Framework Desktop DIY Edition vs GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Framework Desktop shown from the front with its black side panel and modular front tiles
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus shown from front and rear
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points

2Can it handle sustained work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points

3Can it game?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps

4Is it loud or hot?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
  • Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
  • Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit Not available

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
  • Fan behavior Not available
  • Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit

5How much electricity does it use?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk system power 100 W

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Standard parts and expansion Not available
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available

7Is it good value?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
  • Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI

8Will it be dependable?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Limited warranty 1 year included
  • Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory
  • Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
  • A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks Not available

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Limited warranty Not available
  • Replaceable components Not available
  • Ubuntu detected the main devices
  • A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks

References

  1. Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000

    Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.

  2. Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system

    Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.

  3. Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems

    Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.

  4. Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.

  5. GMKtec. NucBox G3 Plus specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  6. Lon.TV. My Favorite Cheap Mini PC Gets an N150 Upgrade! GMKTec G3 Plus Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 512GB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Ubuntu tested; version and firmware unconfirmed. Green review unit.

    Disclosure: Reviewer purchased the G3 Plus; no payment for the review. Compensated affiliate links disclosed.

  7. Jeff Geerling. When did Raspberry Pis get so expensive?. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / original 512GB AirDisk SSD replaced by a 1TB TeamGroup TM8FP4001T for Ubuntu 24.04 testing, Linux 6.12.3. Balanced and High Performance modes; firmware version unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: GMKtec supplied the review unit but did not pay for the video. Reviewer states no GMKtec affiliate participation; Amazon affiliate links disclosed. Supporting system configuration record: https://github.com/geerlingguy/sbc-reviews/issues/64

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Supports 96 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox G3 Plus
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Intel N150
Cores / threads16 / 324 / 4
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHzIntel UHD Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox G3 Plus
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardDDR4-3200 SO-DIMM
Maximum memory128 GB32 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox G3 Plus
Ethernet5GbE1 x 2.5GbE, Intel i226-V
WirelessWi-Fi 7Realtek 8852BE Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltNoNo

Size and price

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox G3 Plus
Enclosure volume4.5 litersNot published
List price$3,449Not published
Product classRepairable local-AI workstationNot assigned