GEEKOM A9 Mega vs GMKtec NucBox K16

GEEKOM A9 Mega shown horizontally and upright in its silver aluminum chassis
Metallic gray GMKtec NucBox K16 showing front and rear ports
VS

Check current prices

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

GEEKOM A9 Mega

Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD

Check price Amazon affiliate link

GMKtec NucBox K16

Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug

Search Amazon Amazon affiliate link

Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.

iThese are manufacturer-sourced specifications, not MiniPCBench test results. Confirm the exact processor, memory, storage, price, and availability before buying.
Memory
Storage

1Is it fast for normal work?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Retail operating system Windows 11 Pro

2Can it handle sustained work?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Owner-tested local AI 26B and 27B models demonstrated
  • Sustained power target 120 W sustained target

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Owner-tested local AI Not available
  • Sustained power target Not available

3Can it game?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Integrated graphics Radeon 8060S, 40 CUs
  • Pre-production gaming demonstration Hands-on prototype; no FPS retained

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Integrated graphics Not available
  • Pre-production gaming demonstration Not available

4Is it loud or hot?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Cooling hardware Dual fan plus vapor chamber
  • Independent acoustics status No controlled dB result
  • Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode Not available
  • Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2 Not available

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Cooling hardware Not available
  • Independent acoustics status Not available
  • Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode
  • Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2

5How much electricity does it use?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Processor power range 45-120 W cTDP
  • Power adapter 330 W adapter
  • Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock Not available

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Processor power range Not available
  • Power adapter Not available
  • Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock

6Can I upgrade and connect everything?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present No
  • Storage expansion 2x M.2 2280, up to 8TB
  • High-speed I/O 2x USB4 and 2x 2.5GbE

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Memory is upgradeable No
  • Storage is upgradeable Yes
  • Thunderbolt is present Not available
  • Storage expansion Not available
  • High-speed I/O Not available

7Is it good value?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Manufacturer price $3,999
  • Verified Amazon configuration B0GL8XB8KX

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Manufacturer price Not available
  • Verified Amazon configuration Not available

8Will it be dependable?

GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Hardware warranty 3 years
  • Memory serviceability Fixed memory; replaceable storage

GMKtec NucBox K16

  • Hardware warranty Not available
  • Memory serviceability Not available

References

  1. GEEKOM. GEEKOM A9 Mega. Product page. . Accessed .

    Configuration: GMA9MEGAAIMAX+395-1282-US: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications, current price, availability, warranty, and return terms.

  2. Takashi Yoshinaga. Testing Local LLMs on GEEKOM A9 Mega. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Owner-purchased GEEKOM A9 Mega with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB unified memory; installed SSD capacity is not stated

    Disclosure: The description states that the reviewer purchased the machine as a dedicated AI system; no affiliate or sponsorship disclosure appears.

  3. TechGround in English. Testing the Most Powerful MINI PC Ever: 128GB RAM on the GEEKOM A9 Mega at IFA. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Pre-production A9 Mega show-floor unit with Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and 128GB LPDDR5X memory

    Disclosure: The video was recorded at GEEKOM's IFA booth and its description contains Amazon affiliate links.

  4. GMKtec. NucBox K16 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug

    Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.

  5. Team Pandory. GMKtec K16 Review: Premium Ryzen 7 Mini PC w/ Oculink. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 512GB PCIe 3.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro 24H2. Balanced and Performance modes tested; firmware version unconfirmed.

    Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.

  6. Mash IT. GMKtec NucBox K16 - An affordable PC in 2026!!. Video review. . Accessed .

    Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 1TB SSD. Windows edition and firmware version unconfirmed; Performance mode used for Dota 2.

    Disclosure: Affiliate links disclosed; review-unit acquisition unconfirmed.

Value for money

No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.

Specification differences

Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications

Higher listed specifications for GEEKOM A9 Mega

  • Supports 96 GB more memory

Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K16

Verified specifications

Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status

Processor

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox K16
CPUAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395AMD Ryzen 7 7735HS
Cores / threads16 / 328 / 16
Processor default TDP120 WNot disclosed
Integrated graphicsAMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute unitsAMD Radeon 680M

Memory and storage

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox K16
Memory typeLPDDR5X-8000 onboardLPDDR5-6400 onboard
Maximum memory128 GB32 GB
Upgradeable memoryNoNo
Storage slots22

Connectivity

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox K16
EthernetDual 2.5GbE2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG
WirelessWi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4MediaTek RZ616 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2
USB4YesYes
ThunderboltNoNot published

Size and price

SpecificationA9 MegaNucBox K16
Enclosure volumeNot publishedNot published
List price$4,399Not published
Product classLarge local AI modelsNot assigned