Framework Desktop DIY Edition vs GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
Pentium Gold 7505 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black and gray chassis / US market
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points
Level1Techs measured 2,876 in Geekbench 6 single-core on Framework's 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; reviewer-installed storage and operating system
Level1Techs · 32:26 -
Multitasking slowed the reviewed base model Not available
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
-
Multitasking slowed the reviewed base model
Albert Unbox reported slowdown while playing YouTube, recording the screen and downloading software together. He also demonstrated lag in Photoshop. His unit had 8GB RAM and 256GB storage, so this is not a measured result for the 16GB/512GB configuration.
Albert Unbox · 1:58
2Can it handle sustained work?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
Level1Techs measured 16,987 in Geekbench 6 multi-core on the same 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; reviewer-installed storage and operating system
Level1Techs · 32:26 -
Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points
Salem Techsperts reported about 35,000 points in Cinebench R23 multi-core on its 128GB press sample.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; Windows 11 Pro; single run shown in the review
Salem Techsperts · 20:29 -
Short CPU stress test did not report thermal throttling Not available
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
-
Short CPU stress test did not report thermal throttling
Britec09 shows CPU-Z stressing the processor and HWiNFO reporting no thermal throttling on the 8GB/256GB review unit. Test duration, ambient temperature and firmware were not fully documented, so this does not establish sustained behavior for every workload.
Britec09 · 7:48
3Can it game?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
Salem Techsperts measured a 78.44 FPS average in Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite at 1440p high with FSR 3 Balanced.
Cyberpunk 2077 built-in benchmark · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; 128GB review sample
Salem Techsperts · 16:56 -
Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps
The same reviewer measured a 92.71 FPS average after installing Windows 11 with the otherwise matching settings.
Cyberpunk 2077 built-in benchmark · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Windows 11; 128GB review sample
Salem Techsperts · 17:14
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
Salem Techsperts reported that the APU stayed at or below 60 C during its 1440p Cyberpunk test.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; reviewer-selected 120mm fan; reported ceiling rather than an instrumented average
Salem Techsperts · 17:05 -
Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
Salem Techsperts said its selected 120mm fan was often stopped or inaudible in lighter use and was difficult to hear during gaming. Noise was not measured with a sound meter.
Subjective fan-noise assessment · 128GB press sample; reviewer-selected fan; measurement distance and ambient floor not reported
Salem Techsperts · 18:35
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
-
Fan behavior Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Cyberpunk system power 100 W
Salem Techsperts reported about 100 W of system power during its Bazzite Cyberpunk test, but did not fully document the measurement point.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 1440p high; FSR 3 Balanced; Bazzite; 128GB review sample; wall-versus-telemetry method not specified
Salem Techsperts · 17:05
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Cyberpunk system power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
Framework uses a standard Mini-ITX board footprint, FlexATX power supply, 120mm CPU fan mount, two M.2 2280 slots, and two front Expansion Card bays. The CPU and memory remain soldered.
Manufacturer expansion check · Framework Desktop DIY Edition
Framework -
Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter
Salem Techsperts verified one M.2 slot on each side of the motherboard and demonstrated that the PCIe 4.0 x4 slot can host an inexpensive NVMe adapter for a third drive.
Hands-on teardown and expansion check · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage
Salem Techsperts · 9:44 -
Access to memory and storage Not available
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Standard parts and expansion Not available
-
Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available
-
Access to memory and storage
FunkyScott47 opened his 8GB/256GB Air12 by removing four base screws and showed the memory and M.2 storage inside. The installed memory layout of this 16GB configuration remains unconfirmed.
FunkyScott47 · 3:58
7Is it good value?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
Framework listed the Max+ 395 with 128GB of fixed memory for $3,449 when checked. That selection includes no storage or operating system; a fan, power cable, and 21 front tiles must also be selected or supplied by the buyer.
Manufacturer configurator price check · Max+ 395 - 128GB system selection; no storage; no OS
Framework -
Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI
Salem Techsperts characterized the price as an early-adopter premium but still considered the system one of the more affordable effective consumer options for running large language models locally.
Review-date local-AI value assessment · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage
Salem Techsperts · 23:33
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Current DIY system price Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
8Will it be dependable?
Framework Desktop DIY Edition
-
Limited warranty 1 year included
Framework includes a one-year limited warranty with the DIY configuration and offers a paid three-year option in its configurator.
Manufacturer warranty check · US DIY configuration
Framework -
Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory
Salem Techsperts found the internal components clearly labeled and the storage, fan, power supply, case parts, and mainboard accessible, while emphasizing that the processor and memory cannot be replaced separately from the board.
Hands-on teardown · 128GB press sample
Salem Techsperts · 3:57
GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
-
Limited warranty Not available
-
Replaceable components Not available
References
-
Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000
Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.
-
Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system
Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.
-
Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems
Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.
-
Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.
-
GEEKOM. Air12 2026 Edition specifications and US retail options. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / black and gray chassis / US market
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
FunkyScott47. What can the THINNEST Mini-PC handle? | Testing the GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 8GB DDR4 / 256GB SSD; installed OS edition and firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Includes paid promotion label, coupon and Amazon affiliate disclosure; acquisition unconfirmed.
-
Albert Unbox. GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition – Can this super thin and tiny little mini PC handle real work?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 8GB RAM / 256GB storage / Intel UHD Graphics; OS edition and firmware unconfirmed. Product tags link other CPU editions, but footage and spoken configuration identify the 7505.
Disclosure: Reviewer states GEEKOM sponsored the video and that opinions reflect his own tests; commission-earning product tags.
-
Britec09. The Perfect Linux Mini PC. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Pentium Gold 7505 / 8GB DDR4 / 256GB SSD. Windows 11 shown; edition, build and firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied the review unit; retention terms unconfirmed. Amazon affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition
- Supports 96 GB more memory
- Provides 2 storage slots versus 1
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM Air12 2026 Edition
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Desktop DIY Edition | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 | Intel Pentium Gold 7505 |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 32 | 2 / 4 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 15 W |
| Integrated graphics | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHz | Intel UHD Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Desktop DIY Edition | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5X-8000 onboard | DDR4 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 32 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 1 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Desktop DIY Edition | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 5GbE | 1 × Gigabit Ethernet |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 | Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 |
| USB4 | Yes | No |
| Thunderbolt | No | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Desktop DIY Edition | Air12 2026 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 4.5 liters | Not published |
| List price | $3,449 | Not published |
| Product class | Repairable local-AI workstation | Not assigned |