Apple Mac mini M6 vs GMKtec NucBox K17
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K17
Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X / 1TB SSD / black / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Included SSD ran hot during sustained stress Not available
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Included SSD ran hot during sustained stress
Robtech found the included 1TB eKit Store SSD reached thermal-throttling territory when he stressed the CPU and SSD together for an extended period. This concern applies to his drive and test conditions; it is not a normalized temperature result.
Robtech · 9:56
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
A supplied BIOS update fixed inconsistent performance Not available
-
Batocera 43 connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Not available
GMKtec NucBox K17
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
A supplied BIOS update fixed inconsistent performance
Robtech reported large performance changes between power cycles on his review unit. He said a BIOS supplied by GMKtec, dated August 13, fixed the issue. This records his result; the installed firmware on current retail units is unconfirmed.
Robtech · 3:05 -
Batocera 43 connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Team Pandory booted Batocera 43 from USB and reported working Wi-Fi and an 8BitDo Pro 3 Bluetooth controller on his 16GB/512GB unit. This is a basic compatibility check for that configuration.
Team Pandory · 10:27
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
GMKtec. NucBox K17 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X / 1TB SSD / black / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. One of Their Best Mini PCs Yet, BUT...GMKtec K17 Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X-8533 / 1TB eKit Store PCIe 4.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Reviewer tested a supplied August 13 BIOS update; Balanced and Performance modes.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
Team Pandory. This $559 Mini PC Has Surprisingly Powerful Graphics! [GMKTEC K17 Review]. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 226V / 16GB LPDDR5X-8533 / 512GB PCIe 4.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro; Batocera 43. Firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
- Supports 16 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K17
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | Intel Core Ultra 5 226V |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 8 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | Intel Arc 130V |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | LPDDR5X, up to 8533 MT/s, onboard |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 16 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 1 x 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | NucBox K17 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |