BOSGAME M5 vs GEEKOM A9 Mega
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
BOSGAME M5
Ryzen AI Max+ 395 / 128GB LPDDR5X / 2TB SSD; installed OS unconfirmed
GEEKOM A9 Mega
Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
BOSGAME M5
-
Retail operating system Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Retail operating system Windows 11 Pro
The exact US retail configuration ships with Windows 11 Pro. GEEKOM also describes the system as Linux-ready, but the manufacturer does not specify a supported distribution on the product page.
Manufacturer configuration check · GMA9MEGAAIMAX+395-1282-US
GEEKOM
2Can it handle sustained work?
BOSGAME M5
-
Owner-tested local AI Not available
-
Sustained power target Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Owner-tested local AI 26B and 27B models demonstrated
Takashi Yoshinaga says he purchased the A9 Mega for local-AI work and found Gemma 4 26B A4B text generation fast, simple multimodal image recognition practical, and Qwen 3.6 27B usable in the short demonstration. The video does not report a repeatable tokens-per-second measurement.
Local LLM text generation and image recognition · Owner-purchased Ryzen AI Max+ 395 retail system; runtime and model quantization not stated
Takashi Yoshinaga · 0:00 -
Sustained power target 120 W sustained target
GEEKOM rates the IceBlast 5.0 dual-fan and vapor-chamber cooling system for a sustained 120 W processor setting. This is a manufacturer capability claim, not an independently retained endurance result.
Manufacturer thermal-design specification · Ryzen AI Max+ 395 configuration
GEEKOM
3Can it game?
BOSGAME M5
-
Integrated graphics Not available
-
Pre-production gaming demonstration Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Integrated graphics Radeon 8060S, 40 CUs
The Ryzen AI Max+ 395 includes Radeon 8060S integrated graphics with 40 RDNA 3.5 compute units and shared access to the system's 128GB unified memory.
Manufacturer hardware specification · Exact 128GB/2TB retail configuration
GEEKOM -
Pre-production gaming demonstration Hands-on prototype; no FPS retained
TechGround handled the A9 Mega at GEEKOM's IFA 2025 booth and showed the exact 128GB Strix Halo prototype, but did not run a reproducible game benchmark. No FPS claim from that demonstration is treated as a measured result.
IFA product demonstration · Pre-production A9 Mega prototype
TechGround in English · 0:30
4Is it loud or hot?
BOSGAME M5
-
Noise changes with the selected power mode
ServeTheHome reports a barely audible fan in low-power mode at one metre and more audible operation in performance mode. This concerns its 128GB review unit and is not a standardized MiniPCBench noise measurement.
ServeTheHome · 13:43 -
Idle fan behavior differed between operating systems
Paul Gallant reports that his 128GB unit became inaudible while idle in Ubuntu Studio, while its fan kept running under Windows. Video rendering made the fan start again. OS builds, firmware and power settings were not fully documented.
Paul Gallant · 10:20 -
Manual fan controls had a heat and noise trade-off
Tek Syndicate reports that fixed low fan settings let its 96GB review unit get too hot during testing, while the next tested setting was audibly bothersome. The reviewer wanted a configurable fan curve. These manually changed settings do not describe stock behavior or later firmware.
Tek Syndicate · 11:21 -
Cooling hardware Not available
-
Independent acoustics status Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Noise changes with the selected power mode Not available
-
Idle fan behavior differed between operating systems Not available
-
Manual fan controls had a heat and noise trade-off Not available
-
Cooling hardware Dual fan plus vapor chamber
GEEKOM's IceBlast 5.0 system uses two fans and a full-coverage vapor chamber. The public product page claims this supports 120 W sustained operation, but the retained exact-model YouTube sources do not provide controlled temperature or sound-level measurements.
Manufacturer cooling specification · A9 Mega chassis
GEEKOM -
Independent acoustics status No controlled dB result
The retained owner video focuses on local AI, while the IFA hands-on used a show-floor prototype. Neither establishes retail-unit idle or load acoustics, so no decibel value is published here.
Evidence-coverage check · Exact-model retained video sources
Takashi Yoshinaga · 0:00
5How much electricity does it use?
BOSGAME M5
-
Processor power range Not available
-
Power adapter Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Processor power range 45-120 W cTDP
GEEKOM lists a configurable processor TDP range of 45 to 120 W and describes up to 140 W of heat dissipation for the platform.
Manufacturer power specification · Ryzen AI Max+ 395 configuration
GEEKOM -
Power adapter 330 W adapter
The exact retail system includes a 330 W external power supply. Adapter capacity is not a measurement of normal wall draw, and no independent wall-power result is published from the retained videos.
Manufacturer bundle specification · GMA9MEGAAIMAX+395-1282-US
GEEKOM
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
BOSGAME M5
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
SSD hatch is easy to access
ServeTheHome shows a small bottom hatch secured by one screw for SSD access. The reviewer found this sufficient for routine storage upgrades; deeper disassembly takes more screws.
