Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec K13
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
GMKtec K13
Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB LPDDR5X, 1TB SSD
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple -
Speedometer 3 browser score 69.3 points
Lon.TV's base 16GB/256GB unit scored 69.3 in BrowserBench Speedometer 3, the highest browser result the reviewer had recorded on a mini PC.
BrowserBench.org Speedometer 3 · Brave browser; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 4:56 -
Geekbench 7 single-core 4001 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 4,001 in Geekbench 7 single-core, ahead of the base M5 Pro tested in the same video. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Geekbench 7 CPU single-core · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:11 -
Geekbench 7 multi-core 21297 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 21,297 in Geekbench 7 multi-core. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Geekbench 7 CPU multi-core · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:39 -
Cinebench 2026 single-core 811 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 811 in Cinebench 2026 single-thread. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Cinebench 2026 CPU single-thread · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:21 -
Geekbench 7 CPU on an upgraded unit 4,052 single; 22,427 multi
Brian Tong's M6 averaged 4,052 single-core and 22,427 multi-core in Geekbench 7 across 10 runs. His unit had 32GB of memory and a 2TB SSD, so these figures are not the catalog's 16GB/256GB configuration.
Geekbench 7 CPU, average of 10 runs · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD
Brian Tong · 3:55 -
Speedometer Not available
-
4K media playback Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
-
Speedometer 3 browser score Not available
-
Geekbench 7 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 7 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 7 CPU on an upgraded unit Not available
-
Speedometer 32.5 points
Lon.TV measured 32.5 in the browser-based Speedometer test on the exact 16GB/1TB configuration.
BrowserBench Speedometer · High Performance BIOS profile; Windows 11 Pro; Core Ultra 7 256V; 16GB LPDDR5X; 1TB SSD
Lon.TV · 7:15 -
4K media playback 4K60 playback checked
Lon.TV observed a few dropped frames when a 4K60 YouTube video started, then uninterrupted playback afterward.
YouTube 4K60 playback · High Performance BIOS profile; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Lon.TV · 7:04
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple -
Cinebench 2026 multi-core 5209 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 5,209 in Cinebench 2026 multi-thread, close to the M5 Pro's 5,330 in the same test. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Cinebench 2026 CPU multi-thread · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 10:52 -
Blender Classroom CPU render 259 s
Adam Talks Tech's M6 rendered Blender's Classroom scene on the CPU alone in 4 minutes 19 seconds, using the third run. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Blender Classroom scene, CPU only; lower is better · Third of three runs; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 12:08 -
Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export 688 s
Adam Talks Tech's M6 exported a 30-minute 4K Final Cut Pro project in 11 minutes 28 seconds, faster than the base M5 Pro in the same test. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Final Cut Pro export of the reviewer's 30-minute 4K project; lower is better · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 3:13 -
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test stability 99.55 %
Lon.TV's base 16GB/256GB unit finished the 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test at 99.55% frame-rate stability, with best and lowest loop scores of 16,015 and 15,943.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test, 20 loops · 3840x2160; Metal; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:58 -
LM Studio Bonsai 27B generation speed 17.15 tokens/s
Lon.TV's base 16GB unit generated 17.15 tokens per second with the Bonsai 27B model in LM Studio. The reviewer notes that 16GB limits which local models fit.
LM Studio, prism-ml/bonsai-27b (MLX), five-paragraph writing prompt · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 12:22 -
Blender Classroom GPU render 25.8 s
Adam Talks Tech's M6 rendered Blender's Classroom scene on the GPU in 25.8 seconds, using the third run. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Blender Classroom scene, GPU; lower is better · Third of three runs; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 11:56 -
Time Spy stress-test stability Not available
-
4K editing behavior Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 multi-core Not available
-
Blender Classroom CPU render Not available
-
Final Cut Pro 30-minute 4K export Not available
-
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test stability Not available
-
LM Studio Bonsai 27B generation speed Not available
-
Blender Classroom GPU render Not available
-
Time Spy stress-test stability 99.6 %
Lon.TV's exact review unit passed the 3DMark Time Spy stress test at 99.6 percent, with the CPU reaching about 60 C.
3DMark Time Spy stress test · High Performance BIOS profile; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Lon.TV · 10:19 -
4K editing behavior Simple 4K60 timeline checked
A simple 4K60 DaVinci Resolve timeline played transitions without reported dropped frames, while Lon.TV cautioned that heavier effects were slower on the integrated GPU.
DaVinci Resolve timeline playback · 4K60 project; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Lon.TV · 7:28
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple -
3DMark Wild Life Extreme 15644 points
Lon.TV's base 16GB/256GB unit scored 15,644 in 3DMark Wild Life Extreme, an average of 93.7 FPS.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 7:18 -
No Man's Sky at 1080p Ultra 45 to 50 fps
Lon.TV saw roughly 45 to 50 FPS in No Man's Sky at 1080p with Ultra settings while exploring a detailed planet surface on the base 16GB unit. This is a gameplay observation, not a repeatable benchmark run.
No Man's Sky on-foot planet exploration · 1920x1080; Ultra preset; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 6:24 -
Geekbench 7 Metal GPU 84110 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 84,110 in the Geekbench Metal GPU test. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Geekbench 7 GPU, Metal · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 11:24 -
Cinebench 2026 GPU 26894 points
Adam Talks Tech's M6 scored 26,894 in Cinebench 2026 GPU. This unit had a 512GB SSD rather than the catalog's 256GB drive.
Cinebench 2026 GPU · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD; storage differs from the catalog's 256GB configuration
Adam Talks Tech · 11:30 -
Geekbench 7 Metal on an upgraded unit 90,182
Brian Tong's M6 scored 90,182 in the Geekbench 7 Metal GPU test. His unit had 32GB of memory and a 2TB SSD, so this is not the catalog's 16GB/256GB configuration.
Geekbench 7 GPU, Metal · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD
Brian Tong · 4:56 -
3DMark Time Spy Not available
-
Forza Horizon 5 Not available
-
Counter-Strike 2 Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
-
3DMark Wild Life Extreme Not available
-
No Man's Sky at 1080p Ultra Not available
-
Geekbench 7 Metal GPU Not available
-
Cinebench 2026 GPU Not available
-
Geekbench 7 Metal on an upgraded unit Not available
-
3DMark Time Spy 4375 points
Lon.TV measured 4,375 in 3DMark Time Spy on the exact K13 configuration.
3DMark Time Spy · High Performance BIOS profile; Intel Arc 140V; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Lon.TV · 9:51 -
Forza Horizon 5 89 fps
ETA PRIME reported an 89 FPS average in Forza Horizon 5 at native 1080p high without XeSS upscaling.
Forza Horizon 5 gameplay · 1920x1080; High preset; native rendering; exact 16GB/1TB configuration
ETA PRIME · 6:52 -
Counter-Strike 2 110 fps
Team Pandory observed more than 110 FPS in Counter-Strike 2 at 1080p low on its exact 16GB/1TB unit.
Counter-Strike 2 gameplay · 1920x1080; Low settings; result reported as over 110 FPS
Team Pandory · 6:19
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Fan noise under load Not audible to the reviewer
During a 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test, Lon.TV could feel airflow from the fan but could not hear it, and found the case cool to the touch afterward. No sound-level meter reading or temperature was reported.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:39 -
Balanced-mode idle temperature Not available
-
Combined stress temperature Not available
-
Fan character Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Fan noise under load Not available
-
Balanced-mode idle temperature 38 C
Team Pandory measured 38 C at idle in the Balanced profile and described the machine as whisper quiet.
Windows idle · Balanced BIOS profile; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Team Pandory · 9:41 -
Combined stress temperature 80 C
After about five minutes of combined CPU and GPU stress, Team Pandory observed the CPU settle near 80 C. The fan was louder than in normal use, but the reviewer framed this as a worst-case load.
Combined CPU and GPU stress test · Approximately five minutes; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Team Pandory · 10:20 -
Fan character Audible under load
Lon.TV also found the fan audible under load but not offensively loud, and said it did not run unnecessarily during light use. Neither review supplied a calibrated sound-pressure measurement.
Subjective fan-noise assessment · High Performance BIOS profile; measurement distance and room floor not reported
Lon.TV · 10:37
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple -
Wall power at idle 2.7 W
Lon.TV measured 2.7 W at the wall with the base 16GB/256GB unit idling at the macOS desktop with a display connected.
Idle at the macOS desktop · Plug-in power meter; external display active; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:12 -
Wall power during stress test 36.4 to 37.8 W
Lon.TV measured 36.4 to 37.8 W at the wall while the base 16GB/256GB unit ran the 3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test, which the reviewer described as loading the CPU and GPU.
3DMark Wild Life Extreme stress test · Plug-in power meter; M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 15:30 -
Balanced-mode idle wall power Not available
-
Balanced-mode gaming wall power Not available
-
Combined stress wall power Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
-
Wall power at idle Not available
-
Wall power during stress test Not available
-
Balanced-mode idle wall power 6 W
Team Pandory measured just over 6 W at the wall while the exact review unit was idle in Balanced mode.
Windows idle · Balanced BIOS profile; wall measurement; result reported as just over 6 W
Team Pandory · 9:41 -
Balanced-mode gaming wall power 36 W
The same review measured about 36 W at the wall while gaming in Balanced mode.
Game workload · Balanced BIOS profile; wall measurement; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Team Pandory · 9:54 -
Combined stress wall power 48 W
Team Pandory measured about 48 W at the wall during its combined CPU and GPU stress test.
Combined CPU and GPU stress test · Approximately five minutes; wall measurement; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Team Pandory · 10:20
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
Base 256GB SSD speed About 3,100 MB/s read; writes fall below 1,000 MB/s
In Blackmagic Disk Speed Test, Lon.TV's 256GB drive read at about 3,100 MB/s. Writes started near 1,000 MB/s and fell to roughly 340 to 800 MB/s once the cache filled. The reviewer called sustained writes the base model's main weakness.
Blackmagic Disk Speed Test · M6 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD; macOS 27.0
Lon.TV · 14:07 -
USB4 is present Not available
-
Dual-storage access Not available
-
5GbE and dual USB4 Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
Base 256GB SSD speed Not available
-
USB4 is present Yes
-
Dual-storage access 2x M.2; fixed memory
Team Pandory confirmed quick access to both M.2 slots. GMKtec rates the primary slot at PCIe 4.0 x4 and the secondary at PCIe 4.0 x2; the on-package memory cannot be replaced.
Hands-on expansion check · Exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Team Pandory · 10:38 -
5GbE and dual USB4 5GbE + 2x USB4
Lon.TV saturated the 5GbE interface in a local network transfer and confirmed both 40Gbps USB4 ports worked with Thunderbolt devices. GMKtec also specifies USB-C power input and display output on both ports.
Network and peripheral checks · Exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Lon.TV · 2:29
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple -
Manufacturer price Not available
-
Verified Amazon configuration Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Launch price Not available
-
Manufacturer price $739.99
GMKtec listed the exact US 16GB/1TB configuration at $739.99 when checked, reduced from a $949.99 compare-at price.
Manufacturer retail-price check · K13-1-34S; 16GB LPDDR5X; 1TB SSD; US variant
GMKtec -
Verified Amazon configuration B0GFSZ63YB
Amazon ASIN B0GFSZ63YB was active for the exact K13 16GB/1TB configuration from seller GMKtec-Shop when checked.
Exact retailer-variant check · K13 16+1TB; seller GMKtec-Shop
GMKtec -
Reviewer value assessment Good performance; weaker value
Lon.TV found the exact 16GB/1TB K13 nicely performing but said memory-driven pricing kept it from being the strong value similar GMKtec systems had represented earlier.
Review-date performance and price assessment · Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB LPDDR5X, 1TB SSD
Lon.TV · 11:31
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Windows image check Not available
-
Ubuntu compatibility Not available
-
Limited warranty Not available
GMKtec K13
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Windows image check Clean scans; unwanted AI app
Lon.TV reported no malware after several checks, but criticized a preinstalled Chinese-language Cherry AI assistant as unwanted software. Team Pandory independently reported clean Microsoft Defender and Malwarebytes scans while raising the same bundled-app concern.
Fresh-install malware and bundled-software check · Exact 16GB/1TB review units
Lon.TV · 5:34 -
Ubuntu compatibility Core devices worked
Lon.TV reported working video, audio, Wi-Fi, and Ethernet with a current Ubuntu release on the exact machine.
Ubuntu live-system compatibility check · Ubuntu version not named; exact 16GB/1TB review unit
Lon.TV · 11:01 -
Limited warranty 1 year
GMKtec states a one-year warranty and a seven-day return period for direct purchases. No long-term failure-rate data was found for this 2026 model.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check · GMKtec direct store
GMKtec
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
Lon.TV. Is the Base Model M6 Mac Mini All You Need?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Base M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD, and 2.5GbE; macOS 27.0
Disclosure: Lon Seidman says he bought the unit with his own money and that no one sponsored, reviewed, or approved the video before upload. The description includes a compensated Amazon affiliate link.
-
Brian Tong. M6 Mac Mini Review - Packed With Power But Is The 'Budget' Mac Dead?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 32GB memory, 2TB SSD, and 2.5GbE; $2,399 as configured
Disclosure: Brian Tong says Apple sent this unit for the review. The video does not say whether it must be returned. He earns commission on products tagged in the video.
-
Adam Talks Tech. M6 vs M5 Pro Mac mini: Real World Tests and Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 with 12-core CPU, 12-core GPU, 16GB memory, and a 512GB SSD upgrade
Disclosure: Adam does not say how he obtained the M6. B&H loaned the M5 Pro used for comparison. The description includes Amazon and B&H affiliate links.
-
GMKtec. GMKtec K13 Mini PC Intel Core Ultra 7 256V. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: K13-1-34S: Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB LPDDR5X-8533, 1TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro, US variant
Disclosure: Manufacturer product specifications, variant identity, direct price, availability, warranty, and return-policy claims.
-
Lon.TV. GMKTec K13 Mini PC Review : 5 Gig Ethernet & Intel Meteor Lake Chipset. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB LPDDR5X, 1TB SSD
Disclosure: GMKtec provided the unit free of charge. The reviewer said no other compensation was received and GMKtec did not review or approve the video. The description contains compensated affiliate links.
-
Team Pandory. This Intel Mini PC Beats 780M… Seriously [GMKtec NucBox K13 Review]. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB LPDDR5X, 1TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD
Disclosure: Product provided for review; the channel states no payment was received. The description contains affiliate links.
-
ETA PRIME. Intel FINALLY Fixed Mini PC Gaming! GMKtec K13 First Look. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB LPDDR5X, 1TB SSD
Disclosure: The video contains an unrelated URCDKeys sponsorship. The description links the exact 16GB/1TB K13 through an Amazon affiliate URL but does not state how the review unit was obtained.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
- Supports 16 GB more memory
- Has a manufacturer list price about $51 lower
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec K13
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
- Uses a smaller 0.6 liter enclosure
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | K13 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | Intel Core Ultra 7 256V |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 8 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 17 W |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | Intel Arc 140V, 8 Xe cores |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | K13 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | LPDDR5X-8533 on-package |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 16 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | K13 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 6E + Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | No |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | K13 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | 0.6 liters |
| List price | $899 | $950 |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Compact low-power gaming |