Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec NucBox K11
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K11
Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black chassis / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Wireless worked in Robtech’s test Not available
-
Wi-Fi struggled in Team Pandory’s test Not available
-
Batocera 41 connected to wireless devices Not available
GMKtec NucBox K11
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Wireless worked in Robtech’s test
Robtech reported working Bluetooth and a full Valorant session over 5GHz Wi-Fi without network warnings. His router was about 12 metres away. He cautioned that one successful sample does not establish consistent wireless performance across units.
Robtech · 8:09 -
Wi-Fi struggled in Team Pandory’s test
Team Pandory could not complete an online speed test using the original Intel AX200 wireless card in his setup. Replacing it with a MediaTek RZ616 allowed the test to run. This differs from Robtech’s experience; their networks and units were not tested under identical conditions.
Team Pandory · 15:22 -
Batocera 41 connected to wireless devices
Team Pandory reported that Batocera 41 booted, connected to the local Wi-Fi network and paired with a Bluetooth controller. This checks basic connectivity on that review unit, not sustained wireless throughput or every Linux distribution.
Team Pandory · 10:03
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
GMKtec. NucBox K11 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black chassis / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. GMKtec's Best Mini Yet! K11 Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB Crucial NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
Team Pandory. Uncovering the GMKtec K11: Ryzen 9 8945HS Performance, Flaws & Fixes!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 8945HS / 32GB (2 × 16GB) Crucial DDR5-5600 / 1TB Crucial P3 Plus / Windows 11 Pro 23H2; Batocera 41 also tested. Firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K11
- Supports 64 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 780M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 2 × 2.5GbE, Intel I226V |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Intel AX200 Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K11 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |