ASUS ROG NUC 16 vs Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
ASUS ROG NUC 16
Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
Snapdragon X X1-26-100 / 16GB LPDDR5X / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro on Arm
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core 136 points
ALKtech measured 136 points in Cinebench 2024 single-core on its ROG NUC 16 review unit.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
7-Zip compression 156.204 GIPS
ALKtech measured 156.204 GIPS in the 7-Zip compression benchmark.
7-Zip compression benchmark · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default system power settings
ALKtech · 12:33
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
-
7-Zip compression Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 2010 points
ALKtech measured 2,010 points in Cinebench 2024 multi-core. This remains attributed evidence because it was not run on the MiniPCBench test bench.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:40 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35512 points
The same review unit scored 35,512 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus; 32GB DDR5-6400; 2TB SSD; default Balance Enabled BIOS mode; Performance Armoury Crate mode
ALKtech · 12:49
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
3Can it game?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K 43.28 fps
ALKtech measured 43.28 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 at 4K using the Ray Tracing Low preset with DLSS and frame generation disabled.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p 92.43 fps
At 1440p with the same Ray Tracing Low preset and no DLSS or frame generation, ALKtech measured 92.43 FPS average.
Cyberpunk 2077 v2.31 built-in benchmark · 2560x1440; Ray Tracing Low; DLSS off; frame generation off
ALKtech · 13:36 -
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K 49 fps
ALKtech measured 49 FPS average at 4K with maximum settings, Ultra ray tracing, and upscaling disabled.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider built-in benchmark · 3840x2160; maximum graphics; Ultra ray tracing; upscaling off
ALKtech · 14:23
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Cyberpunk 2077 4K Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 1440p Not available
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider 4K Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package temperature 82.5 °C
During a roughly nine-minute F1 23 run, ALKtech recorded an 82.5°C average CPU package temperature and a 104°C maximum in a 30°C room.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 104°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU temperature 76.3 °C
The same run produced a 76.3°C average GPU temperature and a 79.3°C maximum.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; TAA; 16x anisotropic filtering; DLSS off; 30°C ambient; maximum 79.3°C
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming noise 51.9 dBA
ALKtech measured 51.9 dBA during a typical gaming workload, but the room already measured 48.7 dBA, so the result is strongly limited by the high noise floor.
Typical gaming workload · 48.7 dBA ambient noise floor; meter position not stated
ALKtech · 14:36
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Gaming CPU package temperature Not available
-
Gaming GPU temperature Not available
-
Gaming noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Gaming CPU package power 46.9 W
ALKtech's HWiNFO64 sensor log reported 46.9 W average CPU package power during the F1 23 run. This is component power, not whole-system wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 CPU package sensor; 72 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36 -
Gaming GPU power 173 W
The same HWiNFO64 log reported 173.0 W average GPU power and a 173.7 W maximum. This is GPU sensor power, not wall power.
F1 23, Singapore Circuit, five laps · 4K Ultra High; DLSS off; HWiNFO64 GPU power sensor; 173.7 W maximum
ALKtech · 14:36
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Gaming CPU package power Not available
-
Gaming GPU power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Tool-less service access 2x memory and 2x M.2 slots
The two memory slots and two M.2 storage slots are user-accessible. The primary storage position supports PCIe 5.0 x4 and the second supports PCIe 4.0 x4.
Manufacturer upgradeability check · RNUC16JNK9X289AU
ASUS -
Reviewer upgrade inspection 2x M.2, 2x CSODIMM, socketed Wi-Fi
ALKtech showed straightforward access to two M.2 slots, two replaceable DDR5 CSODIMMs supporting up to 128GB, and a socketed Wi-Fi module. The included SSD occupied the PCIe 5.0 x4 slot while the second slot was PCIe 4.0 x4.
Hands-on internal-layout inspection · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 7:09 -
Fan lifts out for cleaning Not available
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Tool-less service access Not available
-
Reviewer upgrade inspection Not available
-
Fan lifts out for cleaning
PCMag’s ThinkCentre teardown shows the blower lifting out of its mounting position for cleaning. The video’s exact installed memory and storage are unconfirmed; this observation concerns the visible chassis mechanism.
