Framework Desktop DIY Edition vs GMKtec NucBox K16

Framework Desktop shown from the front with its black side panel and modular front tiles
Metallic gray GMKtec NucBox K16 showing front and rear ports
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

GMKtec NucBox K16

Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points

2Can it handle sustained work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available

3Can it game?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite Not available
  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows Not available

4Is it loud or hot?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
  • Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
  • Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode Not available
  • Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2 Not available

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
  • Fan behavior Not available
  • Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode
  • Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2

5How much electricity does it use?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk system power 100 W
  • Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock Not available

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Cyberpunk system power Not available
  • Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Standard parts and expansion Not available
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available

7Is it good value?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
  • Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Current DIY system price Not available
  • Reviewer value assessment Not available

8Will it be dependable?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Limited warranty 1 year included
  • Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Limited warranty Not available
  • Replaceable components Not available

References

  1. Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000

    Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.

  2. Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system

    Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.

  3. Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems

    Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.

  4. Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.

  5. GMKtec. NucBox K16 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  6. Team Pandory. GMKtec K16 Review: Premium Ryzen 7 Mini PC w/ Oculink. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 512GB PCIe 3.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro 24H2. Balanced and Performance modes tested; firmware version unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.

  7. Mash IT. GMKtec NucBox K16 - An affordable PC in 2026!!. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 1TB SSD. Windows edition and firmware version unconfirmed; Performance mode used for Dota 2.

    Disclosure: Affiliate links disclosed; review-unit acquisition unconfirmed.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Supports 96 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K16

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox K16
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395AMD Ryzen 7 7735HS
Cores / threads16 / 328 / 16
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHzAMD Radeon 680M

Memory and storage

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox K16
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardLPDDR5-6400 onboard
Maximum memory128 GB32 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoNo
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox K16
Ethernet5GbE2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG
WirelessWi-Fi 7MediaTek RZ616 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesYes
ThunderboltNoNot published

Size and price

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionNucBox K16
Enclosure volume4.5 litersNot published
List price$3,449Not published
Product classRepairable local-AI workstationNot assigned