Framework Desktop DIY Edition vs Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

Framework Desktop shown from the front with its black side panel and modular front tiles
Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2, front and top view
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

DIY Edition, Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, no storage, no operating system

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

Core Ultra 7 265 / RTX A1000 8GB / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 single-core 2876 points

2Can it handle sustained work?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Geekbench 6 multi-core 16987 points
  • Cinebench R23 multi-core 35000 points

3Can it game?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Bazzite 78.44 fps
  • Cyberpunk 2077 on Windows 92.71 fps

4Is it loud or hot?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature 60 C
  • Fan behavior Quiet in the reviewer's room
  • Noticeable fan noise under load Not available

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

  • Cyberpunk peak temperature Not available
  • Fan behavior Not available
  • Noticeable fan noise under load

5How much electricity does it use?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Cyberpunk system power 100 W

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Standard parts and expansion 2x M.2; standard board, PSU, and fan formats
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Two onboard M.2; third via PCIe adapter
  • Memory access through the bottom panel Not available

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Standard parts and expansion Not available
  • Reviewer storage-expansion check Not available
  • Memory access through the bottom panel

7Is it good value?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Current DIY system price $3,449 before required build selections
  • Reviewer value assessment Premium, but competitive for local AI

8Will it be dependable?

Framework Desktop DIY Edition

  • Limited warranty 1 year included
  • Replaceable components Modular except CPU and memory

References

  1. Framework. Framework Desktop. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Framework Desktop with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X-8000

    Disclosure: Manufacturer product overview and specifications.

  2. Framework. Configure Framework Desktop DIY Edition (AMD Ryzen AI Max 300 Series). Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Max+ 395 - 128GB; no primary storage; no secondary storage; no operating system

    Disclosure: Manufacturer configuration options, current price, availability, and warranty selection.

  3. Level1Techs. Framework Desktop Tested: 128gb AI Max+ for Gaming, AI and More. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage and operating systems

    Disclosure: The reviewer says Framework sent the early sample. No product-specific sponsorship or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.

  4. Salem Techsperts. Framework Desktop Teardown and Review: A Powerful, Efficient, AI Gaming PC That's Worth Every Penny. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, reviewer-installed storage, Bazzite and Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: The description states Framework supplied the press kit; the reviewer says the sample had to be returned and Framework did not pay for the review. The description links an Amazon storefront.

  5. Lenovo PSREF. ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2 30K50050US specifications. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Core Ultra 7 265 / RTX A1000 8GB / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  6. ServeTheHome. Even an NVIDIA GPU and 3x SSDs fit in 1L Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen2. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285, RTX A1000 8GB, 32GB single DDR5-6400 CSODIMM, 1TB PCIe Gen 5 SSD. OS edition and firmware unconfirmed; CPU differs from this catalog configuration.

    Disclosure: Lenovo supplied the review system; loan versus retained status was not specified. Affiliate links disclosed.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for Framework Desktop DIY Edition

Higher listed specifications for Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

  • Provides 3 storage slots versus 2
  • Uses a smaller 1 liter enclosure

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Intel Core Ultra 7 265
Cores / threads16 / 3220 / 20
Processor default TDPNot disclosedNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units up to 2.9GHzNVIDIA RTX A1000 8GB GDDR6 plus Intel Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardDDR5-6400 CSODIMM, 1 x 32GB non-ECC
Maximum memory128 GB128 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots23

Connectivity

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2
Ethernet5GbE1 x Intel I219-LM Gigabit Ethernet
WirelessWi-Fi 7Intel BE200 Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltNoNo

Size and price

SpecificationDesktop DIY EditionThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2
Enclosure volume4.5 liters1 liters
List price$3,449Not published
Product classRepairable local-AI workstationNot assigned