GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition vs MINISFORUM AI X1
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB DDR5, 2TB SSD
MINISFORUM AI X1
Ryzen 7 255 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / silver chassis / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 1151 points
The stock single-module configuration scored up to 1,151 points in Cinebench 2024 multi-core.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 6:54 -
Cinebench 2024 single-core 119 points
The stock single-module configuration scored up to 119 points in Cinebench 2024 single-core.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 6:56 -
Geekbench 6 multi-core 11283 points
The stock single-module configuration scored 11,283 points in Geekbench 6 multi-core.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 7:11 -
PCMark 10 8003 points
The stock single-module configuration scored 8,003 points in PCMark 10.
PCMark 10 · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 7:34
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
PCMark 10 Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
PugetBench for Photoshop 8088 points
The stock single-module configuration scored 8,088 points in PugetBench for Photoshop.
PugetBench for Adobe Photoshop · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 7:46 -
PugetBench for Premiere Pro 19423 points
The stock single-module configuration scored 19,423 points in PugetBench for Premiere Pro.
PugetBench for Adobe Premiere Pro · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 8:00
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
PugetBench for Photoshop Not available
-
PugetBench for Premiere Pro Not available
3Can it game?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Counter-Strike 2 stock memory 125 fps
The stock single-channel configuration averaged 125 FPS with a 72 FPS 1% low in Counter-Strike 2.
Counter-Strike 2 benchmark · 1080p low; stock 32 GB single-channel memory
Toasty Bros · 12:34 -
Counter-Strike 2 dual channel 193.5 fps
With a 16 GB dual-channel kit installed, the average increased to 193.5 FPS and the 1% low to 111 FPS.
Counter-Strike 2 benchmark · 1080p low; reviewer-installed 16 GB dual-channel memory
Toasty Bros · 12:37 -
Time Spy stock memory 2279 points
The stock single-channel configuration scored 2,279 overall in 3DMark Time Spy, with a 2,023 graphics score and 8,107 CPU score.
3DMark Time Spy · Stock 32 GB single-channel memory
Toasty Bros · 12:49 -
Time Spy dual channel 3602 points
The reviewer-installed 16 GB dual-channel kit raised the Time Spy result to 3,602 overall and 3,233 for graphics.
3DMark Time Spy · Reviewer-installed 16 GB dual-channel memory
Toasty Bros · 12:58 -
Night Raid memory comparison 20334 points
The Night Raid total score increased from 20,334 with stock single-channel memory to 29,752 with the dual-channel kit.
3DMark Night Raid · Stock single-channel result; dual-channel result reported separately as 29,752
Toasty Bros · 13:08
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Counter-Strike 2 stock memory Not available
-
Counter-Strike 2 dual channel Not available
-
Time Spy stock memory Not available
-
Time Spy dual channel Not available
-
Night Raid memory comparison Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Idle noise 30 to 33 dBA
Hubwood measured about 30 to 33 dBA at idle from 50 cm away in balanced fan mode.
Windows desktop idle · Balanced fan mode; 50 cm measurement distance
Hubwood · 6:02 -
Cinebench load noise 42 dBA
Hubwood measured about 42 dBA during a longer all-core Cinebench run.
Long Cinebench all-core run · Balanced fan mode; 50 cm measurement distance
Hubwood · 6:20 -
Memory thermal issue
With two memory modules installed, Hubwood observed memory overheating and severe frame-time stutter in modern games after several minutes in silent and balanced fan modes. Performance fan mode avoided the issue in his test.
Modern games after several minutes · 64 GB dual-channel configuration; silent and balanced fan modes
Hubwood · 10:15 -
Fan noise did not intrude during review Not available
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Idle noise Not available
-
Cinebench load noise Not available
-
Memory thermal issue Not available
-
Fan noise did not intrude during review
Mr. Sujano described the fans as audible but unobtrusive during his use of the Ryzen 7 255 model. This is his subjective experience, without a comparable sound-pressure measurement.
Mr. Sujano · 7:40
5How much electricity does it use?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Idle wall power 9 W
Hubwood reported about 9 W for the complete system at idle.
Windows desktop idle · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration
Hubwood · 5:38
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Idle wall power Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Tested configuration
Hubwood tested the stock 32 GB single-module configuration with a 2 TB Kingston PCIe 4.0 SSD, then added a second 32 GB module for comparison tests.
