviewer market-position assessment Among the less expensive Strix Halo options
Level1Techs described the exact review configuration as one of the least expensive Strix Halo systems available at the time, without presenting that statement as a measured value score.
Review-date market-position assessment · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB Crucial P310 SSD
Level1Techs · 21:28
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Factory fan curve Not available
GMKtec EVO-X3
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
GMKtec lists a one-year warranty for the EVO-X3 and a seven-day return window on the product page.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
GMKtec -
Factory fan curve Full speed at 95 C by default
Level1Techs found that the default BIOS fan curve did not command full fan speed until 95 C and recommended a more aggressive curve for sustained high-power operation.
BIOS fan-curve inspection · Exact 128GB/2TB review configuration
Level1Techs · 19:57
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
Lon.TV. Is the Base Model M6 Mac Mini All You Need?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Base M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD, and 2.5GbE; macOS 27.0
Disclosure: Lon Seidman says he bought the unit with his own money and that no one sponsored, reviewed, or approved the video before upload. The description includes a compensated Amazon affiliate link.
-
Brian Tong. M6 Mac Mini Review - Packed With Power But Is The 'Budget' Mac Dead?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD, and 2.5GbE; $2,399 as configured
Disclosure: Brian Tong says Apple sent this unit for the review. The video does not say whether it must be returned. He earns commission on products tagged in the video.
-
Adam Talks Tech. M6 vs M5 Pro Mac mini: Real World Tests and Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, and a 512GB SSD upgrade
Disclosure: Adam does not say how he obtained the M6. B&H loaned the M5 Pro used for comparison. The description includes Amazon and B&H affiliate links.
-
GMKtec. GMKtec EVO-X3 AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 AI Mini PC. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: EVO-X3-2-75S: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD, US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer product specifications, availability, and pricing.
-
GMKtec. GMKtec EVO-X3 warranty and return terms. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: EVO-X3 product-page warranty and return terms
Disclosure: Manufacturer warranty and return statement.
-
ETA PRIME. GMKtec EVO X3 First Look: The Mini PC That Replaces Your Desktop. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, 4TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: The description contains Amazon affiliate links and identifies an unrelated URCKeys sponsor; it does not state how the EVO-X3 review unit was obtained.
-
Level1Techs. Checking Out The GMKTec X3 Strix Halo: More Strix Halo Shenanigans!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB Crucial P310 SSD
Disclosure: No product-supply, sponsorship, or affiliate disclosure for this unit was found in the video description.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
- Has a manufacturer list price about $3,201 lower
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec EVO-X3
- Supports 96 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | EVO-X3 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | EVO-X3 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | LPDDR5X-8000 onboard |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | EVO-X3 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 7 (MediaTek RZ717) + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | No |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | EVO-X3 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | $4,100 |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Large local AI models |