ASUS ROG NUC 16 vs GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS ROG NUC 16
Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
Pentium Gold 7505 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black and gray chassis / US market
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core 136 points
ALKtech measured 136 points in Cinebench 2024 single-core on its ROG NUC 16 review unit.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
7-Zip compression 156.204 GIPS
ALKtech measured 156.204 GIPS in the 7-Zip compression benchmark.
7-Zip compression benchmark · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default system power settings
ALKtech · 12:33 -
Multitasking slowed the reviewed base model Not available
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
-
7-Zip compression Not available
-
Multitasking slowed the reviewed base model
Albert Unbox reported slowdown while playing YouTube, recording the screen and downloading software together. He also demonstrated lag in Photoshop. His unit had 8GB RAM and 256GB storage, so this is not a measured result for the 16GB/512GB configuration.
Albert Unbox · 1:58
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 2010 points
ALKtech measured 2,010 points in Cinebench 2024 multi-core. This remains attributed evidence because it was not run on the MiniPCBench test bench.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35512 points
The same review unit scored 35,512 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:49 -
Short CPU stress test did not report thermal throttling Not available
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
-
Short CPU stress test did not report thermal throttling
Britec09 shows CPU-Z stressing the processor and HWiNFO reporting no thermal throttling on the 8GB/256GB review unit. Test duration, ambient temperature and firmware were not fully documented, so this does not establish sustained behavior for every workload.
Britec09 · 7:48
3Can it game?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K 43.28 fps
ALKtech measured 43.28 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 at 4K using the Ray Tracing Low preset with DLSS and frame generation disabled.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p 92.43 fps
At 1440p with the same Ray Tracing Low preset and no DLSS or frame generation, ALKtech measured 92.43 FPS average.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 2560x1440; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K 49 fps
ALKtech measured 49 FPS average at 4K with maximum settings, Ultra ray tracing, and upscaling disabled.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; maximum graphics; Ultra ray tracing; upscaling off
ALKtech · 14:23
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p Not available
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package temperature 82.5 °C
During a roughly nine-minute F1 23 run, ALKtech recorded an 82.5°C average CPU package temperature and a 104°C maximum in a 30°C room.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 104°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU temperature 76.3 °C
The same run produced a 76.3°C average GPU temperature and a 79.3°C maximum.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 79.3°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming noise 51.9 dBA
ALKtech measured 51.9 dBA during a typical gaming workload, but the room already measured 48.7 dBA, so the result is strongly limited by the high noise floor.
Typical gaming workload · 48.7 dBA ambient noise floor; meter position not stated
ALKtech · 14:36
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Gaming CPU package temperature Not available
-
Gaming GPU temperature Not available
-
Gaming noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package power 46.9 W
ALKtech's HWiNFO64 sensor log reported 46.9 W average CPU package power during the F1 23 run. This is component power, not whole-system wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 CPU package sensor; 72 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU power 173 W
The same HWiNFO64 log reported 173.0 W average GPU power and a 173.7 W maximum. This is GPU sensor power, not wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 GPU power sensor; 173.7 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Gaming CPU package power Not available
-
Gaming GPU power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Tool-less service access 2x memory and 2x M.2 slots
The two memory slots and two M.2 storage slots are user-accessible. The primary storage position supports PCIe 5.0 x4 and the second supports PCIe 4.0 x4.
Manufacturer upgradeability check · RNUC16JNK9X289AU
ASUS -
Reviewer upgrade inspection 2x M.2, 2x CSODIMM, socketed Wi-Fi
ALKtech showed straightforward access to two M.2 slots, two replaceable DDR5 CSODIMMs supporting up to 128GB, and a socketed Wi-Fi module. The included SSD occupied the PCIe 5.0 x4 slot while the second slot was PCIe 4.0 x4.
Hands-on internal-layout inspection · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 7:09 -
Access to memory and storage Not available
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Tool-less service access Not available
-
Reviewer upgrade inspection Not available
-
Access to memory and storage
FunkyScott47 opened his 8GB/256GB Air12 by removing four base screws and showed the memory and M.2 storage inside. The installed memory layout of this 16GB configuration remains unconfirmed.
FunkyScott47 · 3:58
7Is it good value?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
US list price $3,799
ASUS lists RNUC16JNK9X289AU at $3,799 before temporary discounts in the United States.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
ASUS -
Reviewer value caveat Convenience over component value
ALKtech had no retail price at publication but expected a substantial premium and said a similarly priced DIY ITX system would likely offer stronger specifications; the ROG NUC's case rests on compact, ready-to-use convenience.
Pre-release value assessment · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 17:50
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
US list price Not available
-
Reviewer value caveat Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that its NUC products purchased from authorized distributors carry a three-year limited warranty covering hardware included in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check · ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
ASUS -
Review-unit disclosure Loan unit
ALKtech disclosed that ASUS Singapore supplied its ROG NUC 16 review unit as a loan and that its article contains affiliate links.
Source-disclosure check
ALKtech · 16:41
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Review-unit disclosure Not available
References
-
ASUS. ASUS ROG NUC 16 technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: RNUC16JNK9X289AU: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
ALKtech. Is this the most powerful mini gaming PC yet? ASUS ROG NUC 16 Unboxing & Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
Disclosure: ALKtech states that ASUS Singapore supplied the review unit on loan. The accompanying article contains Amazon affiliate links.
-
GEEKOM. Air12 2026 Edition specifications and US retail options. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black and gray chassis / US market
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
FunkyScott47. What can the THINNEST Mini-PC handle? | Testing the GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 8GB DDR4 / 256GB SSD; installed OS edition and firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Includes paid promotion label, coupon and Amazon affiliate disclosure; acquisition unconfirmed.
-
Albert Unbox. GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition – Can this super thin and tiny little mini PC handle real work?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 8GB RAM / 256GB storage / Intel UHD Graphics; OS edition and firmware unconfirmed. Product tags link other CPU editions, but footage and spoken configuration identify the 7505.
Disclosure: Reviewer states GEEKOM sponsored the video and that opinions reflect his own tests; commission-earning product tags.
-
Britec09. The Perfect Linux Mini PC. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 8GB DDR4 / 256GB SSD. Windows 11 shown; edition, build and firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied the review unit; retention terms unconfirmed. Amazon affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG NUC 16
- Supports 96 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 1
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus | Intel Pentium Gold 7505 |
| Cores / threads | 24 / 24 | 2 / 4 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 15 W |
| Integrated graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU with 16GB GDDR7 | Intel UHD Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-6400 CSODIMM | DDR4 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 32 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 1 |
Connectivity
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE | 1 × Gigabit Ethernet |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 | Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | No |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 3.02 liters | Not published |
| List price | $3,799 | Not published |
| Product class | Compact high-end gaming | Not assigned |