Beelink SER9 MAX vs Framework Desktop DIY Edition
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Beelink SER9 MAX
Ryzen 7 H 255 / 64GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / Space Gray / US adapter
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points
Level1Techs measured 2,876 in Geekbench 6 single-core on Framework's 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; reviewer-installed storage and operating system
Level1Techs · 32:26
2Can it handle sustained work?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
Level1Techs measured 16,987 in Geekbench 6 multi-core on the same 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; reviewer-installed storage and operating system
Level1Techs · 32:26 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points
Salem Techsperts reported about 35,000 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core on its 128GB press sample.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; Windows 11 Pro; single run shown in the review
Salem Techsperts · 20:29
3Can it game?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
Salem Techsperts measured a 78.44 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite at 1440p high with FSR 3 Balanced.
Cyberpunk 2077 built-in benchmark · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; 128GB review sample
Salem Techsperts · 16:56 -
Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps
The same reviewer measured a 92.71 FPS average after installing Windows 11 with the otherwise matching settings.
Cyberpunk 2077 built-in benchmark · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Windows 11; 128GB review sample
Salem Techsperts · 17:14
4Is it loud or hot?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
-
Fan behavior Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
Salem Techsperts reported that the APU stayed at or below 60 C during its 1440p Cyberpunk test.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; reviewer-selected 120mm fan; reported ceiling rather than an instrumented average
Salem Techsperts · 17:05 -
Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
Salem Techsperts said its selected 120mm fan was often stopped or inaudible in lighter use and was difficult to hear during gaming. Noise was not measured with a sound meter.
Subjective fan-noise assessment · 128GB press sample; reviewer-selected fan; measurement distance and ambient floor not reported
Salem Techsperts · 18:35
5How much electricity does it use?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Cyberpunk system power Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk system power 100 W
Salem Techsperts reported about 100 W of system power during its Bazzite Cyberpunk test, but did not fully document the measurement point.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; 128GB review sample; wall-versus-telemetry method not specified
Salem Techsperts · 17:05
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
USB4 Yes
-
Upgradeable storage Yes
-
Bottom-cover access
ETA PRIME demonstrates removal of the bottom cover after undoing four screws.
ETA PRIME · 2:05 -
Memory is upgradeable Not available
-
Storage is upgradeable Not available
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Standard parts and expansion Not available
-
Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
USB4 Not available
-
Upgradeable storage Not available
-
Bottom-cover access Not available
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
Framework uses a standard Mini-ITX board footprint, FlexATX power supply, 120mm CPU fan mount, two M.2 2280 slots, and two front Expansion Card bays. The CPU and memory remain soldered.
Manufacturer expansion check · Framework Desktop DIY Edition
Framework -
Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter
Salem Techsperts verified one M.2 slot on each side of the motherboard and demonstrated that the PCIe 4.0 x4 slot can host an inexpensive NVMe adapter for a third drive.
Hands-on teardown and expansion check · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage
Salem Techsperts · 9:44
7Is it good value?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Current DIY system price Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
Framework listed the Max+ 395 with 128GB of fixed memory for $3,449 when checked. That selection includes no storage or operating system; a fan, power cable, and 21 front tiles must also be selected or supplied by the buyer.
Manufacturer configurator price check · Max+ 395 - 128GB system selection; no storage; no OS
Framework -
Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI
Salem Techsperts characterized the price as an early-adopter premium but still considered the system one of the more affordable effective consumer options for running large language models locally.
Review-date local-AI value assessment · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage
Salem Techsperts · 23:33
8Will it be dependable?
Beelink SER9 MAX
-
Proxmox installation caveat
VirtualizationHowto encountered a blinking Proxmox VE 9 installer while using a TinyPilot remote KVM. He installed VE 8 and upgraded to VE 9, and cautioned that the problem could be specific to his setup.
VirtualizationHowto · 11:24 -
Limited warranty Not available
-
Replaceable components Not available
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Proxmox installation caveat Not available
-
Limited warranty 1 year included
Framework includes a one-year limited warranty with the DIY configuration and offers a paid three-year option in its configurator.
Manufacturer warranty check · US DIY configuration
Framework -
Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory
Salem Techsperts found the internal components clearly labeled and the storage, fan, power supply, case parts, and mainboard accessible, while emphasizing that the processor and memory cannot be replaced separately from the board.
Hands-on teardown · 128GB press sample
Salem Techsperts · 3:57
References
-
Beelink. SER9 MAX H255/H260/H350 specifications and configuration selector. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 H 255 / 64GB DDR5-5600 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / Space Gray / US adapter
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; performance has not been independently measured.
-
ETA PRIME. SER9 MAX Mini PC First Look! Ryzen 7 H 255 Quiet, Cool, and Powerful. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: SER9 MAX H255 with 1TB SSD; installed RAM capacity not verified.
Disclosure: Affiliate links and software-key promotion are disclosed; unit acquisition was not established.
-
VirtualizationHowto. Beelink SER9 Max Review and Proxmox 10 Gig Mini PC Giveaway. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: SER9 MAX H255 running Proxmox; RAM capacity and firmware not established. TinyPilot remote KVM used for installation.
Disclosure: Beelink supplied the unit; the reviewer says the review was unpaid. Video includes a Nakivo sponsor segment.
-
Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000
Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.
-
Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system
Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.
-
Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems
Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.
-
Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Beelink SER9 MAX
Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | SER9 MAX | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 7 H 255 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Cores / threads | 8 / 16 | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | AMD Radeon 780M | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHz |
Memory and storage
| Specification | SER9 MAX | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-5600 | LPDDR5X-8000 onboard |
| Maximum memory | Not published | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Not published | No |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | SER9 MAX | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 × 10Gb Ethernet | 5GbE |
| Wireless | Intel AX200 Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth 5.2 | Wi-Fi 7 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | No |
Size and price
| Specification | SER9 MAX | Desktop DIY Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | 4.5 liters |
| List price | Not published | $3,449 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Repairable local-AI workstation |