Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Silver Apple Mac mini M6 held in one hand and viewed from the front
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus shown from front and rear
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Apple Mac mini M6

12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4

2Can it handle sustained work?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes

3Can it game?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4

4Is it loud or hot?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
  • Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit Not available

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Manufacturer idle noise Not available
  • Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit

5How much electricity does it use?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable No
  • Thunderbolt is present Yes
  • Display support Up to 3 displays

7Is it good value?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Launch price $899

8Will it be dependable?

Apple Mac mini M6

  • Hardware warranty 1 year
  • Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
  • A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks Not available

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Hardware warranty Not available
  • Ubuntu detected the main devices
  • A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks

References

  1. Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD

  2. Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published

    Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.

  3. Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States

  4. GMKtec. NucBox G3 Plus specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  5. Lon.TV. My Favorite Cheap Mini PC Gets an N150 Upgrade! GMKTec G3 Plus Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 512GB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Ubuntu tested; version and firmware unconfirmed. Green review unit.

    Disclosure: Reviewer purchased the G3 Plus; no payment for the review. Compensated affiliate links disclosed.

  6. Jeff Geerling. When did Raspberry Pis get so expensive?. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / original 512GB AirDisk SSD replaced by a 1TB TeamGroup TM8FP4001T for Ubuntu 24.04 testing, Linux 6.12.3. Balanced and High Performance modes; firmware version unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: GMKtec supplied the review unit but did not pay for the video. Reviewer states no GMKtec affiliate participation; Amazon affiliate links disclosed. Supporting system configuration record: https://github.com/geerlingguy/sbc-reviews/issues/64

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6

Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Provides 2 storage slots versus 0

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationMac mini M6NucBox G3 Plus
CPUApple M6Intel N150
Cores / threads12 / 124 / 4
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphics12-core Apple GPUIntel UHD Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationMac mini M6NucBox G3 Plus
Memory typeUnified memory onboardDDR4-3200 SO-DIMM
Maximum memory32 GB32 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots02

Connectivity

SpecificationMac mini M6NucBox G3 Plus
Ethernet2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE1 x 2.5GbE, Intel i226-V
WirelessWi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6Realtek 8852BE Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltYesNo

Size and price

SpecificationMac mini M6NucBox G3 Plus
Enclosure volume0.81 litersNot published
List price$899Not published
Product classmacOS mini desktopNot assigned