Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec NucBox K15
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K15
Core Ultra 5 125U / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray and black / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
Opening the case requires care around the fan cable Not available
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
Opening the case requires care around the fan cable
Team Pandory demonstrated removing the feet, metal cover and case screws to reach the replaceable memory and SSDs. The upper fan remains connected to the mainboard as the case opens, so the cable needs care during access.
Team Pandory · 12:02
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
-
Batocera 42 connected to Wi-Fi and a controller Not available
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Ubuntu detected the main devices
Lon.TV reported working video, audio, Bluetooth, networking and Wi-Fi during an Ubuntu test on his 32GB/1TB K15. The distribution version was not specified, so this does not establish compatibility with every Linux release.
Lon.TV · 9:02 -
Batocera 42 connected to Wi-Fi and a controller
Team Pandory reported that Batocera 42 booted and connected to Wi-Fi and a Bluetooth controller on his 48GB/1TB K15. This is a basic compatibility check on that configuration.
Team Pandory · 9:44
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
GMKtec. NucBox K15 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 125U / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray and black / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. GMKTec K15 Mini PC Review - The "Toyota Camry" Mini PC With Plenty of Upgrade Options. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 125U / 32GB DDR5-4800 / 1TB NVMe SSD. Windows edition and firmware version unconfirmed; Ubuntu version unspecified. Performance mode used.
Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.
-
Team Pandory. This Mini PC Runs Shockingly Cool and Quiet [GMKTEC K15 Review]. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 125U / 48GB DDR5-4800 / 1TB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro; Batocera 42 also tested. Firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K15
- Supports 64 GB more memory
- Provides 3 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | Intel Core Ultra 5 125U |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 12 / 14 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | Intel Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5 SO-DIMM; up to 5600 MT/s supported |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 3 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | MediaTek RZ616 / MT7922 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |