Framework Desktop DIY Edition vs Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5

Framework Desktop shown from the front with its black side panel and modular front tiles
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5, front and left side view
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5

Core 7 240H / 16GB DDR5 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points

2Can it handle sustained work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points

3Can it game?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps

4Is it loud or hot?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
  • Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room

5How much electricity does it use?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk system power 100 W

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter
  • Memory sits beneath the fan assembly Not available

Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Standard parts and expansion Not available
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available
  • Memory sits beneath the fan assembly

7Is it good value?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
  • Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI

8Will it be dependable?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Limited warranty 1 year included
  • Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory

References

  1. Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000

    Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.

  2. Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system

    Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.

  3. Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems

    Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.

  4. Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.

  5. Lenovo PSREF. ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5 13B90031US specifications. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Core 7 240H / 16GB DDR5 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  6. MAS WORLD. Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5 | unboxing | Ram & ssd upgarade 2026. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5 chassis; exact CPU, memory capacity, SSD capacity, operating system and firmware unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: Unit acquisition and any manufacturer relationship were not stated in the inspected description.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Supports 64 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5

  • Uses a smaller 1 liter enclosure

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Intel Core 7 240H
Cores / threads16 / 3210 / 16
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHzIntel Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardDDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, 1 x 16GB
Maximum memory128 GB64 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5
Ethernet5GbE1 x Realtek RTL8111K Gigabit Ethernet
WirelessWi-Fi 7Intel AX211 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltNoNo

Size and price

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5
Enclosure volume4.5 liters1 liters
List price$3,449Not published
Product classRepairable local-AI workstationNot assigned