HP Z2 Mini G1a vs MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
HP Z2 Mini G1a
BN8E8UA#ABA: Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, 1TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop 8GB / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Geekbench 6 single-core 2934 points
Andrew Marc David measured 2,934 in Geekbench 6 single-core on HP's 128GB review unit.
Geekbench 6 single-core · Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; two 1TB HP Z Turbo SSDs; HP-supplied review unit
Andrew Marc David · 7:00
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Geekbench 6 single-core Not available
2Can it handle sustained work?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core 16687 points
The same HP-supplied 128GB unit scored 16,687 in Geekbench 6 multi-core.
Geekbench 6 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395; 128GB LPDDR5X; two 1TB HP Z Turbo SSDs
Andrew Marc David · 7:00 -
3DMark Time Spy stress-test stability 97 %
Andrew Marc David reported a 97 percent pass result in the 3DMark Time Spy stress test, which he interpreted as little observed throttling during that run.
3DMark Time Spy stress test · 128GB/2TB review unit; HP default performance configuration; run length not narrated
Andrew Marc David · 8:35
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Geekbench 6 multi-core Not available
-
3DMark Time Spy stress-test stability Not available
3Can it game?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Gaming capability Playable with adjusted settings
Andrew Marc David found the Radeon 8060S capable of playable frame rates with adjusted settings, but the narration did not state complete game, resolution, preset, and frame-rate combinations suitable for a catalog measurement.
Review gaming suite · 128GB/2TB review unit; individual on-screen results not normalized
Andrew Marc David · 7:55
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Gaming capability Not available
4Is it loud or hot?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Maximum-load noise 70 dB
Andrew Marc David reported up to 70 dB under maximum load. The review did not state microphone distance or ambient noise, so the result is retained as attributed evidence only.
Maximum-load noise test · 128GB/2TB review unit; measurement distance and room floor not reported
Andrew Marc David · 8:04 -
Cyberpunk 2077 noise 67 dB
The same reviewer reported about 67 dB while running Cyberpunk 2077, again without a documented measurement distance or ambient floor.
Cyberpunk 2077 gaming · 128GB/2TB review unit; game settings, measurement distance, and room floor not reported
Andrew Marc David · 8:10
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Maximum-load noise Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 noise Not available
5How much electricity does it use?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Internal power supply 300W internal
HP equips this configuration with a 300W internal power supply rated up to 92 percent efficiency, avoiding an external power brick.
Manufacturer power-supply check · BN8E8UA#ABA
HP
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Internal power supply Not available
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Yes
-
Expansion and service access 2x M.2 plus 2x Flex I/O
HP provides two PCIe 4.0 x4 M.2 2280 storage slots, a replaceable M.2 2230 wireless card, two configurable rear Flex I/O positions, and tool-free cover removal. The processor and 128GB memory are fixed to the board.
Manufacturer and teardown expansion check · Z2 Mini G1a chassis
Andrew Marc David · 3:51 -
One memory module in the reviewed unit Not available
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Memory is upgradeable Yes
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
Expansion and service access Not available
-
One memory module in the reviewed unit
TechTablets found one 32GB SO-DIMM and an empty second memory slot. Other reviewers received different layouts, so confirm the installed module count before buying.
TechTablets · 3:18
7Is it good value?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Retail availability Currently unavailable from HP
HP still identifies BN8E8UA#ABA as the exact 128GB/1TB US configuration, but its product page displayed $0.00 and could not be purchased when checked. No current price is published until HP exposes a valid offer.
Manufacturer retail-price check · BN8E8UA#ABA; Windows 11 Pro; 128GB; 1TB SSD
HP
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Retail availability Not available
8Will it be dependable?
HP Z2 Mini G1a
-
Included workstation warranty 3 years on-site
HP lists three years of parts, labor, and on-site repair for the exact US Wolf Pro Security retail configuration.
Manufacturer warranty check · BN8E8UA#ABA
HP -
Workstation validation ISV certified; HP validation program
HP describes the platform as ISV certified and says the Z2 Mini line undergoes 360,000 hours of testing. Those are manufacturer program claims, not this catalog's own endurance testing.
