ASUS NUC 16 vs GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS NUC 16
Core 7 350, 32GB DDR5, 1TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro, EU power cord
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Processor configuration 6 cores / 6 threads
Intel specifies two performance cores and four low-power efficiency cores for the Core 7 350, with six total threads and a maximum turbo frequency of 4.8 GHz. This describes the processor, not measured NUC 16 performance.
Manufacturer processor specification · Intel Core 7 350
Intel
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Processor configuration Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Chassis power configuration 28 W cTDP
ASUS configures the Core 7 350 at 28 W in the NUC 16. Intel lists 15 W processor base power and 35 W maximum turbo power, but these ratings do not predict sustained application performance.
Manufacturer power-profile check · ASUS NUC 16 with Core 7 350
ASUS
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Chassis power configuration Not available
3Can it game?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Integrated graphics 2 Xe cores
The Core 7 350 includes Intel Graphics with two Xe cores and a maximum dynamic frequency of 2.6 GHz. No independent gaming result for this exact NUC 16 configuration was available when checked.
Manufacturer graphics specification · Core 7 350 integrated graphics
Intel
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Integrated graphics Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Exact-model measurements unavailable Not independently measured
ASUS does not publish operating noise or exact-chassis thermal measurements for this configuration, and the broad review search found no independent hands-on test of the Core 7 350 NUC 16. NUC 16 Pro results are not substituted.
Exact-model evidence check · RNUC16WCKC7094C2
ASUS -
Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit Not available
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Exact-model measurements unavailable Not available
-
Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit
Jeff Geerling reported overheating and inconsistent results in a 7-Zip benchmark on his review unit. Repasting did not fully resolve his concern; removing the cover and adding airflow let him complete consistent comparisons. His later benchmark results use that modified cooling setup.
Jeff Geerling · 7:31
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Power adapter rating 90 W adapter
ASUS supplies a 90 W external adapter. That is the adapter capacity, not measured idle or load wall power.
Manufacturer electrical specification · 19 V DC, 4.74 A adapter
ASUS
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Power adapter rating Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Single memory and storage slots 1 memory slot / 1 storage slot
The chassis has one CSO-DIMM-compatible memory slot, populated by a 32GB DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM in this SKU, and one M.2 2280 PCIe 4.0 x4 storage slot occupied by the 1TB SSD.
Configuration and expansion check · RNUC16WCKC7094C2
Geizhals -
Display support Up to 3 displays
ASUS provides two HDMI 2.1 TMDS outputs and one Thunderbolt 4 port with DisplayPort 2.1; Intel specifies support for up to three displays from the processor.
Manufacturer display-support check · Core 7 350 NUC 16
ASUS
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Single memory and storage slots Not available
-
Display support Not available
7Is it good value?
ASUS NUC 16
-
US price unavailable US MSRP unavailable
The exact 32GB/1TB configuration is a European-market SKU, and ASUS does not publish a US MSRP for it. The catalog does not convert European retailer pricing into a US list price.
Regional configuration and price check · RNUC16WCKC7094C2 / 90AS00T1-M000V0
Geizhals
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
US price unavailable Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS NUC 16
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that NUC products purchased from authorized distributors include a three-year limited warranty covering the hardware supplied in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
ASUS -
Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
-
A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks Not available
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Ubuntu detected the main devices
Lon.TV reported working display, audio, Wi-Fi, Ethernet and Bluetooth after installing Ubuntu on his 16GB/512GB G3 Plus. The Ubuntu version was not specified, so this is limited to his tested setup.
Lon.TV · 10:32 -
A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks
Jeff Geerling could not run some GPU benchmarks with his initial Ubuntu setup. Updating to Linux 6.12 enabled GLMark2 and GravityMark. His published system record identifies Ubuntu 24.04 with kernel 6.12.3 and a replacement SSD.
Jeff Geerling · 6:01
References
-
ASUS. ASUS NUC 16 technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC 16 family with Core 7 350, Core 5 320, or Core 3 304 and regional preconfigured options
Disclosure: Manufacturer family specifications.
-
Geizhals. ASUS NUC 16 RNUC16WCKC7094C2 product record. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: RNUC16WCKC7094C2 / 90AS00T1-M000V0: Core 7 350, 32GB DDR5-5600, 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD, Windows 11 Pro, EU power cord
Disclosure: Regional retailer and price-comparison configuration record; not used as benchmark evidence.
-
Intel. Intel Core 7 processor 350 specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Intel Core 7 processor 350
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
GMKtec. NucBox G3 Plus specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. My Favorite Cheap Mini PC Gets an N150 Upgrade! GMKTec G3 Plus Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 512GB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Ubuntu tested; version and firmware unconfirmed. Green review unit.
Disclosure: Reviewer purchased the G3 Plus; no payment for the review. Compensated affiliate links disclosed.
-
Jeff Geerling. When did Raspberry Pis get so expensive?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / original 512GB AirDisk SSD replaced by a 1TB TeamGroup TM8FP4001T for Ubuntu 24.04 testing, Linux 6.12.3. Balanced and High Performance modes; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GMKtec supplied the review unit but did not pay for the video. Reviewer states no GMKtec affiliate participation; Amazon affiliate links disclosed. Supporting system configuration record: https://github.com/geerlingguy/sbc-reviews/issues/64
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS NUC 16
- Supports 32 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 1
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | NUC 16 | NucBox G3 Plus |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core 7 350 | Intel N150 |
| Cores / threads | 6 / 6 | 4 / 4 |
| Processor default TDP | 15 W | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | Intel Graphics, 2 Xe cores | Intel UHD Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | NUC 16 | NucBox G3 Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM | DDR4-3200 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 32 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 1 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | NUC 16 | NucBox G3 Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | Dual Intel I226-V 2.5GbE | 1 x 2.5GbE, Intel i226-V |
| Wireless | Intel Wi-Fi 7 BE211 + Bluetooth 6.0 | Realtek 8852BE Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | No |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | No |
Size and price
| Specification | NUC 16 | NucBox G3 Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.71 liters | Not published |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Everyday business desktops | Not assigned |