ASUS NUC 16 Pro vs GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
Core Ultra X9 378H, 64GB LPDDR5x, no storage
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Single-core performance Among the reviewer's top results
Robtech placed the Core Ultra X7 review unit among the fastest systems in the reviewer's Cinebench single-core comparison, roughly level with the Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 result in that chart.
Cinebench single-core · Balanced mode; Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 6:28
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Single-core performance Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Multi-core power-mode delta Under 2.5% faster
In Robtech's Cinebench multi-core test, Performance mode improved the Core Ultra X7 review unit by just under 2.5% over its factory Balanced mode.
Cinebench multi-core · Performance mode compared with factory Balanced mode; Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 7:00
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Multi-core power-mode delta Not available
3Can it game?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 70 fps
Level1Techs reported 70 FPS with a 36 FPS 1% low at 1080p using the high preset.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider benchmark · 1080p high; Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Level1Techs · 11:36
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Maximum CPU temperature 99 °C
The Core Ultra X7 review unit reached 99 degrees Celsius in both tested power modes.
Maximum CPU load · Default and performance modes
Robtech · 14:25 -
All-core load noise 46 dBA
Robtech reported a maximum of 46 dBA with all CPU cores under load.
All-core CPU load · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 14:48 -
Fan setting also changes performance Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Maximum CPU temperature Not available
-
All-core load noise Not available
-
Fan setting also changes performance
Robtech showed the BIOS Fan Policy setting and reported that it changes the performance profile as well as fan behavior. His observations apply to the firmware on his review unit.
Robtech · 6:53
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Idle wall power 9 W
Robtech reported 9 W at idle for the Core Ultra X7 review unit.
Windows desktop idle · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 14:03 -
Maximum wall power 115 W
Robtech reported just over 100 W in the default mode and 115 W with performance mode enabled.
Maximum system load · Performance mode; default mode reported separately as just over 100 W
Robtech · 14:08
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Idle wall power Not available
-
Maximum wall power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB4 is present Yes
-
Different processor tested
Robtech tested the NUC 16 Pro with a Core Ultra X7 358H, not the catalog configuration's Core Ultra X9 378H.
Review-unit identification · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 1:23 -
Review-unit memory 8533 MT/s
The review unit had 64 GB of soldered LPDDR5x memory running at 8,533 MT/s.
Hardware inspection · 64 GB onboard memory
Robtech · 4:56 -
Tool-free access
Robtech showed the chassis opening with a lever and no tools, with cooling provided for both M.2 slots.
Internal inspection
Robtech · 4:38 -
Care when opening the case Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB4 is present Not available
-
Different processor tested Not available
-
Review-unit memory Not available
-
Tool-free access Not available
-
Care when opening the case
Lon.TV showed that opening his A5 Pro pulled a Wi-Fi antenna connector loose. He could reconnect it, but found the small plug difficult to reach. Take care with the antenna leads when accessing the memory or SSD.
Lon.TV · 1:47
7Is it good value?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
US price not published US MSRP unavailable
ASUS identifies the exact NUC16GDKW9 configuration on its US specifications page but does not publish a US MSRP there, so the catalog does not assign a value score or convert a foreign-market price.
Manufacturer US pricing check · NUC16GDKW9, Core Ultra X9 378H, 64GB onboard memory, no storage or OS
ASUS -
Reviewer value assessment Hard to justify on value
Robtech called the reviewed Core Ultra X7 configuration difficult to justify on value at its stated $1,700 price unless the buyer specifically wants leading-edge performance. This assessment is for the X7 review unit, not the catalog's X9 configuration.
Review-date price and value assessment · Core Ultra X7 358H, 64GB LPDDR5x-8533, Samsung PCIe 5.0 SSD of unstated capacity
Robtech · 17:37
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
US price not published Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that NUC products purchased from authorized distributors include a three-year limited warranty covering the hardware supplied in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
ASUS -
Linux support Current Linux kernel recommended
Level1Techs described current-kernel Linux support as a first-class experience and showed a Thunderbolt external GPU working plug-and-play.
Linux compatibility and Thunderbolt eGPU check · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Level1Techs · 16:09 -
Fedora and Debian installation Not available
-
Debian installer recognized both network adapters Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Linux support Not available
-
Fedora and Debian installation
Learn Linux TV installed Fedora 43 and Debian 13 on his 16GB/1TB A5 Pro and reported working hardware, including Wi-Fi, after installation. This records his March 2026 checks; compatibility can change with software and firmware.
Learn Linux TV · 7:19 -
Debian installer recognized both network adapters
Platima Tinkers demonstrates Debian 13.3 installation and reports that both network controllers were detected by the installer. He selects Ethernet for setup, then demonstrates the Cinnamon desktop. This is not a check of every wireless feature or Linux distribution.
Platima Tinkers · 18:47
References
-
ASUS. ASUS USA technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: NUC16GDKW9, Core Ultra X9 378H, 64GB LPDDR5x, no storage or operating system
-
Robtech. Intel's Panther Lake is HERE! ASUS NUC 16 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra X7 358H, 64GB LPDDR5x-8533, Samsung PCIe 5.0 SSD of unstated capacity
Disclosure: Robtech identified the review unit as a manufacturer loan in the video description.
-
Level1Techs. A Panther Lake Mini PC: The Asus Nuc Pro 16 Benchmark and Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra X7 358H, 64GB onboard LPDDR5x, 1TB Samsung SSD
Disclosure: Level1Techs did not state how the review unit was acquired.
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
GEEKOM. A5 Pro 2026 Edition specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. What a sub $500 Mini PC looks like these days: GEEKOM A5 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / Windows 11; SSD capacity and firmware not established. Video discusses a 512GB offer.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied unit free of charge; no other compensation or advance approval disclosed. Affiliate links.
-
Learn Linux TV. Can the Geekom A5 Pro Run Linux? Full Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB RAM / 1TB NVMe / Windows 11 Pro replaced for Fedora 43 and Debian 13 tests; firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied review unit; affiliate links disclosed.
-
Robtech. Upgrade or Side grade? GEEKOM A5 PRO (2026) Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 1TB WD Black SN750 / Windows 11 Pro; firmware release unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free manufacturer review sample; affiliate and coupon links.
-
Platima Tinkers. Is a Mini PC Better Than an SBC? GEEKOM A5 Pro Part 2: Teardown, Debian & Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 in two 8GB modules / 1TB SSD. BIOS NUCBC02 2.42, EC 1.16. Debian 13.3 Cinnamon and a fresh Windows 11 installation; Windows edition/build unconfirmed.
Disclosure: YouTube paid-promotion notice, affiliate links and manufacturer coupon disclosed. Exact unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS NUC 16 Pro
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
- Uses a smaller 0.47 liter enclosure
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core Ultra X9 378H | AMD Ryzen 5 7530U |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 16 | 6 / 12 |
| Processor default TDP | 25 W | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | Intel Arc B390 | AMD Radeon Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5x-8533 onboard | DDR4 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 64 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | Dual 2.5GbE | 1 × 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6.0 | Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | No |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.71 liters | 0.47 liters |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Business mini PC | Not assigned |