GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition vs MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2957 points
ETA PRIME's configured review system scored 2,957 in Geekbench 6 single-core with a 90 W PL1, 110 W PL2, and an RTX 5060 installed.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Core Ultra 9 285HX; 64GB RAM; 1TB SSD; RTX 5060; 90 W PL1 and 110 W PL2
ETA PRIME · 8:17 -
Geekbench 6 multi-core 17992 points
The same configured system scored 17,992 in Geekbench 6 multi-core.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Core Ultra 9 285HX; 64GB RAM; 1TB SSD; RTX 5060; 90 W PL1 and 110 W PL2
ETA PRIME · 8:21
2Can it handle sustained work?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Sustained CPU cooling rating Not available
-
CPU stress power behavior Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Sustained CPU cooling rating 100 W sustained
MINISFORUM states that the six-heatpipe, dual-fan cooler can sustain a 100 W CPU load and handle a 140 W turbo limit.
Manufacturer thermal-design rating · Core Ultra 9 285HX cooling system
MINISFORUM -
CPU stress power behavior Settled near 100 W
ServeTheHome observed the CPU power limit peak near 140 W and then settle around 100 W during its stress test, consistent with the manufacturer's cooling target. This is a power-behavior observation, not a normalized performance result.
CPU stress test · Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5-4800, 1TB SSD, 25GbE adapter
ServeTheHome · 14:18
3Can it game?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider with RTX 5060 Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Shadow of the Tomb Raider with RTX 5060 121 fps
With a low-profile RTX 5060 installed, ETA PRIME measured a 121 FPS average in the built-in benchmark at native 1440p very high without DLSS.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider built-in benchmark · 1440p very high; native resolution; DLSS off; low-profile RTX 5060
ETA PRIME · 10:34
4Is it loud or hot?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Fan setting also changes performance
Robtech showed the BIOS Fan Policy setting and reported that it changes the performance profile as well as fan behavior. His observations apply to the firmware on his review unit.
Robtech · 6:53 -
Idle noise Not available
-
CPU stress noise Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Fan setting also changes performance Not available
-
Idle noise 35 dBA
ServeTheHome reported about 35 dBA at idle in a studio with a 34 dBA noise floor.
Windows desktop idle · 34 dBA studio noise floor
ServeTheHome · 15:11 -
CPU stress noise 36 to 39 dBA
ServeTheHome reported 38 to 41 dBA during the initial fan ramp and 36 to 39 dBA after it settled.
CPU stress test after the fan ramp settled · Initial ramp reported separately as 38 to 41 dBA
ServeTheHome · 15:43
5How much electricity does it use?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Idle wall power Not available
-
CPU stress wall power Not available
-
25GbE adapter power Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Idle wall power 18.3 to 20.6 W
ServeTheHome reported 18.3 to 20.6 W at idle with the Intel E810 25GbE adapter enabled.
Windows desktop idle · Intel E810 25GbE adapter enabled
ServeTheHome · 15:00 -
CPU stress wall power 145 W
ServeTheHome reported a brief rise to about 190 W during a CPU stress test, followed by about 145 W at the system level after the initial burst.
CPU stress test after the initial burst
ServeTheHome · 15:37 -
25GbE adapter power 8 to 12 W
ServeTheHome estimated that disabling the Intel E810 25GbE adapter could reduce idle consumption by roughly 8 to 12 W.
Estimated idle-power reduction · Intel E810 25GbE adapter disabled
ServeTheHome · 14:30
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Care when opening the case
Lon.TV showed that opening his A5 Pro pulled a Wi-Fi antenna connector loose. He could reconnect it, but found the small plug difficult to reach. Take care with the antenna leads when accessing the memory or SSD.
Lon.TV · 1:47 -
USB4 is present Not available
-
Internal expansion Not available
-
Reviewer expansion assessment Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Care when opening the case Not available
-
USB4 is present Yes
-
Internal expansion 4x M.2 and 3x PCIe
The 285HX model provides four M.2 2280 slots plus PCIe 5.0 x16, PCIe 4.0 x16, and PCIe 4.0 x4 expansion slots; the 25GbE card occupies one internal slot as shipped.
Manufacturer expansion-layout check · MS-02U-285HX
MINISFORUM -
Reviewer expansion assessment Multiple PCIe cards plus 4x M.2
ServeTheHome verified that the system can accommodate multiple low-profile PCIe cards while retaining room for four M.2 SSDs and expandable memory, calling the overall expansion package a major strength.
Hands-on internal-layout assessment · Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5-4800, 1TB SSD, 25GbE adapter
ServeTheHome · 16:05
7Is it good value?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Barebone list price Not available
-
Reviewer value tradeoff Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Barebone list price $1,449
MINISFORUM lists the Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone at $1,449 before temporary discounts.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone, US adapter
MINISFORUM -
Reviewer value tradeoff Value depends on using its scalability
NASCompares called the MS-02 Ultra expensive and enthusiast-focused, but argued that its value comes from future scalability; buyers who do not need that headroom were directed toward the smaller MS-01 or MS-A2.
Review-date value and target-user assessment · Core Ultra 9 285HX, non-ECC memory and installed storage; capacities not stated
NASCompares · 26:17
8Will it be dependable?
GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
-
Fedora and Debian installation
Learn Linux TV installed Fedora 43 and Debian 13 on his 16GB/1TB A5 Pro and reported working hardware, including Wi-Fi, after installation. This records his March 2026 checks; compatibility can change with software and firmware.
Learn Linux TV · 7:19 -
Debian installer recognized both network adapters
Platima Tinkers demonstrates Debian 13.3 installation and reports that both network controllers were detected by the installer. He selects Ethernet for setup, then demonstrates the Cinnamon desktop. This is not a check of every wireless feature or Linux distribution.
Platima Tinkers · 18:47 -
Setup complexity Not available
-
Seller warranty Not available
MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
-
Fedora and Debian installation Not available
-
Debian installer recognized both network adapters Not available
-
Setup complexity Manual tuning recommended
NASCompares said the system was not at its best without manual tuning and cautioned that it required more setup work than a typical ready-to-use mini PC.
Review conclusion after configuration and testing · Core Ultra 9 285HX review unit with non-ECC memory
NASCompares · 25:07 -
Seller warranty 2 years
The MINISFORUM US store lists a two-year seller warranty for the MS-02 Ultra.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
MINISFORUM
References
-
GEEKOM. A5 Pro 2026 Edition specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / silver chassis / US market
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. What a sub $500 Mini PC looks like these days: GEEKOM A5 Pro Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4 / Windows 11; SSD capacity and firmware not established. Video discusses a 512GB offer.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied unit free of charge; no other compensation or advance approval disclosed. Affiliate links.
-
Learn Linux TV. Can the Geekom A5 Pro Run Linux? Full Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB RAM / 1TB NVMe / Windows 11 Pro replaced for Fedora 43 and Debian 13 tests; firmware unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GEEKOM supplied review unit; affiliate links disclosed.
-
Robtech. Upgrade or Side grade? GEEKOM A5 PRO (2026) Mini PC Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 1TB WD Black SN750 / Windows 11 Pro; firmware release unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free manufacturer review sample; affiliate and coupon links.
-
Platima Tinkers. Is a Mini PC Better Than an SBC? GEEKOM A5 Pro Part 2: Teardown, Debian & Benchmarks. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 5 7530U / 16GB DDR4-3200 in two 8GB modules / 1TB SSD. BIOS NUCBC02 2.42, EC 1.16. Debian 13.3 Cinnamon and a fresh Windows 11 installation; Windows edition/build unconfirmed.
Disclosure: YouTube paid-promotion notice, affiliate links and manufacturer coupon disclosed. Exact unit acquisition terms unconfirmed.
-
MINISFORUM. MINISFORUM product specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX barebone
-
ServeTheHome. The BEST 25GbE Homelab Node Minisforum MS-02 Ultra. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5-4800, 1TB SSD, 25GbE adapter
Disclosure: ServeTheHome did not state how the review unit was acquired.
-
ETA PRIME. The Most Versatile Mini PC Ever! MS-02 Ultra First Look. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX, 64GB DDR5, 1TB SSD, Windows, low-profile RTX 5060; 90 W PL1 and 110 W PL2
Disclosure: ETA PRIME did not state how the unit was acquired; the description contains affiliate links and the video includes a sponsored software-key segment.
-
NASCompares. Minisforum MS-02 Ultra Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 9 285HX, non-ECC memory and installed storage; capacities not stated
Disclosure: NASCompares said MINISFORUM supplied the hardware without payment or advance review; the description contains affiliate links.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition
- Uses a smaller 0.47 liter enclosure
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra
- Supports 192 GB more memory
- Provides 4 storage slots versus 2
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | A5 Pro 2026 Edition | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 5 7530U | Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX |
| Cores / threads | 6 / 12 | 24 / 24 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 55 W |
| Integrated graphics | AMD Radeon Graphics | Intel Graphics |
Memory and storage
| Specification | A5 Pro 2026 Edition | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR4 SO-DIMM | DDR5-4800 ECC SODIMM |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 256 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 4 |
Connectivity
| Specification | A5 Pro 2026 Edition | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 × 2.5GbE | Dual 25GbE + 10GbE + 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | No | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | No |
Size and price
| Specification | A5 Pro 2026 Edition | MS-02 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.47 liters | 4.8 liters |
| List price | Not published | $1,449 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Mini workstation |