Review-unit identification · Stock 32 GB single-channel configuration and reviewer-installed 64 GB dual-channel configuration
Hubwood · 1:05 -
SSD sequential throughput 5 GB/s
Hubwood reported about 5 GB/s for both reads and writes from the stock 2 TB Kingston SSD.
Sequential SSD test · Stock 2 TB Kingston PCIe 4.0 SSD
Hubwood · 1:25 -
Storage is upgradeable Not available
-
OCuLink takes the second SSD slot Not available
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Tested configuration Not available
-
SSD sequential throughput Not available
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
OCuLink takes the second SSD slot
Robtech installed the supplied M.2-to-OCuLink adapter in the second storage slot. Using that adapter leaves room for one internal M.2 SSD in the reviewed AI X1.
Robtech · 3:54
7Is it good value?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Manufacturer list price $1,599
GEEKOM lists the Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 configuration with 32GB of memory and a 2TB SSD at $1,599 before temporary discounts.
Manufacturer retail-price check · Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB RAM, 2TB SSD
GEEKOM -
Reviewer value assessment HX 370 predecessor preferred
Hubwood recommended the less-expensive HX 370 predecessor over the reviewed HX 470 model because the newer processor delivered little noticeable improvement while costing about $200 more at review time.
Review-date model and price comparison · Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, one 32GB DDR5-5600 module, 2TB Kingston PCIe 4.0 SSD
Hubwood · 4:01
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Manufacturer list price Not available
-
Reviewer value assessment Not available
8Will it be dependable?
GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
-
Hardware warranty 3 years
GEEKOM states that the A9 Max includes a standard three-year warranty covering hardware defects and manufacturing issues.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
GEEKOM -
Reviewer memory-thermal caveat Stock RAM throttled in gaming
Hubwood reported that the stock single-module memory configuration throttled from overheating during gaming and advised using two modules or replacing the included 32GB stick. This is a review-unit finding, not long-term reliability evidence.
Gaming thermal observation · Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, one 32GB DDR5-5600 module, 2TB Kingston PCIe 4.0 SSD
Hubwood · 14:20 -
Protective film left on a thermal pad Not available
MINISFORUM AI X1
-
Hardware warranty Not available
-
Reviewer memory-thermal caveat Not available
-
Protective film left on a thermal pad
Robtech found protective plastic still covering a memory/storage thermal pad in his review sample and left it in place for his thermal tests. This is a fault observed on that unit, not an established failure rate.
Robtech · 3:35
References
-
GEEKOM. GEEKOM product specifications. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB DDR5, 2TB SSD
-
Hubwood. The AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 Is Here! GEEKOM A9 MAX Mini-PC Reviewed. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Stock: Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, one 32GB DDR5-5600 module, 2TB Kingston PCIe 4.0 SSD; 64GB dual-channel configuration tested separately
Disclosure: Hubwood said GEEKOM sent the unit, with no payment, editorial control, or publishing obligation.
-
Toasty Bros. Gaming on a POWERFUL Mini PC - Geekom A9 Max 2026. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Stock: Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, one 32GB DDR5-5600 module, 2TB SSD; 16GB dual-channel kit tested separately
Disclosure: GEEKOM sponsored the video and the description contains compensated affiliate links; unit acquisition was not separately stated.
-
MINISFORUM. AI X1 specifications and US configurations. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 255 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / silver chassis / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Robtech. The Most Requested Mini PC Review - Minisforum AI X1. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 H 255 / 32GB Crucial DDR5-5600 / 1TB Kingston PCIe 4 SSD / Windows 11 Pro; firmware unconfirmed. OCuLink adapter installed during review.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied a free review sample; affiliate links disclosed.
-
Mr. Sujano. Mini PC that packs a Punch: minisforum AI X1 review - AMD Ryzen 7 255. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 255 / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows; OS edition, firmware and installed memory layout unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Reviewer says MINISFORUM sent the unit; affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A9 Max 2026 Edition
- Supports 64 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM AI X1
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | A9 Max 2026 Edition | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 | AMD Ryzen 7 255 |
| Cores / threads | 12 / 24 | 8 / 16 |
| Processor default TDP | 28 W | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | Radeon 890M | AMD Radeon 780M |
Memory and storage
| Specification | A9 Max 2026 Edition | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR5-5600 SODIMM | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 64 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | A9 Max 2026 Edition | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | Dual 2.5GbE | 1 × 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | No | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | A9 Max 2026 Edition | AI X1 |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 0.82 liters | Not published |
| List price | $1,599 | Not published |
| Product class | AI mini PC | Not assigned |