PCMag and CNET · 1:35
7Is it good value?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
US list price $3,799
ASUS lists RNUC16JNK9X289AU at $3,799 before temporary discounts in the United States.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
ASUS -
Reviewer value caveat Convenience over component value
ALKtech had no retail price at publication but expected a substantial premium and said a similarly priced DIY ITX system would likely offer stronger specifications; the ROG NUC's case rests on compact, ready-to-use convenience.
Pre-release value assessment · Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
ALKtech · 17:50
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
US list price Not available
-
Reviewer value caveat Not available
8Will it be dependable?
ASUS ROG NUC 16
-
Limited warranty 3 years
ASUS states that its NUC products purchased from authorized distributors carry a three-year limited warranty covering hardware included in the box.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check · ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
ASUS -
Review-unit disclosure Loan unit
ALKtech disclosed that ASUS Singapore supplied its ROG NUC 16 review unit as a loan and that its article contains affiliate links.
Source-disclosure check
ALKtech · 16:41 -
Ubuntu installation failed in the review Not available
-
MLPerf Client 1.5 would not run Not available
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Review-unit disclosure Not available
-
Ubuntu installation failed in the review
ServeTheHome could not install Ubuntu from its standard ISO in the January 2026 review. Windows Subsystem for Linux remained an option. The attempted Ubuntu version and firmware were not specified, so this is a dated report, not a claim about every later Linux release.
ServeTheHome · 7:43 -
MLPerf Client 1.5 would not run
ServeTheHome showed unavailable MLPerf Client 1.5 tests on its 16GB system and identified the benchmark’s higher memory requirement for supported Snapdragon hardware. This application-specific failure is not a performance score or a claim that all AI applications fail.
ServeTheHome · 9:00
References
-
ASUS. ASUS ROG NUC 16 technical specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: RNUC16JNK9X289AU: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD
-
ASUS. Warranty Information for NUC Products. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: ASUS NUC products purchased from authorized distributors
-
ALKtech. Is this the most powerful mini gaming PC yet? ASUS ROG NUC 16 Unboxing & Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 32GB DDR5-6400, 2TB SSD
Disclosure: ALKtech states that ASUS Singapore supplied the review unit on loan. The accompanying article contains Amazon affiliate links.
-
Lenovo PSREF. ThinkCentre neo 50q QC 13C80010US specifications. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Snapdragon X X1-26-100 / 16GB LPDDR5X / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro on Arm
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
ServeTheHome. Arm Comes to Project TinyMiniMicro Lenovo neo 50q Tiny QC. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Snapdragon X X1-26-100, 16GB LPDDR5X-8448, 1TB Samsung PM9C1a SSD, Windows 11 Pro on Arm. Firmware and attempted Ubuntu version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: ServeTheHome says it purchased the system before Lenovo offered a review unit. Affiliate links and paid channel memberships disclosed.
-
PCMag and CNET. Snapdragon X Mini-Desktops From Lenovo | Lab Report. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: ThinkCentre neo 50q QC with base Snapdragon X; exact RAM, SSD capacity, OS edition and firmware unconfirmed. The second half covers a separate IdeaCentre Mini.
Disclosure: Unit acquisition and manufacturer relationship were not stated in the inspected description. This is a hardware preview before benchmark testing.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for ASUS ROG NUC 16
- Supports 112 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
- Uses a smaller 1 liter enclosure
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus | Qualcomm Snapdragon X X1-26-100 |
| Cores / threads | 24 / 24 | 8 / Unconfirmed |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU with 16GB GDDR7 | Qualcomm Adreno |
Memory and storage
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-6400 CSODIMM | Soldered LPDDR5X-8448 |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 16 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | No |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE | 1 x Realtek RTL8111K Gigabit Ethernet |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 | Qualcomm NFA765A Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3 |
| USB4 | Yes | No |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | No |
Size and price
| Specification | ROG NUC 16 | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 3.02 liters | 1 liters |
| List price | $3,799 | Not published |
| Product class | Compact high-end gaming | Not assigned |