Manufacturer reliability-program check · Z2 Mini G1a family
HP -
Reviewer warranty check 36 months
Andrew Marc David confirmed that the reviewed Z2 Mini G1a configuration included a 36-month warranty. This is coverage information, not evidence of long-term failure rates.
Review-unit warranty check · Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, two 1TB HP Z Turbo PCIe 4.0 SSDs
Andrew Marc David · 5:07 -
Bazzite devices worked in one review Not available
-
Linux controls were limited Not available
-
Wi-Fi issue in an unspecified Mint build Not available
MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
-
Included workstation warranty Not available
-
Workstation validation Not available
-
Reviewer warranty check Not available
-
Bazzite devices worked in one review
Craft Computing reported working networking, audio, card reader and sleep without extra setup on his Bazzite installation. The exact distribution build was not disclosed; this does not establish compatibility with every Linux version.
Craft Computing · 16:18 -
Linux controls were limited
Craft Computing reported no manufacturer Linux application for changing power profiles or RGB lighting. He changed the power mode in firmware.
Craft Computing · 13:12 -
Wi-Fi issue in an unspecified Mint build
TechTablets reported a Wi-Fi 7 driver problem with his Linux Mint installation. He did not identify the release and said it might have been older. This differs from the Bazzite experience reported by Craft Computing.
TechTablets · 11:18
References
-
HP. HP Z2 Mini G1a Next Gen AI Desktop Workstation with 3 Yr Warranty & Wolf Pro Security. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: BN8E8UA#ABA: Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8533, 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD, Windows 11 Pro
Disclosure: Manufacturer retail identity, specifications, availability, and warranty.
-
HP. HP Z2 Mini G1a Workstation Desktop PC. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Z2 Mini G1a family with up to Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 and 128GB unified memory
Disclosure: Manufacturer family overview and workstation-program claims.
-
Andrew Marc David. HP Z2 Mini G1a: The Mac Studio KILLER?. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X, two 1TB HP Z Turbo PCIe 4.0 SSDs
Disclosure: The reviewer states HP supplied the workstation and the companion monitor. No product-specific sponsor or affiliate disclosure was found in the description.
-
MINISFORUM. AtomMan G7 Pro specifications and US configuration. Product page. Accessed .
Configuration: Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop 8GB / 32GB DDR5 / 1TB SSD / US adapter; included OS unconfirmed
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
TechTablets. Atomman G7 Pro Review - 14900HX & RTX 5070 SFF PC!. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop / one 32GB Crucial DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM / 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD / Windows 11 Pro; firmware version unconfirmed. Early review unit.
Disclosure: Unit acquisition and sponsorship were not specified in the inspected description.
-
Craft Computing. It's Not Me Microsoft, it's you... Switching my whole family to Linux. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Core i9-14900HX / RTX 5070 Laptop / 32GB DDR5-5200 across two SO-DIMMs / 1TB NVMe / Bazzite; distribution build, kernel and firmware version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: Manufacturer supplied a review unit; affiliate links disclosed.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for HP Z2 Mini G1a
- Supports 32 GB more memory
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | Z2 Mini G1a | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 | Intel Core i9-14900HX |
| Cores / threads | 16 / 32 | 24 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Integrated graphics | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPU, 8GB GDDR7 |
Memory and storage
| Specification | Z2 Mini G1a | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | LPDDR5X-8533 onboard | DDR5 SO-DIMM |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 96 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | Yes |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Z2 Mini G1a | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 2.5GbE (Realtek RTL8125B) | 1 × 2.5GbE |
| Wireless | MediaTek MT7925 Wi-Fi 7 (2x2) + Bluetooth 5.4 | Intel BE200 Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | Yes | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | Yes | Not published |
Size and price
| Specification | Z2 Mini G1a | AtomMan G7 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | Not published | Not published |
| List price | Not published | Not published |
| Product class | Managed local-AI workstation | Not assigned |