Apple Mac mini M6 vs MINISFORUM AI X1
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Mac mini M6
12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
MINISFORUM AI X1
Ryzen 7 255 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / silver chassis / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Up to 1.5x vs. M4
Apple reports up to 1.5 times faster Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations than its M4 comparison system. This is a manufacturer result, not an independent measurement of the base configuration.
Microsoft Excel spreadsheet calculations · Apple preproduction testing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Manufacturer productivity claim Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Dedicated media engines H.264, HEVC, and ProRes
The M6 includes dedicated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAW encode and decode hardware. This confirms workload support but is not a sustained-performance test.
Video encode and decode capability · M6 media engine
Apple
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Dedicated media engines Not available
3Can it game?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Up to 2x vs. M4
Apple reports up to twice the ray-traced gaming performance of its M4 comparison system in Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition. Apple did not publish an FPS result or an exact M6 test configuration.
Cyberpunk 2077: Ultimate Edition · Apple preproduction testing; ray tracing; exact M6 test configuration not published
Apple
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Manufacturer ray-tracing claim Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Manufacturer idle noise 5 dBA
Apple lists a typical operator-position sound pressure level of 5 dBA at idle.
System idle · Operator position; manufacturer acoustical test
Apple -
Fan noise did not intrude during review Not available
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Manufacturer idle noise Not available
-
Fan noise did not intrude during review
Mr. Sujano described the fans as audible but unobtrusive during his use of the Ryzen 7 255 model. This is his subjective experience, without a comparable sound-pressure measurement.
Mr. Sujano · 7:40
5How much electricity does it use?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Maximum continuous power 155 W maximum
Apple specifies a 155 W maximum continuous power rating for the current Mac mini chassis. This is a design limit, not typical wall-power consumption.
Manufacturer electrical rating · 100-240 V AC input
Apple
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Maximum continuous power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable No
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Display support Up to 3 displays
The M6 model supports up to three external displays through its Thunderbolt 4 and HDMI ports.
Manufacturer display-support check · M6 Mac mini
Apple -
OCuLink takes the second SSD slot Not available
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Display support Not available
-
OCuLink takes the second SSD slot
Robtech installed the supplied M.2-to-OCuLink adapter in the second storage slot. Using that adapter leaves room for one internal M.2 SSD in the reviewed AI X1.
Robtech · 3:54
7Is it good value?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Launch price $899
Apple launched the base M6 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 256GB SSD at $899 in the United States.
Manufacturer launch-price check · M6, 16GB unified memory, 256GB SSD
Apple
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Launch price Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Apple Mac mini M6
-
Hardware warranty 1 year
Apple's U.S. limited warranty covers Mac hardware against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the original retail purchase date.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
Apple -
Protective film left on a thermal pad Not available
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Protective film left on a thermal pad
Robtech found protective plastic still covering a memory/storage thermal pad in his review sample and left it in place for his thermal tests. This is a fault observed on that unit, not an established failure rate.
Robtech · 3:35
References
-
Apple. Apple technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: 12-core CPU and GPU, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD
-
Apple. Apple unveils a more powerful Mac mini featuring the all-new M6 and M5 Pro. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: M6 Mac mini; Apple performance claims use preproduction systems whose exact M6 configuration is not published
Disclosure: Manufacturer launch announcement and manufacturer-conducted testing.
-
Apple. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty – Mac. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Apple-branded Mac hardware sold in the United States
-
MINISFORUM. AI X1 specifications and US configurations. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 255 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / silver chassis / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. The Most Requested Mini PC Review - Minisforum AI X1. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 H 255 / 32GB Crucial DDR5-5600 / 1TB Kingston PCIe 4 SSD / Windows 11 Pro; firmware unconfirmed. OCuLink adapter installed during review.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied a free review sample; affiliate links disclosed.
-
Mr. Sujano. Mini PC that packs a Punch: minisforum AI X1 review - AMD Ryzen 7 255. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 255 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows; OS edition, firmware and installed memory layout unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Reviewer says MINISFORUM sent the unit; affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Apple Mac mini M6
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM AI X1
- Supports 32 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 0
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen 7 255 |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 12 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | 12-core Apple GPU | AMD Radeon 780M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Unified memory onboard | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 64 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 0 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE; configurable to 10GbE | 1 × 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6 | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Mac mini M6 | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.81 liters | Not published |
| List price | $899 | Not published |
| Product class | macOS mini desktop | Not assigned |