ASUS NUC 15 Pro+ vs Framework Desktop DIY Edition
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
Core Ultra 9 285H / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Home / US SKU
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points
Level1Techs measured 2,876 in Geekbench 6 single-core on Framework's 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; reviewer-installed storage and operating system
Level1Techs · 32:26
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
Level1Techs measured 16,987 in Geekbench 6 multi-core on the same 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; reviewer-installed storage and operating system
Level1Techs · 32:26 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points
Salem Techsperts reported about 35,000 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core on its 128GB press sample.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; Windows 11 Pro; single run shown in the review
Salem Techsperts · 20:29
3Can it game?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
Salem Techsperts measured a 78.44 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite at 1440p high with FSR 3 Balanced.
Cyberpunk 2077 built-in benchmark · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; 128GB review sample
Salem Techsperts · 16:56 -
Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps
The same reviewer measured a 92.71 FPS average after installing Windows 11 with the otherwise matching settings.
Cyberpunk 2077 built-in benchmark · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Windows 11; 128GB review sample
Salem Techsperts · 17:14
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Performance mode was loud in the review
Robtech found Balanced-mode fan noise tolerable but Performance mode too loud for his preference. His loan unit used the 285H and 32GB memory; this is an attributed listening impression, not a standardized noise measurement.
Robtech · 11:19 -
Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
-
Fan behavior Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Performance mode was loud in the review Not available
-
Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
Salem Techsperts reported that the APU stayed at or below 60 C during its 1440p Cyberpunk test.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; reviewer-selected 120mm fan; reported ceiling rather than an instrumented average
Salem Techsperts · 17:05 -
Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
Salem Techsperts said its selected 120mm fan was often stopped or inaudible in lighter use and was difficult to hear during gaming. Noise was not measured with a sound meter.
Subjective fan-noise assessment · 128GB press sample; reviewer-selected fan; measurement distance and ambient floor not reported
Salem Techsperts · 18:35
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Cyberpunk system power Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk system power 100 W
Salem Techsperts reported about 100 W of system power during its Bazzite Cyberpunk test, but did not fully document the measurement point.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; 128GB review sample; wall-versus-telemetry method not specified
Salem Techsperts · 17:05
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB-C monitor did not power the review unit
Robtech could not start the mini PC using his USB-C monitor and used the supplied barrel-jack adapter. The monitor model and power budget were not specified.
Robtech · 1:27 -
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Standard parts and expansion Not available
-
Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB-C monitor did not power the review unit Not available
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
Framework uses a standard Mini-ITX board footprint, FlexATX power supply, 120mm CPU fan mount, two M.2 2280 slots, and two front Expansion Card bays. The CPU and memory remain soldered.
Manufacturer expansion check · Framework Desktop DIY Edition
Framework -
Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter
Salem Techsperts verified one M.2 slot on each side of the motherboard and demonstrated that the PCIe 4.0 x4 slot can host an inexpensive NVMe adapter for a third drive.
Hands-on teardown and expansion check · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage
Salem Techsperts · 9:44
7Is it good value?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Current DIY system price Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
Framework listed the Max+ 395 with 128GB of fixed memory for $3,449 when checked. That selection includes no storage or operating system; a fan, power cable, and 21 front tiles must also be selected or supplied by the buyer.
Manufacturer configurator price check · Max+ 395 - 128GB system selection; no storage; no OS
Framework -
Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI
Salem Techsperts characterized the price as an early-adopter premium but still considered the system one of the more affordable effective consumer options for running large language models locally.
Review-date local-AI value assessment · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage
Salem Techsperts · 23:33
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
-
Ubuntu worked in a basic compatibility check
Robtech said Ubuntu worked on his loan sample. He did not specify the distribution version or kernel, so this does not establish compatibility for every Linux installation.
Robtech · 3:08 -
Limited warranty Not available
-
Replaceable components Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Ubuntu worked in a basic compatibility check Not available
-
Limited warranty 1 year included
Framework includes a one-year limited warranty with the DIY configuration and offers a paid three-year option in its configurator.
Manufacturer warranty check · US DIY configuration
Framework -
Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory
Salem Techsperts found the internal components clearly labeled and the storage, fan, power supply, case parts, and mainboard accessible, while emphasizing that the processor and memory cannot be replaced separately from the board.
Hands-on teardown · 128GB press sample
Salem Techsperts · 3:57
References
-
ASUS. NUC 15 Pro+ specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: NUC15CRS family, Core Ultra 9 285H option; exact US retail configuration linked in manufacturer notes.
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. The FASTEST Intel Mini PC Is Here! ASUS NUC 15 Pro Plus Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285H / 32GB DDR5-6400 CSO-DIMM; DDR5-5600 also tested / Micron SSD, capacity unconfirmed / Windows 11 Pro; Ubuntu version unconfirmed. Balanced and Performance modes; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Loan review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000
Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.
-
Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system
Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.
-
Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems
Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.
-
Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS NUC 15 Pro+
Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition
- Supports 32 GB more memory
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | NUC 15 Pro+ | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core Ultra 9 285H | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 16 | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | 65 W | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | Intel Arc 140T | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHz |
Memory and storage
| Specification | NUC 15 Pro+ | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-6400 | LPDDR5X-8000 onboard |
| Maximum memory | 96 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | No |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | NUC 15 Pro+ | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 x 2.5GbE, Intel I226-V | 5GbE |
| Wireless | Intel BE201 Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 | Wi-Fi 7 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | No |
Size and price
| Specification | NUC 15 Pro+ | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | 4.5 liters |
| List price | Not published | $3,449 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Repairable local-AI workstation |