GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus vs HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
BM6N6UT#ABA: Core Ultra 9 285K, 32GB DDR5-6400, 1TB PCIe 5.0 SSD, RTX 2000 Ada 16GB, Windows 11 Pro High End
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Exact workstation configuration Not available
-
Commercially aligned hands-on Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Exact workstation configuration 24 cores / 32GB / 1TB
BM6N6UT#ABA pairs a 24-core desktop Core Ultra 9 285K with dual-channel 32GB DDR5-6400 memory and a 1TB PCIe 5.0 SSD. MiniPCBench has not independently tested this configuration.
Exact manufacturer-part verification · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
B&H Photo Video -
Commercially aligned hands-on Same CPU/GPU; partial identity
Shukun physically examined a G1i with the same processor, GPU, and 1TB storage class and published benchmark screenshots. Because its memory and regional part identity are not clear in accessible text and the article is labeled Brand Message, no numeric result is imported.
CPU-Z, GPU-Z, Geekbench, PCMark, and storage checks · Core Ultra 9 285K; RTX 2000 Ada; 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD; memory and part unknown
Shukun E-commerce / T客邦
2Can it handle sustained work?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Blender Classroom Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 1789 points
Principled Technologies reported 1,789 in Cinebench 2024 multi-core for an HP-supplied Z2 Mini G1i with a Core Ultra 7 265, 64GB, and RTX 4000 SFF Ada. All three major compute components differ from BM6N6UT#ABA, so the result is attributed family evidence only.
Cinebench 2024 CPU multi-core · Core Ultra 7 265; 64GB DDR5-6400; 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD; RTX 4000 SFF Ada; HP-provided system
Principled Technologies · 0:00 -
Blender Classroom 91.7 samples/min
The same HP-commissioned lab report measured 91.7 samples per minute in Blender Classroom. The different CPU, memory, and RTX 4000 SFF Ada GPU prevent exact-config comparison or scoring.
Blender benchmark Classroom · Core Ultra 7 265; 64GB DDR5-6400; 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD; RTX 4000 SFF Ada; HP-provided system
Principled Technologies · 0:00
3Can it game?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Professional discrete graphics Not available
-
No proxy gaming result Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Professional discrete graphics RTX 2000 Ada 16GB
The RTX 2000 Ada supplies 16GB of dedicated GDDR6 and four Mini DisplayPort outputs. It is a professional workstation GPU; no exact-config game, resolution, preset, and frame-rate measurements were found.
Exact graphics configuration check · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
B&H Photo Video -
No proxy gaming result Exact gaming data unavailable
Results from RTX 4000 SFF Ada systems, integrated-graphics G1i configurations, and the AMD Z2 Mini G1a were not used as substitutes for this RTX 2000 Ada model.
Configuration-match audit · Core Ultra 9 285K and RTX 2000 Ada
HP
4Is it loud or hot?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit
Jeff Geerling reported overheating and inconsistent results in a 7-Zip benchmark on his review unit. Repasting did not fully resolve his concern; removing the cover and adding airflow let him complete consistent comparisons. His later benchmark results use that modified cooling setup.
Jeff Geerling · 7:31 -
Manufacturer-declared idle noise Not available
-
Exact thermals unavailable Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Memory-heavy stress exposed a cooling limit Not available
-
Manufacturer-declared idle noise 18 dBA
HP's QuickSpecs declares 18 dBA at idle for a mid-level factory reference with a 65W Core Ultra 9 285, 96GB, RTX 2000 Ada, and two 4TB SSDs. The processor, memory, and storage differ from BM6N6UT#ABA, and this is manufacturer-declared acoustic data rather than an independent exact-config test.
ISO-style declared idle acoustics on floor · HP mid-level reference: Core Ultra 9 285 65W; 96GB; RTX 2000 Ada; 2x 4TB SSD; 280W adapter
HP · 0:00 -
Exact thermals unavailable Not independently measured
HP documents selectable High Performance, Performance, Quiet, and Rack modes, but no independent source published reproducible temperature, throttling, or sound-pressure results for BM6N6UT#ABA.
