ASUS ROG NUC 16 vs GMKtec NucBox K15
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS ROG NUC 16
Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
GMKtec NucBox K15
Core Ultra 5 125U / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray and black / US plug
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core 136 points
ALKtech measured 136 points in Cinebench 2024 single-core on its ROG NUC 16 review unit.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
7-Zip compression 156.204 GIPS
ALKtech measured 156.204 GIPS in the 7-Zip compression benchmark.
7-Zip compression benchmark · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default system power settings
ALKtech · 12:33
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
-
7-Zip compression Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 2010 points
ALKtech measured 2,010 points in Cinebench 2024 multi-core. This remains attributed evidence because it was not run on the MiniPCBench test bench.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35512 points
The same review unit scored 35,512 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:49
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
3Can it game?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K 43.28 fps
ALKtech measured 43.28 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 at 4K using the Ray Tracing Low preset with DLSS and frame generation disabled.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p 92.43 fps
At 1440p with the same Ray Tracing Low preset and no DLSS or frame generation, ALKtech measured 92.43 FPS average.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 2560x1440; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K 49 fps
ALKtech measured 49 FPS average at 4K with maximum settings, Ultra ray tracing, and upscaling disabled.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; maximum graphics; Ultra ray tracing; upscaling off
ALKtech · 14:23
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p Not available
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package temperature 82.5 °C
During a roughly nine-minute F1 23 run, ALKtech recorded an 82.5°C average CPU package temperature and a 104°C maximum in a 30°C room.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 104°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU temperature 76.3 °C
The same run produced a 76.3°C average GPU temperature and a 79.3°C maximum.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 79.3°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming noise 51.9 dBA
ALKtech measured 51.9 dBA during a typical gaming workload, but the room already measured 48.7 dBA, so the result is strongly limited by the high noise floor.
Typical gaming workload · 48.7 dBA ambient noise floor; meter position not stated
ALKtech · 14:36
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Gaming CPU package temperature Not available
-
Gaming GPU temperature Not available
-
Gaming noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package power 46.9 W
ALKtech's HWiNFO64 sensor log reported 46.9 W average CPU package power during the F1 23 run. This is component power, not whole-system wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 CPU package sensor; 72 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU power 173 W
The same HWiNFO64 log reported 173.0 W average GPU power and a 173.7 W maximum. This is GPU sensor power, not wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 GPU power sensor; 173.7 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Gaming CPU package power Not available
-
Gaming GPU power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Tool-less service access 2x memory and 2x M.2 slots
The two memory slots and two M.2 storage slots are user-accessible. The primary storage position supports PCIe 5.0 x4 and the second supports PCIe 4.0 x4.
Manufacturer upgradeability check · RNUC16JNK9X289AU
ASUS -
Reviewer upgrade inspection 2x M.2, 2x CSODIMM, socketed Wi-Fi
ALKtech showed straightforward access to two M.2 slots, two replaceable DDR5 CSODIMMs supporting up to 128GB, and a socketed Wi-Fi module. The included SSD occupied the PCIe 5.0 x4 slot while the second slot was PCIe 4.0 x4.
Hands-on internal-layout inspection · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 7:09 -
Opening the case requires care around the fan cable Not available
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Tool-less service access Not available
-
Reviewer upgrade inspection Not available
-
Opening the case requires care around the fan cable
Team Pandory demonstrated removing the feet, metal cover and case screws to reach the replaceable memory and SSDs. The upper fan remains connected to the mainboard as the case opens, so the cable needs care during access.
Team Pandory · 12:02
7Is it good value?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
US list price $3,799
ASUS lists RNUC16JNK9X289AU at $3,799 before temporary discounts in the United States.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
ASUS -
Reviewer value caveat Convenience over component value
ALKtech had no retail price at publication but expected a substantial premium and said a similarly priced DIY ITX system would likely offer stronger specifications; the ROG NUC's case rests on compact, ready-to-use convenience.
Pre-release value assessment · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 17:50
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
US list price Not available
-
Reviewer value caveat Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that its NUC products purchased from authorized distributors carry a three-year limited warranty covering hardware included in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check · ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
ASUS -
Review-unit disclosure Loan unit
ALKtech disclosed that ASUS Singapore supplied its ROG NUC 16 review unit as a loan and that its article contains affiliate links.
Source-disclosure check
ALKtech · 16:41 -
Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
-
Batocera 42 connected to Wi-Fi and a controller Not available
GMKtec NucBox K15
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Review-unit disclosure Not available
-
Ubuntu detected the main devices
Lon.TV reported working video, audio, Bluetooth, networking and Wi-Fi during an Ubuntu test on his 32GB/1TB K15. The distribution version was not specified, so this does not establish compatibility with every Linux release.
Lon.TV · 9:02 -
Batocera 42 connected to Wi-Fi and a controller
Team Pandory reported that Batocera 42 booted and connected to Wi-Fi and a Bluetooth controller on his 48GB/1TB K15. This is a basic compatibility check on that configuration.
Team Pandory · 9:44
References
-
ASUS. ASUS ROG NUC 16 technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: RNUC16JNK9X289AU: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
ALKtech. Is this the most powerful mini gaming PC yet? ASUS ROG NUC 16 Unboxing & Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
Disclosure: ALKtech states that ASUS Singapore supplied the review unit on loan. The accompanying article contains Amazon affiliate links.
-
GMKtec. NucBox K15 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 125U / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray and black / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. GMKTec K15 Mini PC Review - The "Toyota Camry" Mini PC With Plenty of Upgrade Options. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 125U / 32GB DDR5-4800 / 1TB NVMe SSD. Windows edition and firmware version unconfirmed; Ubuntu version unspecified. Performance mode used.
Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.
-
Team Pandory. This Mini PC Runs Shockingly Cool and Quiet [GMKTEC K15 Review]. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 5 125U / 48GB DDR5-4800 / 1TB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro; Batocera 42 also tested. Firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG NUC 16
- Supports 32 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K15
- Provides 3 storage slots versus 2
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus | Intel Core Ultra 5 125U |
| Cores / threads | 24 / 24 | 12 / 14 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU with 16GB GDDR7 | Intel Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-6400 CSODIMM | DDR5 SO-DIMM; up to 5600 MT/s supported |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 3 |
Connectivity
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE | 2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 | MediaTek RZ616 / MT7922 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | NucBox K15 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 3.02 liters | Not published |
| List price | $3,799 | Not published |
| Product class | Compact high-end gaming | Not assigned |