ServeTheHome · 7:20 -
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Storage expansion Not available
-
High-speed I/O Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
SSD hatch is easy to access Not available
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
Storage expansion 2x M.2 2280, up to 8TB
The chassis contains two PCIe 4.0 x4 M.2 2280 slots, supports up to 4TB in each slot, and exposes RAID 0 and RAID 1. The installed 2TB system drive occupies one slot.
Manufacturer expansion specification · Exact 128GB/2TB retail configuration
GEEKOM -
High-speed I/O 2x USB4 and 2x 2.5GbE
GEEKOM provides two 40Gbps USB4 ports with DisplayPort 2.1, two HDMI 2.1 outputs, two 2.5GbE Ethernet ports, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 5.4, and an SDXC card reader.
Manufacturer connectivity specification · A9 Mega chassis
GEEKOM
7Is it good value?
BOSGAME M5
-
Manufacturer price Not available
-
Verified Amazon configuration Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
Manufacturer price $3,999
GEEKOM listed the exact 128GB/2TB US configuration for $3,999 when checked, against a $4,399 crossed-out price.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro
GEEKOM -
Verified Amazon configuration B0GL8XB8KX
Amazon ASIN B0GL8XB8KX matched the exact Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, 2TB SSD, and Windows 11 Pro retail system when checked.
Retailer identity check · Exact 128GB/2TB listing
GEEKOM
8Will it be dependable?
BOSGAME M5
-
CachyOS installation demonstrated on a second drive
The Phawx demonstrates CachyOS installation and startup on an added 1TB SSD in its 96GB review unit, with networking connected during setup. The chosen ZFS filesystem and handheld desktop environment are disclosed in the video. This does not certify every Linux distribution or peripheral.
The Phawx · 8:23 -
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Memory serviceability Not available
GEEKOM A9 Mega
-
CachyOS installation demonstrated on a second drive Not available
-
Hardware warranty 3 years
GEEKOM advertises a three-year warranty and a 30-day refund and return window for the A9 Mega on its US product page.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
GEEKOM -
Memory serviceability Fixed memory; replaceable storage
All 128GB of LPDDR5X-8000 memory is soldered and cannot be replaced or expanded. Storage remains replaceable through two standard M.2 2280 positions.
Manufacturer serviceability check · Exact 128GB/2TB retail configuration
GEEKOM
References
-
BOSGAME. M5 128GB / 2TB configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395 / 128GB LPDDR5X / 2TB SSD; installed OS unconfirmed
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
ServeTheHome. $1K off a 128GB Local AI Box with a TWIST. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB memory, PC41Q 2TB SSD and Windows 11 Pro. Firmware and Windows build unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Affiliate links disclosed; exact unit acquisition arrangement unconfirmed.
-
Paul Gallant. BOSGAME M5 unboxing, Linux local AI and fan noise. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB memory and 2TB supplied SSD, with a second SSD for Ubuntu Studio. Windows 11 and Ubuntu Studio versions, power mode and firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: No unit acquisition or paid relationship confirmed in the inspected description.
-
The Phawx. Is 32GB of VRAM Enough? BOSGAME M5 Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 96GB memory, supplied 2TB SSD plus an added 1TB drive for CachyOS. Review includes modified firmware settings; exact firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: BOSGAME supplied the 96GB review unit; loan or retention terms unconfirmed.
-
Tek Syndicate. The Radeon 8060S is Insane - Bossgame M5 Mini PC Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 96GB memory. Exact SSD, Windows edition and firmware unconfirmed; fan-control observations concern manually selected fixed settings.
Disclosure: Affiliate disclosure and channel merchandise promotion visible; unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.
-
GEEKOM. GEEKOM A9 Mega. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: GMA9MEGAAIMAX+395-1282-US: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications, current price, availability, warranty, and return terms.
-
Takashi Yoshinaga. Testing Local LLMs on GEEKOM A9 Mega. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Owner-purchased GEEKOM A9 Mega with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB unified memory; installed SSD capacity is not stated
Disclosure: The description states that the reviewer purchased the machine as a dedicated AI system; no affiliate or sponsorship disclosure appears.
-
TechGround in English. Testing the Most Powerful MINI PC Ever: 128GB RAM on the GEEKOM A9 Mega at IFA. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pre-production A9 Mega show-floor unit with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X memory
Disclosure: The video was recorded at GEEKOM's IFA booth and its description contains Amazon affiliate links.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for BOSGAME M5
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A9 Mega
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | M5 | A9 Mega |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 32 | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 120 W |
| Integrated graphics | Radeon 8060S | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units |
Memory and storage
| Specification | M5 | A9 Mega |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5X-8000, soldered | LPDDR5X-8000 onboard |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | M5 | A9 Mega |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 x 2.5GbE | Dual 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.2, as specified in the manufacturer gallery; exact module unconfirmed | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | No |
Size and price
| Specification | M5 | A9 Mega |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | Not published |
| List price | Not published | $4,399 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Large local AI models |