Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC vs MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
Check current prices
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
Snapdragon X X1-26-100 / 16GB LPDDR5X / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro on Arm
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB RAM, 2TB SSD, US
Amazon results may include other models. Verify the processor, memory, storage, and seller before buying.
| Memory | ||
|---|---|---|
| Storage |
1Is it fast for normal work?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Cinebench 2024 single-core 110 points
Jim's Garage measured 110 in Cinebench 2024 single-core on its exact 128GB review unit.
Cinebench 2024 single-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB/2TB review unit
Jim's Garage · 13:52
2Can it handle sustained work?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core Not available
-
Cinebench 2024 multi-core Not available
-
Qwen3 235B local inference Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Cinebench R23 multi-core 37062 points
Level1Techs measured 37,062 in Cinebench R23 multi-core on the MS-S1 Max.
Cinebench R23 multi-core · Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB review system
Level1Techs · 14:22 -
Cinebench 2024 multi-core 1886 points
Tech Notice measured 1,808 in Balanced mode and 1,886 after switching the same exact-config review system to Performance mode.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Performance BIOS mode; exact 128GB/2TB review unit
Tech Notice · 15:50 -
Qwen3 235B local inference 13.73 tokens/s
Jim's Garage reported 13.73 tokens per second for Qwen3 235B A22B Instruct Q3_K_XL under Ubuntu, with about 102GB of unified memory in use.
Qwen3 235B A22B Instruct 2507 Q3_K_XL local inference · Ubuntu bare metal; 1GB fixed graphics allocation; Performance BIOS mode; exact 128GB review unit
Jim's Garage · 22:13
3Can it game?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Final Fantasy XIV: Dawntrail Not available
-
Cyberpunk 2077 Not available
-
Kingdom Come: Deliverance II Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Final Fantasy XIV: Dawntrail 68 fps
Level1Techs measured 68 FPS at 1440p High in the Final Fantasy XIV: Dawntrail benchmark.
Final Fantasy XIV: Dawntrail benchmark · 1440p High preset; Radeon 8060S; exact 128GB review system
Level1Techs · 10:00 -
Cyberpunk 2077 67 fps
RandomGaminginHD measured 67 FPS in Cyberpunk 2077 at 1080p using the High preset with no upscaling.
Cyberpunk 2077 gameplay · 1080p High; no upscaling; Performance mode at 130W; Radeon 8060S
RandomGaminginHD · 7:00 -
Kingdom Come: Deliverance II 90 fps
RandomGaminginHD measured 90 FPS in Kingdom Come: Deliverance II at 1080p High using SMAA 2TX.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance II gameplay · 1080p High; SMAA 2TX; Radeon 8060S
RandomGaminginHD · 9:58
4Is it loud or hot?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Maximum observed CPU temperature Not available
-
Load sound level Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Maximum observed CPU temperature 63 C
Jim's Garage observed no more than 63 C during its Cinebench run, while Tech Notice independently saw 64 C before changing from Balanced to Performance mode.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Exact 128GB review unit; Jim's Garage test mode was not stated in the narration
Jim's Garage · 14:06 -
Load sound level 43 dBA
ServeTheHome measured about 42 to 43 dBA at one meter while the system drew about 120W and said it was clearly audible rather than silent.
Sustained local-AI workload · One-meter distance; exact 128GB review system; room floor not stated in the narration
ServeTheHome · 10:53
5How much electricity does it use?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Idle wall power Not available
-
Cinebench wall power Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Idle wall power 12 W
ServeTheHome observed a 9 to 12 W idle range in Windows. Jim's Garage independently observed 7 to 10 W at idle on its exact-config unit.
Windows idle · Observed range 9-12 W; exact 128GB review system
ServeTheHome · 10:32 -
Cinebench wall power 130 W
Jim's Garage saw about 130 W at the wall through most of its Cinebench run, with brief spikes up to 150 W.
Cinebench 2024 multi-core · Exact 128GB review unit; brief observed spikes to 150 W
Jim's Garage · 14:12
6Can I upgrade and connect everything?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Fan lifts out for cleaning
PCMag’s ThinkCentre teardown shows the blower lifting out of its mounting position for cleaning. The video’s exact installed memory and storage are unconfirmed; this observation concerns the visible chassis mechanism.
PCMag and CNET · 1:35 -
Thunderbolt is present Not available
-
High-speed I/O Not available
-
Linux 10GbE support Not available
-
Expansion limits Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Memory is upgradeable No
-
Storage is upgradeable Yes
-
Fan lifts out for cleaning Not available
-
Thunderbolt is present No
-
High-speed I/O 4x USB4 and 2x 10GbE
The chassis provides two front 40Gbps USB4 ports, two rear 80Gbps USB4 v2 ports, and two Realtek RTL8127 10GbE controllers. The internal 320W power supply avoids an external brick.
Manufacturer specification and hands-on port inspection · MS-S1 Max chassis
MINISFORUM -
Linux 10GbE support Driver work required
Jim's Garage could not use the two RTL8127 10GbE ports out of the box under Debian 13 or Proxmox and obtained only 5Gbps after adding a driver manually. Wi-Fi 7 worked in the same Linux testing.
Debian 13 and Proxmox network detection and throughput testing · Exact 128GB/2TB review unit; software state in September 2025
Jim's Garage · 1:58 -
Expansion limits PCIe 4.0 x4, no 75W GPU power
Level1Techs verified that the physical x16 slot is electrically PCIe 4.0 x4, is closed-ended, and cannot supply 75W. Tech Notice likewise found that it is suitable for networking or storage expansion rather than a conventional graphics card.
Hands-on chassis and slot inspection · MS-S1 Max chassis
Level1Techs · 11:35
7Is it good value?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Manufacturer price Not available
-
Verified Amazon configuration Not available
-
Reviewer purchase assessment Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Manufacturer price $3,719
MINISFORUM listed the exact 128GB/2TB US configuration for $3,719 when checked, against a $4,649 compare-at price.
Manufacturer retail-price check · MS-S1-MAX12US; Ryzen AI Max+ 395; 128GB RAM; 2TB SSD; Windows 11 Pro
MINISFORUM -
Verified Amazon configuration B0G348H88N
Amazon ASIN B0G348H88N matched the exact Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB RAM, and 2TB SSD configuration when checked.
Retailer identity check · MS-S1 Max 128GB/2TB
MINISFORUM -
Reviewer purchase assessment Preferred despite premium pricing
ServeTheHome said the MS-S1 Max was not the cheapest system in its class, but still called it the reviewer's preferred Ryzen AI Max+ 395 system among the compared units because of its overall feature mix.
Review-date comparative purchase assessment · Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB unified memory, 2TB SSD review system
ServeTheHome · 16:32
8Will it be dependable?
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
-
Ubuntu installation failed in the review
ServeTheHome could not install Ubuntu from its standard ISO in the January 2026 review. Windows Subsystem for Linux remained an option. The attempted Ubuntu version and firmware were not specified, so this is a dated report, not a claim about every later Linux release.
ServeTheHome · 7:43 -
MLPerf Client 1.5 would not run
ServeTheHome showed unavailable MLPerf Client 1.5 tests on its 16GB system and identified the benchmark’s higher memory requirement for supported Snapdragon hardware. This application-specific failure is not a performance score or a claim that all AI applications fail.
ServeTheHome · 9:00 -
Seller warranty Not available
-
Cooling and acoustics Not available
-
Operating-system caveat Not available
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
-
Ubuntu installation failed in the review Not available
-
MLPerf Client 1.5 would not run Not available
-
Seller warranty 3 years
MINISFORUM advertises a three-year seller warranty and 30-day returns on the US store page.
Manufacturer warranty-policy check
MINISFORUM -
Cooling and acoustics Cool but audible
Independent testing found low-60s C temperatures in Cinebench, but ServeTheHome still measured 42 to 43 dBA at one meter around 120W. The cooling system controls temperature without being silent under sustained load.
Sustained CPU and local-AI workloads · Exact 128GB review systems
ServeTheHome · 10:32 -
Operating-system caveat Linux NIC caveat
The current Windows configuration was stable in the retained reviews, but Jim's Garage documented immature RTL8127 support under Debian 13 and Proxmox. Linux buyers should verify current driver support for the dual 10GbE controllers.
