GEEKOM A9 Mega vs GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

GEEKOM A9 Mega shown horizontally and upright in its silver aluminum chassis
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus shown from front and rear
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

GEEKOM A9 Mega

Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD

Check price Amazon affiliate link

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Retail operating system Windows 11 Pro

2Can it handle sustained work?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Owner-tested local AI 26B and 27B models demonstrated
  • Sustained power target 120 W sustained target

3Can it game?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Integrated graphics Radeon 8060S, 40 CUs
  • Pre-production gaming demonstration Hands-on prototype; no FPS retained

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Integrated graphics Not available
  • Pre-production gaming demonstration Not available

4Is it loud or hot?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Cooling hardware Dual fan plus vapor chamber
  • Independent acoustics status No controlled dB result
  • Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit Not available

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Cooling hardware Not available
  • Independent acoustics status Not available
  • Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit

5How much electricity does it use?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Processor power range 45-120 W cTDP
  • Power adapter 330 W adapter

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Storage expansion 2x M.2 2280, up to 8TB
  • High-speed I/O 2x USB4 and 2x 2.5GbE

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Memory is upgradeable Yes
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Storage expansion Not available
  • High-speed I/O Not available

7Is it good value?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Manufacturer price $3,999
  • Verified Amazon configuration B0GL8XB8KX

8Will it be dependable?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Hardware warranty 3 years
  • Memory serviceability Fixed memory; replaceable storage
  • Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
  • A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks Not available

GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

  • Hardware warranty Not available
  • Memory serviceability Not available
  • Ubuntu detected the main devices
  • A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks

References

  1. GEEKOM. GEEKOM A9 Mega. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: GMA9MEGAAIMAX+395-1282-US: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications, current price, availability, warranty, and return terms.

  2. Takashi Yoshinaga. Testing Local LLMs on GEEKOM A9 Mega. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Owner-purchased GEEKOM A9 Mega with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB unified memory; installed SSD capacity is not stated

    Disclosure: The description states that the reviewer purchased the machine as a dedicated AI system; no affiliate or sponsorship disclosure appears.

  3. TechGround in English. Testing the Most Powerful MINI PC Ever: 128GB RAM on the GEEKOM A9 Mega at IFA. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Pre-production A9 Mega show-floor unit with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X memory

    Disclosure: The video was recorded at GEEKOM's IFA booth and its description contains Amazon affiliate links.

  4. GMKtec. NucBox G3 Plus specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  5. Lon.TV. My Favorite Cheap Mini PC Gets an N150 Upgrade! GMKTec G3 Plus Review. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 512GB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Ubuntu tested; version and firmware unconfirmed. Green review unit.

    Disclosure: Reviewer purchased the G3 Plus; no payment for the review. Compensated affiliate links disclosed.

  6. Jeff Geerling. When did Raspberry Pis get so expensive?. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / original 512GB AirDisk SSD replaced by a 1TB TeamGroup TM8FP4001T for Ubuntu 24.04 testing, Linux 6.12.3. Balanced and High Performance modes; firmware version unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: GMKtec supplied the review unit but did not pay for the video. Reviewer states no GMKtec affiliate participation; Amazon affiliate links disclosed. Supporting system configuration record: https://github.com/geerlingguy/sbc-reviews/issues/64

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Supports 96 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox G3 Plus
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Intel N150
Cores / threads16 / 324 / 4
Processor default TDP120 WNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute unitsIntel UHD Graphics

Memory and storage

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox G3 Plus
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardDDR4-3200 SO-DIMM
Maximum memory128 GB32 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoYes
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox G3 Plus
EthernetDual 2.5GbE1 x 2.5GbE, Intel i226-V
WirelessWi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4Realtek 8852BE Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesNo
ThunderboltNoNo

Size and price

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox G3 Plus
Enclosure volumeNot publishedNot published
List price$4,399Not published
Product classLarge local AI modelsNot assigned