Broad acoustic and thermal evidence search · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
HP
5How much electricity does it use?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
External power adapter Not available
-
No exact wall-power test Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
External power adapter 280W external
The exact US part ships with a 280W external adapter. Adapter capacity is not a wall-power measurement and does not establish idle, typical, or peak consumption.
Exact configuration check · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
B&H Photo Video -
No exact wall-power test Exact result unavailable
The reviewed sources did not publish a traceable wall-power result for the Core Ultra 9 285K and RTX 2000 Ada configuration.
Power evidence match check · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
HP
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Internal expansion Not available
-
Optional Flex I/O Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
Internal expansion 2 SO-DIMM / 2 M.2 / low-profile PCIe
Tool-free access exposes two SO-DIMM slots, two M.2 2280 PCIe 5.0 storage slots, a replaceable M.2 wireless card, and the low-profile PCIe slot occupied by the RTX 2000 Ada. The factory configuration fills both memory slots and one SSD slot.
Manufacturer and retailer expansion check · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
HP -
Optional Flex I/O One unpopulated optional-module position
HP offers Thunderbolt 4, faster Ethernet, extra USB, and other modules for the family, but the exact part record describes them as optional and does not identify one as installed.
Exact included-port check · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
B&H Photo Video
7Is it good value?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Current exact-part offer Not available
-
Amazon identity unresolved Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Current exact-part offer $4,073.76 at B&H
B&H listed BM6N6UT#ABA at $4,073.76 as a special-order item with an expected six-to-eight-week lead time when checked. The catalog stores no MSRP because reseller prices varied and a stable manufacturer list price was not verified.
Exact-part retail-price check · BM6N6UT#ABA; checked 2026-08-25
B&H Photo Video -
Amazon identity unresolved No verified exact Amazon listing
No current Amazon page could be independently matched to manufacturer part BM6N6UT#ABA. A generic affiliate link without verifiable exact-part identity was not added.
Amazon exact-configuration search · BM6N6UT#ABA; Core Ultra 9 285K; 32GB; 1TB; RTX 2000 Ada
B&H Photo Video
8Will it be dependable?
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
-
Ubuntu detected the main devices
Lon.TV reported working display, audio, Wi-Fi, Ethernet and Bluetooth after installing Ubuntu on his 16GB/512GB G3 Plus. The Ubuntu version was not specified, so this is limited to his tested setup.
Lon.TV · 10:32 -
A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks
Jeff Geerling could not run some GPU benchmarks with his initial Ubuntu setup. Updating to Linux 6.12 enabled GLMark2 and GravityMark. His published system record identifies Ubuntu 24.04 with kernel 6.12.3 and a replacement SSD.
Jeff Geerling · 6:01 -
Included limited warranty Not available
-
Workstation validation Not available
-
Serviceable core components Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
-
Ubuntu detected the main devices Not available
-
A newer Linux kernel enabled graphics benchmarks Not available
-
Included limited warranty 1-year limited warranty
The exact B&H package specifies a one-year limited manufacturer warranty and one year of HP Wolf Pro Security. Longer HP Care Pack coverage is optional rather than credited as included.
Exact package and warranty check · HP BM6N6UT#ABA
B&H Photo Video -
Workstation validation ISV-certified family; HP validation program
HP describes the family as ISV certified and says Z workstations undergo MIL-STD durability checks and 360,000 hours of testing. These are manufacturer program claims, not MiniPCBench endurance results for this unit.
Manufacturer reliability-program check · HP Z2 Mini G1i family
HP -
Serviceable core components Tool-free internal access
HP's tool-free cover and replaceable memory, storage, wireless card, and low-profile graphics card improve field serviceability, subject to HP qualification and part compatibility.
Manufacturer serviceability check · HP Z2 Mini G1i family
HP
References
-
GMKtec. NucBox G3 Plus specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Lon.TV. My Favorite Cheap Mini PC Gets an N150 Upgrade! GMKTec G3 Plus Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4-3200 / 512GB NVMe SSD / Windows 11 Pro. Ubuntu tested; version and firmware unconfirmed. Green review unit.
