Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec NucBox K16
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K16
Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode Not available
-
Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2 Not available
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode
Team Pandory found the fan loud during gaming in Balanced mode on his 32GB/512GB K16, with more noise in Performance mode. This is an attributed observation, not a standardized noise measurement.
Team Pandory · 11:27 -
Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2
Mash IT said he hardly noticed the fan while playing Dota 2 in Performance mode on his 32GB/1TB K16. His result differs from Team Pandory's load test; firmware and room conditions were not established as equivalent.
Mash IT · 8:07
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple -
Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock Not available
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
-
Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock
Mash IT unplugged the barrel power supply and powered the K16 from a 100W USB-C dock. This verifies that connection in his setup; it does not establish compatibility with every dock or sustained performance at every power limit.
Mash IT · 9:53
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Hardware warranty Not available
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
GMKtec. NucBox K16 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Team Pandory. GMKtec K16 Review: Premium Ryzen 7 Mini PC w/ Oculink. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 512GB PCIe 3.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro 24H2. Balanced and Performance modes tested; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.
-
Mash IT. GMKtec NucBox K16 - An affordable PC in 2026!!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 1TB SSD. Windows edition and firmware version unconfirmed; Performance mode used for Dota 2.
Disclosure: Affiliate links disclosed; review-unit acquisition unconfirmed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K16
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K16 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen 7 7735HS |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 680M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K16 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | LPDDR5-6400 onboard |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 32 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K16 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | MediaTek RZ616 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K16 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |