GMKtec NucBox K16 vs HP Z2 Mini G1a
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
GMKtec NucBox K16
Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug
HP Z2 Mini G1a
BN8E8UA#ABA: Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, 1TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2934 points
Andrew Marc David measured 2,934 in Geekbench 6 single-core on HP's 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; two 1TB HP Z Turbo SSDs; HP-supplied review unit
Andrew Marc David · 7:00
2Can it handle sustained work?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
3DMark Time Spy stress-test stability Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core 16687 points
The same HP-supplied 128GB unit scored 16,687 in Geekbench 6 multi-core.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; two 1TB HP Z Turbo SSDs
Andrew Marc David · 7:00 -
3DMark Time Spy stress-test stability 97 %
Andrew Marc David reported a 97 percent pass result in the 3DMark Time Spy stress test, which he interpreted as little observed throttling during that run.
3DMark Time Spy stress test · 128GB/2TB review unit; HP default performance configuration; run length not narrated
Andrew Marc David · 8:35
3Can it game?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Gaming capability Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Gaming capability Playable with adjusted settings
Andrew Marc David found the Radeon 8060S capable of playable frame rates with adjusted settings, but the narration did not state complete game, resolution, preset, and frame-rate combinations suitable for a catalog measurement.
Review gaming suite · 128GB/2TB review unit; individual on-screen results not normalized
Andrew Marc David · 7:55
4Is it loud or hot?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode
Team Pandory found the fan loud during gaming in Balanced mode on his 32GB/512GB K16, with more noise in Performance mode. This is an attributed observation, not a standardized noise measurement.
Team Pandory · 11:27 -
Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2
Mash IT said he hardly noticed the fan while playing Dota 2 in Performance mode on his 32GB/1TB K16. His result differs from Team Pandory's load test; firmware and room conditions were not established as equivalent.
Mash IT · 8:07 -
Maximum-load noise Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 noise Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Fan was loud under load in Balanced mode Not available
-
Fan was barely noticeable during Dota 2 Not available
-
Maximum-load noise 70 dB
Andrew Marc David reported up to 70 dB under maximum load. The review did not state microphone distance or ambient noise, so the result is retained as attributed evidence only.
Maximum-load noise test · 128GB/2TB review unit; measurement distance and room floor not reported
Andrew Marc David · 8:04 -
Cyberpunk 2077 noise 67 dB
The same reviewer reported about 67 dB while running Cyberpunk 2077, again without a documented measurement distance or ambient floor.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 128GB/2TB review unit; game settings, measurement distance, and room floor not reported
Andrew Marc David · 8:10
5How much electricity does it use?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock
Mash IT unplugged the barrel power supply and powered the K16 from a 100W USB-C dock. This verifies that connection in his setup; it does not establish compatibility with every dock or sustained performance at every power limit.
Mash IT · 9:53 -
Internal power supply Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Booted from a USB-C power-delivery dock Not available
-
Internal power supply 300W internal
HP equips this configuration with a 300W internal power supply rated up to 92 percent efficiency, avoiding an external power brick.
Manufacturer power-supply check · BN8E8UA#ABA
HP
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Expansion and service access Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Expansion and service access 2x M.2 plus 2x Flex I/O
HP provides two PCIe 4.0 x4 M.2 2280 storage slots, a replaceable M.2 2230 wireless card, two configurable rear Flex I/O positions, and tool-free cover removal. The processor and 128GB memory are fixed to the board.
Manufacturer and teardown expansion check · Z2 Mini G1a chassis
Andrew Marc David · 3:51
7Is it good value?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Retail availability Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Retail availability Currently unavailable from HP
HP still identifies BN8E8UA#ABA as the exact 128GB/1TB US configuration, but its product page displayed $0.00 and could not be purchased when checked. No current price is published until HP exposes a valid offer.
Manufacturer retail-price check · BN8E8UA#ABA; Windows 11 Pro; 128GB; 1TB SSD
HP
8Will it be dependable?
GMKtec NucBox K16
-
Included workstation warranty Not available
-
Workstation validation Not available
-
Reviewer warranty check Not available
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Included workstation warranty 3 years on-site
HP lists three years of parts, labor, and on-site repair for the exact US Wolf Pro Security retail configuration.
Manufacturer warranty check · BN8E8UA#ABA
HP -
Workstation validation ISV certified; HP validation program
HP describes the platform as ISV certified and says the Z2 Mini line undergoes 360,000 hours of testing. Those are manufacturer program claims, not this catalog's own endurance testing.
Manufacturer reliability-program check · Z2 Mini G1a family
HP -
Reviewer warranty check 36 months
Andrew Marc David confirmed that the reviewed Z2 Mini G1a configuration included a 36-month warranty. This is coverage information, not evidence of long-term failure rates.
Review-unit warranty check · Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, two 1TB HP Z Turbo PCIe 4.0 SSDs
Andrew Marc David · 5:07
References
-
GMKtec. NucBox K16 specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5 / 1TB SSD / Windows 11 Pro / metallic gray / US plug
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
Team Pandory. GMKtec K16 Review: Premium Ryzen 7 Mini PC w/ Oculink. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 512GB PCIe 3.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro 24H2. Balanced and Performance modes tested; firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Free review unit and affiliate links disclosed; no other payment for coverage.
-
Mash IT. GMKtec NucBox K16 - An affordable PC in 2026!!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen 7 7735HS / 32GB LPDDR5-6400 / 1TB SSD. Windows edition and firmware version unconfirmed; Performance mode used for Dota 2.
Disclosure: Affiliate links disclosed; review-unit acquisition unconfirmed.
-
HP. HP Z2 Mini G1a Next Gen AI Desktop Workstation with 3 Yr Warranty & Wolf Pro Security. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: BN8E8UA#ABA: Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8533, 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD, Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: Manufacturer retail identity, specifications, availability, and warranty.
-
HP. HP Z2 Mini G1a Workstation Desktop PC. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Z2 Mini G1a family with up to Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 and 128GB unified memory
Disclosure: Manufacturer family overview and workstation-program claims.
-
Andrew Marc David. HP Z2 Mini G1a: The Mac Studio KILLER?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, two 1TB HP Z Turbo PCIe 4.0 SSDs
Disclosure: The reviewer states HP supplied the workstation and the companion monitor. No product-specific sponsor or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for GMKtec NucBox K16
Higher listed specifications for HP Z2 Mini G1a
- Supports 96 GB more memory
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | NucBox K16 | Z2 Mini G1a |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 7 7735HS | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 |
| Cores / threads | 8 / 16 | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | AMD Radeon 680M | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units |
Memory and storage
| Specification | NucBox K16 | Z2 Mini G1a |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5-6400 onboard | LPDDR5X-8533 onboard |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | NucBox K16 | Z2 Mini G1a |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2 x 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8125BG | 2.5GbE (Realtek RTL8125B) |
| Wireless | MediaTek RZ616 Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 | MediaTek MT7925 Wi-Fi 7 (2x2) + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Not published | Yes |
Size and price
| Specification | NucBox K16 | Z2 Mini G1a |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | Not published |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Not assigned | Managed local-AI workstation |