ASUS ROG GR70 vs GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS ROG GR70
Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop / 32GB DDR5 / 2TB SSD / Windows 11 Home
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS ROG GR70
Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS ROG GR70
Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Not available
3Can it game?
ASUS ROG GR70
Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Turbo mode was too loud for the reviewer
Robtech found the default profile acceptable but the highest-performance mode too loud for his preference. His sample had 64GB memory and a PCIe 5.0 SSD. This is an attributed listening impression.
Robtech · 7:56 -
NerdNest found it generally quiet
NerdNest found the GR70 generally quiet, while acknowledging audible fans under heavy load. He said he left it in Turbo mode. This differs from Robtech’s impression; test conditions and the conflicting memory descriptions prevent a direct noise comparison.
NerdNest · 8:54 -
Fan setting also changes performance Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Turbo mode was too loud for the reviewer Not available
-
NerdNest found it generally quiet Not available
-
Fan setting also changes performance
Robtech showed the BIOS Fan Policy setting and reported that it changes the performance profile as well as fan behavior. His observations apply to the firmware on his review unit.
Robtech · 6:53
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS ROG GR70
Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Second SSD slot lacked a thermal pad
Robtech found cooling on the populated PCIe 5.0 slot, but no thermal pad on the second PCIe 4.0 slot in his 64GB review unit.
Robtech · 2:40 -
Care when opening the case Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Second SSD slot lacked a thermal pad Not available
-
Care when opening the case
Lon.TV showed that opening his A5 Pro pulled a Wi-Fi antenna connector loose. He could reconnect it, but found the small plug difficult to reach. Take care with the antenna leads when accessing the memory or SSD.
Lon.TV · 1:47
7Is it good value?
ASUS ROG GR70
Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS ROG GR70
-
Ubuntu connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Robtech reported working wireless and Bluetooth in an Ubuntu check on his review configuration. The Ubuntu version, kernel and firmware were not specified.
Robtech · 3:17 -
Fedora and Debian installation Not available
-
Debian installer recognized both network adapters Not available
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Ubuntu connected to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Not available
-
Fedora and Debian installation
Learn Linux TV installed Fedora 43 and Debian 13 on his 16GB/1TB A5 Pro and reported working hardware, including Wi-Fi, after installation. This records his March 2026 checks; compatibility can change with software and firmware.
Learn Linux TV · 7:19 -
Debian installer recognized both network adapters
Platima Tinkers demonstrates Debian 13.3 installation and reports that both network controllers were detected by the installer. He selects Ethernet for setup, then demonstrates the Cinnamon desktop. This is not a check of every wireless feature or Linux distribution.
Platima Tinkers · 18:47
References
-
ASUS ROG. GR70-N90066AN US specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop / 32GB DDR5 / 2TB SSD / Windows 11 Home
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. The FASTEST AMD Ryzen Gaming Mini PC (3L) - ASUS ROG NUC GR70. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop 8GB / 64GB DDR5-5600 / PCIe 5.0 NVMe SSD, capacity unconfirmed / Windows 11 Home; Ubuntu version unconfirmed. Silent, default and Turbo modes tested; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Loan review sample and affiliate links disclosed.
-
NerdNest. PS5 Size, PC Power: The ASUS ROG GR70 is INSANE. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 9 9955HX3D / RTX 5070 Laptop. Video states 64GB RAM; updated description instead identifies 32GB/2TB. Exact memory, SSD and Windows edition unresolved. Turbo mode used; firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Hardware provided by ASUS; reviewer states ASUS did not sponsor the video.
-
GEEKOM. A5 Pro 2026 Edition specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. What a sub $500 Mini PC looks like these days: GEEKOM A5 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / Windows 11; SSD capacity and firmware not established. Video discusses a 512GB offer.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied unit free of charge; no other compensation or advance approval disclosed. Affiliate links.
-
Learn Linux TV. Can the Geekom A5 Pro Run Linux? Full Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB RAM / 1TB NVMe / Windows 11 Pro replaced for Fedora 43 and Debian 13 tests; firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied review unit; affiliate links disclosed.
-
Robtech. Upgrade or Side grade? GEEKOM A5 PRO (2026) Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 1TB WD Black SN750 / Windows 11 Pro; firmware release unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free manufacturer review sample; affiliate and coupon links.
-
Platima Tinkers. Is a Mini PC Better Than an SBC? GEEKOM A5 Pro Part 2: Teardown, Debian & Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 in two 8GB modules / 1TB SSD. BIOS NUCBC02 2.42, EC 1.16. Debian 13.3 Cinnamon and a fresh Windows 11 installation; Windows edition/build unconfirmed.
Disclosure: YouTube paid-promotion notice, affiliate links and manufacturer coupon disclosed. Exact unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG GR70
- Supports 32 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
- Uses a smaller 0.47 liter enclosure
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | ROG GR70 | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D | AMD Ryzen 5 7530U |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 32 | 6 / 12 |
| Processor default TDP | 70 W | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPU; AMD Radeon 610M integrated graphics | AMD Radeon Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | ROG GR70 | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, 2 x 16GB | DDR4 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 96 GB | 64 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | ROG GR70 | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 x 2.5GbE | 1 × 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 | Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | No |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | ROG GR70 | A5 Pro 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 3 liters | 0.47 liters |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Not assigned | Not assigned |