ASUS NUC 16 Pro vs MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
Core Ultra X9 378H, 64GB LPDDR5x, no storage
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
Core Ultra 9 386H / 16GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Single-core performance Among the reviewer's top results
Robtech placed the Core Ultra X7 review unit among the fastest systems in the reviewer's Cinebench single-core comparison, roughly level with the Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 result in that chart.
Cinebench single-core · Balanced mode; Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 6:28
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Single-core performance Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Multi-core power-mode delta Under 2.5% faster
In Robtech's Cinebench multi-core test, Performance mode improved the Core Ultra X7 review unit by just under 2.5% over its factory Balanced mode.
Cinebench multi-core · Performance mode compared with factory Balanced mode; Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 7:00
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Multi-core power-mode delta Not available
3Can it game?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 70 fps
Level1Techs reported 70 FPS with a 36 FPS 1% low at 1080p using the high preset.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider benchmark · 1080p high; Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Level1Techs · 11:36
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Maximum CPU temperature 99 °C
The Core Ultra X7 review unit reached 99 degrees Celsius in both tested power modes.
Maximum CPU load · Default and performance modes
Robtech · 14:25 -
All-core load noise 46 dBA
Robtech reported a maximum of 46 dBA with all CPU cores under load.
All-core CPU load · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 14:48
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Maximum CPU temperature Not available
-
All-core load noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Idle wall power 9 W
Robtech reported 9 W at idle for the Core Ultra X7 review unit.
Windows desktop idle · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 14:03 -
Maximum wall power 115 W
Robtech reported just over 100 W in the default mode and 115 W with performance mode enabled.
Maximum system load · Performance mode; default mode reported separately as just over 100 W
Robtech · 14:08
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Idle wall power Not available
-
Maximum wall power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB4 is present Yes
-
Different processor tested
Robtech tested the NUC 16 Pro with a Core Ultra X7 358H, not the catalog configuration's Core Ultra X9 378H.
Review-unit identification · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Robtech · 1:23 -
Review-unit memory 8533 MT/s
The review unit had 64 GB of soldered LPDDR5x memory running at 8,533 MT/s.
Hardware inspection · 64 GB onboard memory
Robtech · 4:56 -
Tool-free access
Robtech showed the chassis opening with a lever and no tools, with cooling provided for both M.2 slots.
Internal inspection
Robtech · 4:38 -
Security lock also restricts bottom access Not available
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
USB4 is present Not available
-
Different processor tested Not available
-
Review-unit memory Not available
-
Tool-free access Not available
-
Security lock also restricts bottom access
Level1Techs showed that the Kensington lock opening also secures the bottom cover, restricting access to memory and storage. The reviewed unit had 32GB memory rather than this SKU’s 16GB.
Level1Techs · 1:13
7Is it good value?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
US price not published US MSRP unavailable
ASUS identifies the exact NUC16GDKW9 configuration on its US specifications page but does not publish a US MSRP there, so the catalog does not assign a value score or convert a foreign-market price.
Manufacturer US pricing check · NUC16GDKW9, Core Ultra X9 378H, 64GB onboard memory, no storage or OS
ASUS -
Reviewer value assessment Hard to justify on value
Robtech called the reviewed Core Ultra X7 configuration difficult to justify on value at its stated $1,700 price unless the buyer specifically wants leading-edge performance. This assessment is for the X7 review unit, not the catalog's X9 configuration.
Review-date price and value assessment · Core Ultra X7 358H, 64GB LPDDR5x-8533, Samsung PCIe 5.0 SSD of unstated capacity
Robtech · 17:37
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
US price not published Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS NUC 16 Pro
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that NUC products purchased from authorized distributors include a three-year limited warranty covering the hardware supplied in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
ASUS -
Linux support Current Linux kernel recommended
Level1Techs described current-kernel Linux support as a first-class experience and showed a Thunderbolt external GPU working plug-and-play.
Linux compatibility and Thunderbolt eGPU check · Core Ultra X7 358H review unit
Level1Techs · 16:09 -
Network boot stack was disabled by default Not available
MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Linux support Not available
-
Network boot stack was disabled by default
Level1Techs showed the UEFI network stack disabled in BIOS EB211IMS.1A20 and explained that it must be enabled for network boot. Firmware defaults can change.
Level1Techs · 8:17
References
-
ASUS. ASUS USA technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: NUC16GDKW9, Core Ultra X9 378H, 64GB LPDDR5x, no storage or operating system
-
Robtech. Intel's Panther Lake is HERE! ASUS NUC 16 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra X7 358H, 64GB LPDDR5x-8533, Samsung PCIe 5.0 SSD of unstated capacity
Disclosure: Robtech identified the review unit as a manufacturer loan in the video description.
-
Level1Techs. A Panther Lake Mini PC: The Asus Nuc Pro 16 Benchmark and Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra X7 358H, 64GB onboard LPDDR5x, 1TB Samsung SSD
Disclosure: Level1Techs did not state how the review unit was acquired.
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
MSI. Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG US SKU specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 386H / 16GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Level1Techs. Finally! Panther Lake! A Quick Look at the Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 386H / 32GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB Phison SSD / Windows 11 Pro. BIOS EB211IMS.1A20 dated March 4, 2026 shown. Power profile unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Reviewer thanks MSI for access to the hardware; whether the unit was loaned or retained is unclear. Affiliate link disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS NUC 16 Pro
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 1
Higher listed specifications for MSI Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG
- Supports 32 GB more memory
- Uses a smaller 0.51 liter enclosure
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core Ultra X9 378H | Intel Core Ultra 9 386H |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 16 | 16 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | 25 W | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | Intel Arc B390 | Intel Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5x-8533 onboard | DDR5 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 1 |
Connectivity
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | Dual 2.5GbE | 2 x Intel I226-V 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 6.0 | Wi-Fi 7; adapter model and Bluetooth version unconfirmed for this SKU |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Yes |
Size and price
| Specification | NUC 16 Pro | Cubi NUC AI+ 3MG |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.71 liters | 0.51 liters |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Business mini PC | Not assigned |