Framework Desktop DIY Edition vs GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

Framework Desktop shown from the front with its black side panel and modular front tiles
Silver GEEKOM A5 Pro front and rear views with Ryzen 5 7530U label
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points

2Can it handle sustained work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points

3Can it game?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps

4Is it loud or hot?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
  • Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
  • Fan setting also changes performance Not available

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
  • Fan behavior Not available
  • Fan setting also changes performance

5How much electricity does it use?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk system power 100 W

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter
  • Care when opening the case Not available

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Standard parts and expansion Not available
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available
  • Care when opening the case

7Is it good value?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
  • Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI

8Will it be dependable?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Limited warranty 1 year included
  • Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory
  • Fedora and Debian installation Not available
  • Debian installer recognized both network adapters Not available

GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Limited warranty Not available
  • Replaceable components Not available
  • Fedora and Debian installation
  • Debian installer recognized both network adapters

References

  1. Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000

    Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.

  2. Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system

    Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.

  3. Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems

    Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.

  4. Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.

  5. GEEKOM. A5 Pro 2026 Edition specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  6. Lon.TV. What a sub $500 Mini PC looks like these days: GEEKOM A5 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / Windows 11; SSD capacity and firmware not established. Video discusses a 512GB offer.

    Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied unit free of charge; no other compensation or advance approval disclosed. Affiliate links.

  7. Learn Linux TV. Can the Geekom A5 Pro Run Linux? Full Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB RAM / 1TB NVMe / Windows 11 Pro replaced for Fedora 43 and Debian 13 tests; firmware unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied review unit; affiliate links disclosed.

  8. Robtech. Upgrade or Side grade? GEEKOM A5 PRO (2026) Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 1TB WD Black SN750 / Windows 11 Pro; firmware release unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: Free manufacturer review sample; affiliate and coupon links.

  9. Platima Tinkers. Is a Mini PC Better Than an SBC? GEEKOM A5 Pro Part 2: Teardown, Debian & Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 in two 8GB modules / 1TB SSD. BIOS NUCBC02 2.42, EC 1.16. Debian 13.3 Cinnamon and a fresh Windows 11 installation; Windows edition/build unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: YouTube paid-promotion notice, affiliate links and manufacturer coupon disclosed. Exact unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Supports 64 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

  • Uses a smaller 0.47 liter enclosure

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionA5 Pro 2026 Edition
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395AMD Ryzen 5 7530U
Cores / threads16 / 326 / 12
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHzAMD Radeon Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionA5 Pro 2026 Edition
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardDDR4 SO-DIMM
Maximum memory128 GB64 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionA5 Pro 2026 Edition
Ethernet5GbE1 × 2.5GbE
WirelessWi-Fi 7Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltNoNot published

Size and price

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionA5 Pro 2026 Edition
Enclosure volume4.5 liters0.47 liters
List price$3,449Not published
Product classRepairable local-AI workstationNot assigned