Windows, Debian 13, and Proxmox hands-on testing · Exact 128GB/2TB review unit
Jim's Garage · 16:53
References
-
Lenovo PSREF. ThinkCentre neo 50q QC 13C80010US specifications. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: Snapdragon X X1-26-100 / 16GB LPDDR5X / 512GB SSD / Windows 11 Pro on Arm
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications; no MiniPCBench measurements.
-
ServeTheHome. Arm Comes to Project TinyMiniMicro Lenovo neo 50q Tiny QC. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Snapdragon X X1-26-100, 16GB LPDDR5X-8448, 1TB Samsung PM9C1a SSD, Windows 11 Pro on Arm. Firmware and attempted Ubuntu version unconfirmed.
Disclosure: ServeTheHome says it purchased the system before Lenovo offered a review unit. Affiliate links and paid channel memberships disclosed.
-
PCMag and CNET. Snapdragon X Mini-Desktops From Lenovo | Lab Report. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: ThinkCentre neo 50q QC with base Snapdragon X; exact RAM, SSD capacity, OS edition and firmware unconfirmed. The second half covers a separate IdeaCentre Mini.
Disclosure: Unit acquisition and manufacturer relationship were not stated in the inspected description. This is a hardware preview before benchmark testing.
-
MINISFORUM. MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max 128GB Max AI Compute Edition. Product page. . Accessed .
Configuration: MS-S1-MAX12US: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro, US power cable
Disclosure: Manufacturer specifications, current price, availability, warranty, and return terms.
-
ServeTheHome. The BEST AMD Strix Halo Mini PC Minisforum MS S1 Max. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB unified memory, 2TB SSD review system
Disclosure: The description contains an Amazon affiliate link and does not state how the review unit was obtained.
-
Level1Techs. Minisforum MS S1 Max AI Review, Benchmarks, and Comfy UI Setup Guide. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB unified memory MS-S1 Max review system; installed SSD capacity not stated in narration
Disclosure: The description does not state how the review unit was obtained and does not contain a retailer affiliate disclosure.
-
Tech Notice. NOTHING is better than THIS ... AMD is too good! | Minisforum MS-S1 MAX review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB unified memory, 2TB SSD review system
Disclosure: The description contains product and software affiliate links and does not state how the review unit was obtained.
-
Jim's Garage. Running LLMs Locally - MinisForum MS-S1 MAX Review. Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB unified memory, 2TB SSD review system
Disclosure: The reviewer says in the narration that the device was sent free; the description links MINISFORUM without an affiliate disclosure.
-
RandomGaminginHD. The Fastest Integrated Graphics Yet - The Radeon 8060S (ft. Minisforum MS-S1 MAX). Video review. . Accessed .
Configuration: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 128GB LPDDR5X-8000, 2TB SSD review system
Disclosure: The description links the tested system but does not state how the unit was obtained or include an affiliate disclosure.
Value for money
No value comparison is available. It requires eligible test scores and at least four current price observations in seven days.
Specification differences
Differences supported by the listed manufacturer specifications
Higher listed specifications for Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q QC
- Uses a smaller 1 liter enclosure
Higher listed specifications for MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
- Supports 112 GB more memory
Verified specifications
Manufacturer-sourced specifications and current testing status
Processor
| Specification | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC | MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Qualcomm Snapdragon X X1-26-100 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Cores / threads | 8 / Unconfirmed | 16 / 32 |
| Processor default TDP | Not disclosed | 130 W |
| Integrated graphics | Qualcomm Adreno | AMD Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, 40 compute units |
Memory and storage
| Specification | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC | MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Memory type | Soldered LPDDR5X-8448 | LPDDR5X-8000 unified memory |
| Maximum memory | 16 GB | 128 GB |
| Upgradeable memory | No | No |
| Storage slots | 2 | 2 |
Connectivity
| Specification | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC | MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Ethernet | 1 x Realtek RTL8111K Gigabit Ethernet | 2x 10GbE RJ45 (Realtek RTL8127) |
| Wireless | Qualcomm NFA765A Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3 | Wi-Fi 7 + Bluetooth 5.4 |
| USB4 | No | Yes |
| Thunderbolt | No | No |
Size and price
| Specification | ThinkCentre neo 50q QC | MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosure volume | 1 liters | 3.53 liters |
| List price | Not published | $4,649 |
| Product class | Not assigned | Local AI and high-speed networking |