Disclosure: Reviewer purchased the G3 Plus; no payment for the review. Compensated affiliate links disclosed.
-
Jeff Geerling. When did Raspberry Pis get so expensive?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Intel N150 / 16GB DDR4 / original 512GB AirDisk SSD replaced by a 1TB TeamGroup TM8FP4001T for Ubuntu 24.04 testing, Linux 6.12.3. Balanced and High Performance modes; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: GMKtec supplied the review unit but did not pay for the video. Reviewer states no GMKtec affiliate participation; Amazon affiliate links disclosed. Supporting system configuration record: https://github.com/geerlingguy/sbc-reviews/issues/64
-
HP. HP Z2 Mini G1i Workstation Desktop PC. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Z2 Mini G1i family with up to Core Ultra 9 K-series processors, RTX 4000 SFF Ada, 128GB DDR5, two M.2 slots, optional Flex I/O, and 280W adapter
Disclosure: Manufacturer family overview, port map, expansion claims, official image, and workstation-program claims. Family maxima and optional features are not treated as installed on the exact part.
-
HP. HP Z2 Mini G1i Workstation QuickSpecs c09133727. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Worldwide Z2 Mini G1i family specifications, component matrix, service expansion, networking, dimensions, and manufacturer-declared reference acoustics
Disclosure: Manufacturer technical document. Reference acoustic configurations differ from BM6N6UT#ABA and are excluded from scoring.
-
B&H Photo Video. HP Z2 Mini G1i Workstation BM6N6UT#ABA. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: HP MPN BM6N6UT#ABA: Core Ultra 9 285K, 32GB 2x16 DDR5-6400, 1TB PCIe 5.0 NVMe SSD, RTX 2000 Ada 16GB, Windows 11 Pro High End, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 5.4, 280W adapter
Disclosure: HP-authorized retailer record used for exact fixed-part identity, included hardware, warranty, availability, and current price. No customer benchmark data are imported.
-
Shukun E-commerce / T客邦. HP Z2 Mini G1i workstation unboxing and hands-on testing. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Physical G1i with Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada, and 1TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD; regional part and installed memory not clearly stated in accessible text
Disclosure: Retailer-hosted article labeled Brand Message. It includes original physical and benchmark screenshots but does not disclose unit custody in accessible text; no numeric result is imported.
-
Principled Technologies. Jumpstart graphics-intensive workloads with the HP Z2 Mini G1i. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core Ultra 7 265, 64GB DDR5-6400, 1TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe storage, NVIDIA RTX 4000 SFF Ada, Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: HP commissioned the comparison and supplied both systems. Processor, memory, and GPU differ from BM6N6UT#ABA; every result is excluded from scoring.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus
Higher listed specifications for HP Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada)
- Supports 96 GB more memory
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | NucBox G3 Plus | Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada) |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel N150 | Intel Core Ultra 9 285K |
| Cores / threads | 4 / 4 | 24 / 24 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 125 W |
| Integrated graphics | Intel UHD Graphics | NVIDIA RTX 2000 Ada Generation discrete graphics with 16GB GDDR6 and four Mini DisplayPort outputs |
Memory and storage
| Specification | NucBox G3 Plus | Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada) |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | DDR4-3200 SO-DIMM | 2x 16GB DDR5-6400 SO-DIMM, non-ECC |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | Yes | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | NucBox G3 Plus | Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada) |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 x 2.5GbE, Intel i226-V | Integrated Intel I219-LM Gigabit Ethernet |
| Wireless | Realtek 8852BE Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 | Wi-Fi 7 2x2 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | No | No |
| Thunderbolt | No | No |
Size and price
| Specification | NucBox G3 Plus | Z2 Mini G1i (Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada) |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | 3.17 liters |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Not assigned | Compact ISV-certified CAD, rendering, and professional visualization workstation |