ASUS ROG NUC 16 vs GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

Black ASUS ROG NUC 16 gaming mini PC standing vertically with its RGB logo illuminated
Silver GEEKOM A5 Pro front and rear views with Ryzen 5 7530U label
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

ASUS ROG NUC 16

Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Cinebench 2024 single-core 136 points
  • 7-Zip compression 156.204 GIPS

2Can it handle sustained work?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Cinebench 2024 multi-core 2010 points
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core 35512 points

3Can it game?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Cyberpunk 2077 4K 43.28 fps
  • Cyberpunk 2077 1440p 92.43 fps
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K 49 fps

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Cyberpunk 2077 4K Not available
  • Cyberpunk 2077 1440p Not available
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K Not available

4Is it loud or hot?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Gaming CPU package temperature 82.5 °C
  • Gaming GPU temperature 76.3 °C
  • Gaming noise 51.9 dBA
  • Fan setting also changes performance Not available

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Gaming CPU package temperature Not available
  • Gaming GPU temperature Not available
  • Gaming noise Not available
  • Fan setting also changes performance

5How much electricity does it use?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Gaming CPU package power 46.9 W
  • Gaming GPU power 173 W

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Yes
  • Tool-less service access 2x memory and 2x M.2 slots
  • Reviewer upgrade inspection 2x M.2, 2x CSODIMM, socketed Wi-Fi
  • Care when opening the case Not available

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Tool-less service access Not available
  • Reviewer upgrade inspection Not available
  • Care when opening the case

7Is it good value?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • US list price $3,799
  • Reviewer value caveat Convenience over component value

8Will it be dependable?

ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Limited warranty 3 years
  • Review-unit disclosure Loan unit
  • Fedora and Debian installation Not available
  • Debian installer recognized both network adapters Not available

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Limited warranty Not available
  • Review-unit disclosure Not available
  • Fedora and Debian installation
  • Debian installer recognized both network adapters

References

  1. ASUS. ASUS ROG NUC 16 technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: RNUC16JNK9X289AU: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD

  2. ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors

  3. ALKtech. Is this the most powerful mini gaming PC yet? ASUS ROG NUC 16 Unboxing & Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD

    Disclosure: ALKtech states that ASUS Singapore supplied the review unit on loan. The accompanying article contains Amazon affiliate links.

  4. GEEKOM. A5 Pro 2026 Edition specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  5. Lon.TV. What a sub $500 Mini PC looks like these days: GEEKOM A5 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / Windows 11; SSD capacity and firmware not established. Video discusses a 512GB offer.

    Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied unit free of charge; no other compensation or advance approval disclosed. Affiliate links.

  6. Learn Linux TV. Can the Geekom A5 Pro Run Linux? Full Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB RAM / 1TB NVMe / Windows 11 Pro replaced for Fedora 43 and Debian 13 tests; firmware unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied review unit; affiliate links disclosed.

  7. Robtech. Upgrade or Side grade? GEEKOM A5 PRO (2026) Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 1TB WD Black SN750 / Windows 11 Pro; firmware release unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: Free manufacturer review sample; affiliate and coupon links.

  8. Platima Tinkers. Is a Mini PC Better Than an SBC? GEEKOM A5 Pro Part 2: Teardown, Debian & Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 in two 8GB modules / 1TB SSD. BIOS NUCBC02 2.42, EC 1.16. Debian 13.3 Cinnamon and a fresh Windows 11 installation; Windows edition/build unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: YouTube paid-promotion notice, affiliate links and manufacturer coupon disclosed. Exact unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG NUC 16

  • Supports 64 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Uses a smaller 0.47 liter enclosure

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationROG NUC 16A5 Pro 2026 Edition
CPUIntel Core Ultra 9 290HX PlusAMD Ryzen 5 7530U
Cores / threads24 / 246 / 12
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU with 16GB GDDR7AMD Radeon Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationROG NUC 16A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Memory typeDDR5-6400 CSODIMMDDR4 SO-DIMM
Maximum memory128 GB64 GB
Upgradeable memoryYesYes
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationROG NUC 16A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Ethernet2.5GbE1 × 2.5GbE
WirelessWi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltYesNot published

Size and price

SpecificationROG NUC 16A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Enclosure volume3.02 liters0.47 liters
List price$3,799Not published
Product classCompact high-end gamingNot assigned